We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Check-in fantastic, very welcoming reception staff. We stayed in a wave surfer which was better than I expected, slightly musty smell at first but soon aired out once the windows were open. Could do with some window locks though as our climbing one year old scaled the sofa and was almost out of the window a couple of times! Also would be better if the table was not on a carpeted area as children tend to drop food occasionally which led to some frantic scrubbing. Everything was clean and comfortable though.

We used the pool a few times however having small children it would have been good if the pool staff could have moved on some of the older children and adults who were making it difficult for the little children to enjoy themselves in the toddler pool.

The children enjoyed the kids entertainment and the JRC. But the main show was too late at 10:15 for us to enjoy as we needed to put the little ones to bed or they would've screamed throughout, the little I saw was good, though probably better if you're a regular and get the 'in' jokes.

One strange thing is the queuing that happens for the bar. It's as if everyone's at the post office! I think most people join the queue for fear of being lynched if they attempt to wait at the bar as you usually would in a club/pub. Some healthier food options would be nice rather than the mainly deep fried offerings but the kitchens in the accomodation are well equipped enough to make a meal 'at home'.

Overall a good time was had by all and great proximity to the beach. Our eldest is keen to come again and has started putting on show time at home and calling himself uncle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ombrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thanks for your idea of hard flooring. We decided against this when we refurbished the Wavesurfers. Due to the open plan living/dining space we felt it would be more comfortable for our guests for the area to be carpeted. But thanks for making the effort to keep it clean for us, very much appreciated!

The toddler pool is for toddlers of course, but they do need to be supervised by family members. However, Pool staff are there to make sure everybody, all ages, enjoy themselves in a safe environment so we will make sure your comments reach them.

As well as the later shows you mentioned, we also do mini shows for the little people much earlier in the evening, plus lots of other kids entertainment from the minute the club opens at 6.00pm each evening. Hopefully you’ll agree that there is something to keep everyone entertained.

Thank you very much for your honest review – we hope you will return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    226
    105
    33
    27
See reviews for
578
84
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have returned from Welcome today having spent a week there with my wife and three sons. Apart from a showery day (which we spent at Paignton Zoo) we had great weather and the whole family enjoyed the facilities on the park and lazy afternoons having Devon cream teas and playing on the beach.

The accommodation was modern, clean and all in good working order. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

On the park we used the swimming pools (there are 3) and all three of my boys enjoyed splashing about in them. They also played on the children's play area which was fun and safe.

The food on offer in the club is basic and mostly deep fried - but the proximity to sainsburys and more local convenience stores made it easy to shop for fresh ingredients and cook in our chalet. There are also many local places to eat out.

The team of resident entertainers were all very talented - each with obvious strengths in singing, dancing, acting, working with children - but all versatile and flexible enough to make great entertainment. At the same time if there was some advice I would offer to the park it would be in this area because it feels like the biggest opportunity missed. My main point would be the timing of the entertainment. The main show did not start until 10:00-10:15 each night which meant that (having three small kids) I never managed to get the opportunity to see the end of any of the shows - because all of the kids had flaked out by about 10:30 every night and we had to leave to put them to bed. 9:00-10:00 is entertainment prime time in the evening and this slot was mostly taken up with audience participation games. I know bingo is a British holiday park institution and your customers will expect it, but putting it in the second prime time slot 8:00-9:00 is in my opinion an error. Bring the whole schedule forward an hour and it would work a lot better. Other more minor comments would be, don't hire a very talented team of entertainers and then front every show yourself, in-jokes that you only get if you are a regular are a barrier to first-time customers, a bit more sing-along hits and less west end musical would have been lovely.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom caravan (me, my husband and our 17 month old daughter) which was fine, although nothing special and the lounge was not very spacious. The major negative regarding the caravan is that you cannot park your car next to your caravan which is very annoying especially when you need to unload/load the car with several trips back and forth. The play park here is excellent and the swimming pool is good. My sister and her family stayed in a chalet bungalow at the same time as us and they probably had a better experience as they parked just round the corner from their accomodation and they had more room than us in their accomodation. Still, they paid more money than us. You get what you pay for I guess! For location though, this park is excellent and in easy walk of the beach, shops and pubs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We have a varied range of holiday homes – from standard caravans right up to luxury lodges, something to suit all budgets and lifestyles. If you’re looking for space, our lodges will offer modern contemporary living, giving you a real sense of comfort and luxury.

We’re sorry you found the parking system not to your liking. We deliberately chose not to do the typical caravan park layout where you can park your car alongside each accommodation as we prefer our guests to see a much more pleasing outlook – beautifully landscaped gardens with communal areas for the children to play safely.

That said, we have plenty of parking areas next to (or very close to) various holiday homes. These are normally allocated to people who have walking difficulties. Our staff are always happy to help, should guests who have difficulties need assistance.

We’re pleased you enjoyed the many facilties on the Park and hope you will return sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day short break for two adults and our dog. We had great fun.The location is great and Dawlish Warren is so friendly with enough amenities.We booked the cheapest caravan (sunset dog friendly one) and really wasn't expecting much but actually it was ok. The bedrooms were small and cramped but the living space made up for that. The trains were extremely close! Sometimes they actually shook the caravan but you do get used to this they do also stop around 11PM until 6AM. The lovely lady at reception did say that due to a huge demand in the sunset caravans there was none further away from the track. The park seemed really quiet with mainly couples but i am sure it get busier during the school holidays. Due to having the dog we were unable to use the Bar, pool or entertainment (which was a shame as looking through the window people looked like they were enjoying themselfs)
Our only gripe really was with the WIFI offered. It was extremely slow and sometimes unavailable (we have a brand new Ipad so not the fault of our equipment). But we coped. We weren't on holiday to endlessly go online but it would of been nice to be able to use it now and again.
I know the welcome family people appreciate feed back and suggestions so i have one for them. For us Doggie people a dog run would be very usefull for those night time toilet stops when it is to dark to go to the beach. Alot of dogs like to be off lead when they do there buisness!! and due to the rules and the amount of rabbits i was unable to let my dog off lead in the park last thing at night. A small gated dog run i am sure would get alot of use.
Another thing for all you doggie people we recommend the Mount pleasant inn and the boathouse PH for drinks and food. They are both totally dog friendly it was so lovely to find we were so welcome. The beach it mostly dog friendly appart from the first 3 sections and the nature reserve part. Our dog had so much fun we would definatly return if the welcome would consider my dog run idea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank takmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
The double bedroom in the Sunset Caravan is a spacious 12 foot wide so we assume you were commenting on the twin bedroom which is a typical caravan size.

Trainspotters won’t be pleased to hear we have now removed the caravans closest to the railway line from our hire fleet after taking the majority vote over the last year or so.

Apologies if you experienced a problem with the Wi-Fi – this is a free service which normally works very well. A lot of holiday parks use this as another way to get more money from their guests – we don’t, it’s free (or did we already mention that?!).

We are a very dog friendly Park but for safety reasons we do not allow dogs off their lead, day or night. We have plenty of doggie bins all around, meaning you can walk your dog anywhere on the Park. During the day the Warren is only about 400 metres level walk, which will give your doggie (and their owners!) acres of opportunity to let off steam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just got back from a week at Welcome Family.On arrival it was nice to see well laid out lawns and pretty flower borders. Reception staff were smart,friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Casita lodge which was very clean, comfortable and reasonably well equipped.The indoor pool is excellent and the clubhouse is large and food and drink is not too expensive. All in all a very good place to stay for a typical english family holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skintnhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks very much for your great review, we’re so pleased you had a great time and appreciated all Welcome Family has to offer.

We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolves
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this holiday as it was recomended by a friend. We had a mon-frid short break and the price was very resonable. The park itself is immaculate and very picturesque. The swimming pool was pleasent and my 4 yr old loved it. we had many trips out to nearby towns of torquay, paignton and brixham. we also visited shaldon zoo.The best part of the holiday was the entertainment brilliant shows put on by very talented people!! i would have paid to see soom of the shows they have put on!! Overall we had a fantastic break and will defo be planning a return visit next year and hope that Mark is still there directing great family entertainment!!! Roll on 2014 ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolzz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We’re thrilled you not only enjoyed your short break with us, but also found time to experience our little slice of Devon heaven! It seems we lived up to your friends recommendation, do thank them for us!

Mark has been heading up the Welcome Showteam for over 20 years and each year the shows are bigger and better, thanks to all their hard work.

See you in 2014 …
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport gwent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great holiday as always but I encountered one annoyance - our holiday was so good that we wanted to extend our stay by two extra days. We thought that at this time of year (May - off peak) that this would be possible as the site seemed quiet all week - possibly the quietest we've ever seen it and we've been coming here for 20+ years. On asking whether it would be possible to stay for two extra days we were told that the site did not offer this. I find this a strange way to run a business - it seems to be turning away money on what would be empty accommodation and also turning away what we would spend at the club. Most other holiday sites offer guests the chance to extend their holiday in the off season - Haven actively advertise it through flyers left on your doorstep the day before you are due to check out. It just seems rather weird that the site is so happy to turn away business when it is so quiet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We’re sorry we couldn’t oblige on this occasion with the extra night – we may have seemed a little quiet but due to the increase in popularity of our short breaks, it is likely we wouldn’t have had the availability to offer this.

We’re glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope you will continue to return for many more years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
681 reviews
2.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
9.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
165 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
7.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Property: Welcome Family Holiday Park
Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing