We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere plus good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Smugglers Inn

The Smugglers Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Dawlish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: If you would like to book a table with us you can do so in a number of ways: Telephone (please note that when busy we will not be able to answer the phone but please be patient and leave us a detailed message and we will get back to you) we pick up our answer phone messages twice daily Email- we respond to emails every morning Facebook- we also take messages via our Facebook page. Again these will be dealt with on a daily basis. NB Please don't assume that your booking is confirmed until we have actually called you back. Thanks so much
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely atmosphere plus good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Nick will give u a warm welcome and with a log fire wonderful views and wholesome food what more could u ask for

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Devoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    765
    229
    59
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of our favourites in this area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

One of our favourites in this area , well worth the journey .
Always a good welcome with plenty of choice on the menu.
Can't resist the Carvery which is on every day.
Been going back here for last 6 years now and have never been disappointed .

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derekwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food!
Excellent service!
Very friendly staff!
Amazing views!
Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great menu at affordable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great food is always on offer and friendly service, a bit slow at times but fine by me as I like to have a break between course, the menu is varied and caters for all ages, great selection of steak, fish, meats and veggie options, there is also a great carvery on offer every day, get a window table in the summer and there are fantastic views over the bay,and all meals are reasonably priced and won't break the bank, there is also a very extensive wine list and some great beers and lagers including local brews, all in all a great place for a meal and a drink, just remember to book

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our wonderful,local and welcoming pub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are passing through our lovely little town,head towards teignmouth and you will come across the Smugglers Inn. Our wonderful local pub with its fab staff and owners Nick and Donna. Good food is always had along with fun,laughter and a drink or two. But nothing beats a sunny day sitting outside looking out to sea while drinking a cold beer. But most of all their carvery is by far the best within 10miles,try a special or two from the board or from the menu.Where you will find something to suit everyone from 1 to 91. Oh kids let me tell you a secret... As Nick for the treasure chest if you eat all your meal that is. So what's stopping you heading our way and checking out my local pub. I hope you enjoy when you do.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judith e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smugglers Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Smugglers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing