We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunluce House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunluce House
Ranked #3 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

If visiting Dawlish, this HAS to be your first choice - it can't be faulted in terms of hospitality, breakfast, rooms/facilities, etc. Bob and Josie will make sure you have a memorable stay. When everything's so good, it's hard to fill 200 characters without sounding 'over the top'. We have nothing bad to say!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
113
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

WOW what a beautiful place to stay rooms very comfortable we had room one the view was fab, bob and Josie were fantastic hosts friendly, helpful, and Josie cooked a mean cooked breakfast!! Fell in love with our room and we didn't want to leave, it was a last minute booking and we were more than pleased with our stay, very relaxed if you stay 1 night or more then we would highly recommend Dunluce house, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms were VERY good but room1 has a fab view and is beautifully decorated bed and pillow compfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the apartment that bob and josie had advertised on their website. I have to say it was brilliant.tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean roomy and very comfortable. Bob and josie were very welcoming and loads of imformation about the surrounding area. I wud highly recommend the 1 bedroom appartment it was wonderful thankyou bob and josie for msking sue and myself so welcome

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gresha1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We own a B & B ourselves and decided to go away for a night, to be treated. When ringing to ask if they had sea views Bob was extremely helpful and I decided when talking to him, that this was the place to stay. I am very hard to please as we have high standards and we are usually disappointed with something in the accommodation. Not this time it was all excellent.
Bob and Josie's welcome could not be faulted, we were introduced to their family who had come to visit with their son Sammy. The house is gorgeous with a lovely double en-suite room on the top floor, which we had. It was decorated in a sea theme and was very clean. The bed and bedding were so comfortable that we didn't want to get out of it.
Room 2 which has a twin or superking bed is huge. It has stunning views and one end of the room is a sitting room, with a super comfy sofa and chairs. Bob let us choose which room we would like, I would have liked this room but my husband liked Room 1, so guess what next time we will stay in Room 2.
Bob suggested we go to The Ship for a meal, there was a large range of dishes and the staff were excellent, it is right by a little marina and on a lunch time it must be great just to sit and relax watching the boats.
The breakfast choice was excellent with plenty for everyone from cereals, fruit salad, fruit juices, yogurt, full English or scrambled egg with salmon which was cooked to perfection.
Stay at this B & B and you will not be disappointed.
Thank you for making our stay so special, we will see you again xx

Room Tip: Room 2 has stunning sea views, it is huge with your own sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPStoneBude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosieret, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, coming from fellow B&B owners it means so much to us.
Josie and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alcester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is our fourth visit,the dunluce with bob & josie is faultless,great hosts,great food,great rooms in a great place a real pleasurable experience from start to finish,cant wait for our next stay.Andy & Patsy byrne

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosieret1, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you Andy and Patsy, you are always welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Found Dunluce House on line. Read recent reviews, sounded just what we were looking for,and we were not disappointed. Thoroughly enjoyed a very peaceful four day break in Dawlish. Our hosts Bob and Josie could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, lovely large ensuite room with fantastic views,very comfortable bed ,spacious bathroom. Bob met us from the train,and a very nice afternoon cream tea and home made scones and cake were set out in their attractive diningroom for us to enjoy after we had unpacked and rested. The breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices, I particularily enjoyed Josies fruit salad! My husband was 80 on the second day of our stay , and when we returned from our days outing we found a little cake, card and candle on a tray in our room! Dawlish is a delightful seaside town, with the strand gardens ,stream running through and of course the black swans. You can visit many places from there by bus our train , and an easy coastal walk to Dawlish Warren. We loved it!

Room Tip: room 2 fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosieret1, Owner at Dunluce House, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed visit to Dawlish and your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Third break at Bob and Josie's Dunluce House and again can't fault for anything, usual excellent service from big full English to spotless accommodation, we shall be going again, thanks Bob for your attention and thanks Josie for your outstanding breakfasts.

Pete and Angela.

Room Tip: Rooms one and two come with an attractive view over the town and seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldbillharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.2 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
633 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#2 of 3 in Teignmouth
211 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunluce House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunluce House

Property: Dunluce House
Address: Dunluce Priory Road, Dawlish EX7 9JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunluce House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovingly restored four storey Georgian house with modern en-suite bathrooms in each room. Rooms 1 & 2 have lovely sea views. Five minutes from Dawlish town centre and the mainline railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dunluce House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunluce House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing