We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you wish to que for 3 hours just to get a seat in the clubhouse then this is the holiday for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

well where do i start after a 3 night stay into a weeks holiday at the park it was so bad we came home. we Arrived on sat was given mouldy bed linen so back we go for new. the caravan was dirty and mouldy and made in the ice age. they did say they would send housekeeping round but unless they had a bulldozer to pull it down or a month to deep clean it would not of helped. but we decided to carry on and sample the entertainment. we got there around 7.30 and the whole place was crammed with people to get a pushchair in was impossible. but we managed to squeeze in somewhere and they started a quiz. now the questions was mostly about the reps which rep is having a baby and which rep is nicknamed roland and which rep plays rugby umm i do not know as we have just arrived and we have no clue who any of you are. I will say the kids club was fantastic for the first time ever our daughter left our side to go and play games and was very good that the club was on the side of the venue so they could leave the club and come straight back into you which helped as my daughter has a disabillity with her speech so was ressureing that she could come to us if she was not happy as she would not be able to tell anyone. The next day we decide to go swimming. iv never known a swimming pool to not have a family changing room the cubicles was in the open to everyone and flooded and was tiny you could just about fit you in it let alone anyone else so here i was on my own with a 1 year old with no where to change him. i had to change him on a baby tray still soaking wet in my cozy trying not to get him wet. then after i had sorted him and popped him in the pushchair unless i went in the cubicle and shut the door and left him out in the open on my own i was screwed. so i ended up getting changed in the disabled toilet which was flooded. so here comes the night time the club opens at 6 so we thought if we get there for 6 we might be able to get a table this time how wrong we were the place was crammed again. now what we found out is that people start queuing from 3pm with there little chairs to get a table iv never known anything so stupid in my life. whats even worse the club opens at 10am on fri people que from 5 am in the morn. well after queuing nearly a hour for a drink then another hour for a bingo card we had had enough there was a baby comp going on that lasted over a hour of watching kids crying and screaming cause they wanted to get down and being forced to stay there. we only stayed as my daughter was enjoying the kids club. we actually found out by the lady that the park was fully booked over 2000 people the complex only takes around 600 but they put 900 in there hmmmmm. where the hell was the rest suppose to go? as you can imagine we decided to stay in the next night well glad we did my little girl came down with the worse stomach bug ever which she caught at the park by this time enough was enough and after talking to several other people who was also ready to go home i decided to try and salvage some of our wasted money back and go home. which they did refund the rest of our stay. I also asked a few people any of there family had been ill at the park i got a couple of replys i don't know cause i was 2 busy getting pissed and the other one said i don't know i have left my kids in the next caravan so i can go out. well it just shows what cilentale they have there to be honest.Its safe tio say we have wasted 0ver a £100 of our hard working money on this shambles and will never go back again and very glad to be home.
oh i was also told that if i came out of school holidays thaen i might of had a better time that i had picked the worst time to go. if you can not accomadate familys then do not book them simples

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nikki r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We remember you well – our Customer Care Manager spoke to you at length about all the issues you have raised in your review, on the day you decided to leave us.

We’re really sorry the cleanliness was not up to our usual high standards and as discussed with you the day you left, it was a shame you didn’t bring this to our attention sooner, so we could help.

We’re pleased your Daughter enjoyed the kids club so much, but disappointed to hear you didn’t fully enjoy our entertainment programme. We do have a lot of regular guests during this week, however, we want to make everybody feel part of our Welcome Family so we have already passed your comments onto our Entertainments Director to ensure nobody feels left out.

It hasn’t been long since we completed our extensive modernisation of the pool changing rooms and when designing the new layout, we made sure the individual lockable changing rooms were adequate for more than one person, appealing to our family market.

The last week of the season is incredibly popular so there is little we can do about that good old Great British institution – queuing! However, we always have additional bar and club staff working during our exceptionally busy periods, helping to ensure the queues are orderly and kept to a minimum.

We strongly disagree with your comment that we allow more than the maximum capacity of people into our club – something which our Customer Care Manager discussed with you at great length.

We have a maximum capacity of around 800 in the club at any one time, and have seats for around 700. It is normal for any popular public place to have standing room, as well as seated. We have security staff clicking guests in and out to ensure we do not exceed this, as we take our Health & Safety responsibilities very seriously. Our Club Manager informs us we had a maximum of 750 people visit the club on any one evening, this particular week.

We were naturally concerned that your Daughter became unwell whilst staying with us. As we explained to you at the time, infectious bugs can easily be passed on by other guests whilst on holiday. To protect our guests, our terms and conditions state that if anyone has had a contagious bug, within 4 weeks of their arrival, we have the right to refuse the booking. We sincerely hope your Daughter has recovered well.

Once you had brought these matters to our attention (on the day you left), we accepted our failings and apologised sincerely, as well as offering you a full refund – no quibble.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Welcome Family Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 837 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed off season as it was cheap accomodation and we needed to be in the area. The booking team were keen to stress the lack of facilities but that was fine. We went for the cheapest Sandsurfer for 4 nights and thought we might have a wee break. "Keep the quality, throw the prices" seemed like a good tagline.

We were advied many times that this was pet friendly accomodation and may have traces they could not remove. We don't have a dog but I am very dog friendly and don't mind to odd hair or occasional sniff but this was overpowering. Went back to reception and the lovely lady was very understanding and swopped us immediately to the spare unit. I did ask about moving to a non doggy one but none were clean. The second one was similarly bad. This one had a faint whiff of dog, but also a musty smell and an odour of urine. We went to sleep as we'd had a long journey, you got used to it after a while. I also felt they would all be the same and we were already in the backup bungalow. We went out and about in Devon for a few days and used it as our crash pad. As we left the (again lovely) lady asked about our stay. She did arrange for the housekeeper to look into the smells and the other issues (dirty toilet, scummy havent-been-cleaned-properly-in-a-long-while areas in the shower, mould at the windows, etc) and the outcome was she arranged a full refund.

Would I pay to stay here again....no.
Would I stay here again for free....probably not. Every item of clothing we took into the accomodation had needed to be cleaned to get rid of the smell.
I probably should have made more of a fuss at the time.

Anyway the kids loved it, they didn't notice the scum, they got to eat takeaway and had unlimited ceebeebies and the staff were genuinely lovely, helpful and friendly. With cleaning it would have been perfectly adequate although basic. If you can afford even a little bit more then upgrade, or you never know the housekeeping may have been improved by then....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank HoildayFor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

We’re so sorry you experienced some issues with our pet friendly accommodation. Our Customer Care Manager spoke with you on the day you left, and sincerely apologised that we were unable to upgrade you to a pet free accommodation at the time.

We make every effort to advise guests, prior to booking, that a pet friendly holiday home may not be suitable if you are not bringing a pet - so we were pleased to hear you were advised of this many times before booking. We pride ourselves on our honesty, as we want to make sure our guests are completely happy with their choice of accommodation.

As you know, we immediately asked our Housekeeping Manager to take a look at your accommodation, and our Customer Care Manager contacted you the following day to give you the outcome of our investigation, offering you a full refund by way of recognising our shortfalls in this case. We know you appreciated this greatly.

It’s such a shame to hear you will not be returning as it sounds like you found a few positives too. We’re really pleased to hear your children loved it here – we hope, at least, that they have taken away some fond memories of Welcome Family.

Our Autumn/Winter breaks are accommodation only – our usual facilities will be resumed for our main holiday season, starting on 5th April 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Firstly, have been coming to this park for 20 years, so have seen a lot of changes. Have read previous reviews and feel that i have to put my own input.

THE GOOD POINTS:

The location is great. The warren beach is a 15 min stroll. Good for getting around to see Devon.
The entertainment is fab. It's not to everyone's taste, but you can go anywhere and find fault. The whole team work hard and keep the kids and the adults amused at all times. The last week is always a little different from the previous weeks. Work hard and play hard is the phrase that comes to mind.
The bar staff are great. Friendly and always get involved with whatever theme there is for the night.
The grounds are very well kept and the camp is clean and tidy.

NOW THE NOT SO GOOD POINTS:

Arrived early as we always do. Park outside the caravan that we had booked (paid £10 for this privilege). Time 1045 am. The family were still in the caravan, with the children smearing their fingers/sandwich on the side windows. Vacation of caravans are 10.am. Informed check-in that we were on site. As in the past, they took my telephone number and said they would call when the caravan was ready.

Came back to the caravan at 2pm. Had no phone call so looked inside caravan to see progress. Tea/coffee was laid up on the dining table, Stools on table, Caravan looked unclean. Went away, Got to reception at 345 pm. Receptionist said that caravan was ready (No call). Went into caravan and it had been locked up with nothing else done to clean it. There was egg shell in the kitchen sink. Hairs in the shower cubicle and sink basin in the toilet. The caravan had not been hoovered, and the windows and inside mirror in lounge were still smeared with butter/ finger marks!! At this point the time was 430 pm. Kids were getting hungry and we had to unpack etc, as we wanted to go to the club, and it gets really busy this week as it is last week of season. My wife packs some cleaning fluids as she likes to make sure that it is to 'her standards'. She got to work on cleaning, while I went to complain. Got to reception and there were several people all complaining about cleanliness of units!!! The response that they were given was that cleaning teams would be sent to re-clean, but as some had finished work, it might not be until the morning. As in the good old British way, I decided to walk out and just get on with my holiday.

The caravans are starting to look 'tatty'. The seats in the lounge of ours were coming apart at the seams. There was a little bit of mold in the shower. The wallpaper was torn(probably from the terror kids before us). Crayon was drawn in one of the bedroom walls. The skirting was missing in the lounge and the edging on the sides just came off in your hand.The lounge seats were damp/wet.

The welcome bite has also slipped. We have always eaten there, but this year the food has not been so good. It has turned into a more cafe style. i.e chips with everything. I had a curry, 4 pieces of chicken and very watery. Took it back. Chile the next night, same as the curry. Most of the time was chicken nugget/ fish and chips. or just chips. They even manage to burn our friends pizza!!!! Needs to go back to the quality it was. £7.95 for a meal is not that cheap, although there were 2 for £10 deals.

Last night in the club, two young persons got abusive/loud. Found it very uncomfortable to see the security guard standing on the stage making the point to him, that if he didn't leave in no uncertain terms(expletive was thrown in), he would put him head first through the wall/window. As it was the last night of the season, he didn't give a flying *@@*. NICE. One of the entertainers, who was saying goodbye to everyone, just froze to the spot in astonishment!!!

As in previous comments, there seems to be a big issue with accommodation cleanliness. It is o.k. for the resort customer care manager to get defensive of the park, but it does seem that there are some quite large issues to be resolved. It's all well and good stating that they have been given 4* rating, but what will happen in the future when people start to complain to those in the tourism industry. Welcome has a core clientele, like me, that have been going for years. Children's children are now going. Would be a shame to let it all go to waste if comments are ignored or disputed. Old saying," Customer is always right", (most of the time).

Next years prices have been released. Where do you get 2.5% inflation rise. Last week of season for a Casita 2013. £520. 2014 £600 = 13.33% rise. Casafina 2013 £400. 2014 £495 = 23.75% rise.
Other end of scale. Sunset (2 bed cheapest) 2013 £225. 2014 £305 = 37.77 % rise.Coral reef 2013 £365. 2014 £400 =8.75% rise. The public are not stupid. I know that Mark Price stated that bookings were up by 35% on last year, I hope he didn't get fed wrong information.

As I have stated, I have been going for many years. We will be returning next year. Unfortunately, I am thinking of booking through a private person, as this year has somewhat put me off. The cleanliness needs addressing. Some friends were staying in a Casita (Top of range) and they had to have theirs re-cleaned.....Bit of a shame to see such a great place letting standards slip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chappers1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

You are correct - check out time is 10.00am but it is often necessary to remind our guests of the this as it can sometimes be difficult to get all the children ready and packed up by this time! Either way, we always make sure your holiday home is ready to occupy by our check in time of 4.00pm the latest. Apologies for the text service fault – this was reported to our IT department at the time.

We are disappointed to hear the caravan was not up to standard. These things are always best reported to us at the time. We always rectify issues the same day – we don’t go home until there are!

We’re surprised to hear you didn’t enjoy the Welcome Bite menu which was reviewed again for this season, based on guest feedback. We hope you were given a refund or replacement food.

Your comments regarding the security guard has alarmed us and will therefore be fully investigated. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Unfortunately we have had to introduce an unavoidable price increase - we have held our prices at inflation or below for over 5 years, up to now. You will see most of the peak season price increases are in line with inflation. Forgive us for pointing out that some of your 2013 prices you have quoted are not right – sorry!

Don’t forget, it’s not just the accommodation you are paying for – we are an extremely popular, well regarded family holiday park with superb facilities, set in beautiful gardens and a convenient location. We are priced extremely competitively in comparison with other parks in the area and truly believe our product is special.

We would be incredibly foolish to ignore our guests invaluable feedback. We will always listen and treat it with the respect it deserves. Once we answer all reviews (good and bad), they are passed onto each relevant department, to see how we can improve the holiday experience and evolve our product accordingly. Thank you for contributing towards this. We truly hope to see you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Once again after 14 years visiting the welcome holiday park I have had a brilliant family holiday. My daughter who is 9 gets asked every year abroad or welcome and every year the same answer "welcome" The entertainment team some how just gets better and better every year, the shows get bigger and bigger I'm sure this is because of the talent and experience of Mark Price the entertainment director. The day time activities was well run and organised by the entertainment team. The best thing I enjoy about the entertainment is you can get involved or sit back and watch. During bingo the entertainment team run a kids club so the children don't get bored. The club was always clean and the bar staff always polite and cheerful and the prices are always reasonable. The security on the door will not let any children leave without there parents and all other doors alarmed. The food at the welcome bite I am aware is an franchise and not run by the holiday park was an improvement and glad to see the prices was more reasonable. The reception staff are a credit to the park always polite and cheerful and are the first people you see it helps they always have a smile. Having read the comments on trip advisor about problems people have I would like to confirm when things haven't been what I expected or problems once reported to reception they have been quickly corrected by the highly qualified maintenance team. Every one goes on holiday to enjoy them selves sometimes the noise at night is a little load from caravans having a party with friends but the security are always polite when asking you to keep the noise down and respect the other guests. The swimming pool does at times feel a little cold but the changing rooms have been improved. I always stay in the casamigo because we have a dog. On arrival it is always clean and tidy (and a bottle of complementary wine) yes there are some pet hairs in carpet but it is a pet allowed caravan so what so people expect. To end I would like to thank the owner and all the staff from the reception staff to the entertainers, maintenance staff and cleaners for 13 years of great holidays. I think it's a credit that on the Friday of the last week there was a queue at reception people booking for season 2014 (which I booked two holidays).

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank chris101log
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We have a lot to thank Mark Price for (our Entertainments Director) – him and his team of talented Bluecoats work incredibly hard to put on a great show every single day.

Thank you for your kind comments the Welcome staff – we’re really pleased to hear you appreciated the Welcome smile from the moment you stepped through our doors to the moment you left us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My family have been going to the welcome for 21 years and it has never failed us!! The entertainment is second to none! Mark always finds great people for his team's!! Also the location is fantastic!!!

Keep up the good work and we'll see you in 2014 - can't wait!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We’re so pleased you enjoyed your 21st year with us and Mark Price will be thrilled to hear you loved the 2013 team!

See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

too all my fellow trip advisers who have given this place negative review I apologise for critasiang you in my past two reviews about this place as I have now experienced the worst holiday accommodation in all my 32yrs and terrible customer care and service ever. I know fully well that the manger/owner who replies to these posts will completely disagree with everything that I am about to write but as you will see if you read my past two reviews I am not someone who goes out to just trash any business so here goes. after traveling by train for 5hours with a 4yr old and 10 month old we was all tired and looking forward to setteling into a nice caravan as we have stayed here in the past and found the caravans lovely but on this occasion we get to the caravan and check all around before we unpack as we always do and my husband asks what the funny smell is in the bedrooms I go to have a look and to my shock and horror in all three bedrooms there was black mold spores all around the headboards on the mattress of the double bed and all around the kids bed. my husband went back to reception alone rather than drag us all and our heavy luggage to report it back to reception they apologised and gave him a key to go to another caravan a little walk away we went to check and again it was full of mold in all the same places so we all went back to reception and was given another key to look at another caravan which absolutely stank of cigarette smoke (all accommodation is apparently no smoking) there was mold in one of the three bedrooms and a line of thick black gooey mold under the fridge door by this point I am wanting to turn around and come back home but instead we all go back to reception where a blonde woman with glasses was telling us that we can keep going and looking at more of the same I at this point was starting too loose my cool as my kids were both tired and hungry and we had so far spent the first part of our holiday wandering around in the cold trying to find a safe place to sleep the woman then said one of the most stupid sentences I have ever heard have you stayed here before too which I replied yes its our third time and we have never had a problem until now she then said I thought I recognised your face in a tone of yeah your trouble which I have never been then said IT IS THE BUSEIST TIME OF YEAR HAVE YOU STAYED THIS WEEK BEFORE YOU ITS LIKE MARMITE YOU EITHER LOVE IT OR HATE IT what a stupid thing to say made it sound as it is the last week before they close they really don't care as long as they have your cash she then said we could look at a smaller two bed caravan near the pool to which she kept saying it is closer to the pool and club which by this point I really could not careless wear it was as long as it was clean and free of the very dangerous mold spores that can cause chest infections and pneumonia I asked the woman if she had kids and did she think it was right to pay good earned cash for accommodation that could harm a childs health and would she expect her kids to sleep some where that is this bad she told me she didn't want to stand and argue and that if we didn't want to stay we could find somewhere else but we would not be getting any kind of refund or compensation we decided to take a look at this smaller two bed caravan and being tired and hungry when we got to it it was ok no mold but extremely dated we did get £50 for the caravan but not as a discount or as an apology but as that was how much cheaper the caravan was to the one we originally booked we unpacked and put on the heating as it was cold then a few hours later there was a disgusting smell of sour milk which I then realised was actually in the fabric of the seating area I did think about going back to reception then thought really what is the point as they really do not give a dam as long as they have our money so I sprayed everywhere with air freshener every day the following day I had a shower well that was a laugh I pulled the door of the shower closed so not to soak the floor the middle panel did not move across so the water just shot straight out again I did not bother reporting this to reception mainly because the woman had riled me up so much on arrival I did not want to deal with them again and as above they had my money so what did they care. we spent all day off site as much as we could and only came back for bed as I could not handle being in that horrible accommodation i had phoned a hotel to see if we could afford to stay else where but as we could not get any kind of refund we was stuck in this hell hole they did give both my kids welcome family toys which are about £5 each whoopdy doo as a result we did not spend anymore hard earned cash on site as i think they had taken way too much as it was it totally ruined my last holiday before i start back to work after maternity leave and i hope this review stops most of you reading it from making the same mistake as me i will no longer recommend this park to anyone not even my worst enemy so well done welcome family you have lost another customer i also would just like to say that if you pay through the nose to stay in a lodge they suck up to you if you pay a little less for a caravan your something they stepped in in the street that is the impression i got AVOID AT ALL COSTS we were also in between caravans from same families and was made to feel a little in the way like gate crashers at a party and on Halloween we was kept awake by fighting outside our caravan

i only wish i had taken photos to send to trading standards and the environmental health

Room Tip: find a different park or stay at the premier inn torquay better service for less money
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Since leaving this review, we believe our Customer Care Manager has spoken to you at length regarding the several issues you raised. We hope you have been reassured that your complaint, both at the time of your stay and through your review, has been taken very seriously.

When you spoke to our Customer Care Manager on the day of your arrival, she sincerely apologised for our failings and agreed at the that the 3 caravans you viewed were not cleaned to our usual high standards – something which is unacceptable, we agree. As you know, we immediately raised these issues with our Housekeeping Manager who quickly arranged for these caravans to be re-cleaned as well as addressing these problems this with the staff responsible.

At a last resort, we offered you a full refund and also a bed for the night as we could visibly see you and and children were very tired and understandably fed up by this time. We understand this was not an option for you, due to your travelling arrangements, so we were pleased you agreed an alternative caravan was acceptable. We’re only sorry we couldn’t offer you something more special by way of an apology, which was unfortunately not possible due to the lack of availability on our most popular week of the season.

As discussed on the phone since leaving this review, we think you now understand the Marmite comment! The last week of the season is extremely popular (often booked a year in advance), and this brings changes to the usual programme – some people love it, some people just don’t. A lot of what we do in the final week is charity based so it is for a great cause, however this should never be at the detriment of our loyal guests.

We don’t follow a robotic script – we pride ourselves on being very human and honest with our guests – to the point of loosing bookings if we feel this is not the right holiday for them. We were being totally honest with you at the time, but we’re sorry if this offended you. This comment was certainly not used in relation to the unacceptable cleaning standards of the caravans – we hope you know that now.

We are deeply disappointed we let you down, especially knowing your last visit to us in April was a very happy time, so much so that you wanted to share it with your friends and family, as well as your 5 star rating on Trip Advisor at the time.

It’s such a shame we have lost you – we only hope the treasured memories of your previous visit will convince you to give us another chance. In which case, we would be extremely happy to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

just returned from a 4 night break here. good and bad points. first the good points the casita lodge outstanding. roomy, comfortable, heating very good, bathroom very nice with a shower that takes your breath away (literally). all very clean and well maintained. had an issue with a faulty dimmer switch which was sorted without any fuss very quickly. the swimming pool was good if a little dirty in the changing areas (it wouldn't take much just to push a mop round every hour). now the bad points. first the clientele. I have a feeling that we may have stayed while a lot of people were there on the sun £9.50 offer. the majority were scummy at best. the parents were more interested in queuing for the club to open THREE hours before hand than making sure their little cherubs were staying out of trouble. to be offered to be taken OUTSIDE by a fourteen year old is ludicrous. all his parents could do is laugh about his attitude. I know you have no control over who you let stay but it does put a downer on a very nice park when you see young teenagers drinking alcohol around the grounds and also the same KIDS SPITTING on the floor. I also have to comment on a member of your staff that works on the reception of the swimming pool. he could not control anything and had half a dozen kids running amok around the changing room area so much so that one of them knocked my three year old son to the ground. once I had raised my voice to remonstrate with the child that had knocked him over all your staff could do was shout SECURITY but still not do or say anything to deal with the kids that were there. all in all a nice park with lovely accommodation very nearly ruined by other guests and an incompetent member of staff. a great base for exploring the south devon coast and surrounding area with many attractions within driving distance.

Room Tip: book a casita lodge simple as
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJWELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We’re really glad you enjoyed the lodge experience – they really are home from home aren’t they?

Our Housekeeping team clean the pool area twice daily, however it is the responsibility of the pool staff to make sure it is clean in between these times – although their first priority is to keep a watchful eye over swimmers of course. Please always mention this to a member of the pool staff so we can attend to it immediately.

We’re disappointed a member of our pool staff didn’t help to control the situation with those unruly children. We will make sure your comments are passed onto the Department Manager.

We’re really sorry to hear you were subjected to inappropriate language and behaviour from other guests. We are always on hand to help with any such issues, 24-7. We believe our Security team dealt with these issues at the time. By the way, we don’t sign up for any of the newspaper offers!

We hope these couple of issues did not deter you from having a great time and we hope you will return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
2.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
9.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: $50 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing