We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Witches Bowl - CLOSED

The Witches Bowl
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Witches Bowl is run by Husband and Wife team, Arthur and Sue, with their Daughter Gilly. Originally from Essex and with over 25 years of collective experience in catering, they decided to move to the beautiful town of Dawlish to fulfil their ambition of running their own restaurant. Front of House is where you'll normally find Arthur and Sue offering warm welcomes and friendly service and behind the scenes in the kitchen is where you'll find Gilly, preparing and cooking meals fresh to order.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch on a Friday afternoon. The bacon and cheese sandwiches were very tasty. The restaurant was very chilly however on a winter afternoon. Next time I will bundle up a bit more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank eveybp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    18
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Best breakfast around and great value too! Visited the other evening also and have to say I had the best slow roasted belly pork I have ever tasted. Sunday roast next and from what I hear, won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerdi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nothing, the food we had was tastless and boring, expensive for what it was, cold and uninviting, out of date surroundings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank firlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab big brekkie!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

To cure the morning after feeling took a trip here for one of the breakfast deals. It was fab, loads of food and crusty bread for toast instead of naff stuff. Will be heading here again :O)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie8850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home Cooking With Good Service”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We picked this restaurant because of the good reviews on trip adviser and we weren't disappointed. The decor is a little bit quirky but don't let that put you off. We were a party of four - two couples - we had three starters: moules mariniere with white wine and garlic, homemade broccoli and stilton soup and poached egg with caramelised onions. All the starters were lovely but the moules were divine! The main courses were steak, goats cheese tart, sea bass and steak and Stilton pie. All were cooked to perfection, the steak particularly. The only criticism would be that the chips were frozen ones not homemade. Unfortunately we were too full for the puddings! All in all though an excellent place for lunch or dinner - it has a lovely courtyard which would be a good bolt hole in the summer. The menu is not huge but I think that reflects the fresh nature of the food and you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank mitchell251106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Witches Bowl also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing