We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say the best park around the entertainment, staff ,park even the accommodation is 100 percent perfect.nothing is too much trouble.close to the beach and if you don't drive it's not a problem as there is a station 5 minutes from the park and a regular bus service so you can get anywhere you like.the entertainment is second to none for both adults and children.been going here with my boys for the last 9 years and I wouldn't change a thing. Guys you truly are the best and even when the boys are all grown up I will still come down to stay we are after all one big family xxx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennsy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
100% perfect, wow! It’s so lovely to hear after visiting us for so many years we haven’t disappointed you! And yes, you are right – we are one big Welcome Family so we look forward to helping you make many more years of treasured holiday memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    228
    107
    35
    28
See reviews for
599
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
b,ham
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we stopped in a private appartment which was clean but very dated .had convector heaters as the only form of heat and as the room was open plan very difficult to keep warm , there were curtains you had to pull across to seperate the kitchin from the lliving room .which we did to try and keep the heat in the living room side ,the one plug kept sparking every time you put it on some guy turned up who did not appear to be a electrician and basicly did nothing , so we did not use that plug again the electricity was also metered and as it was october we needed a lot of pound coins , there was damp in the shower room . the bed rooms were ok and i thought our bed was ok my wife did not , the highlight of the holiday i would say was the entertainment ,i thought they were excellent ,they did a different theme the 4 nights we were there as we had to come home early as my wife took ill , but they all preformed and put on a excellent shows , the only down side i think was the tall guy who i think is the head guy , he said 1 or 2 things to the kids via the mic i thought was uncalled for and rude .and appeared to be rather full of him self . any way still enjoyed it all you need to get there early to if you need a table but quite a few become available after the bingo has finished i would go back but to a different accomadation

Room Tip: we booked private so not alot you can do if accomadation is not upto scratch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We’re sorry you were disappointed with your accommodation - unfortunately we have absolutely no control over the condition of privately owned holiday homes.

We’re disappointed to hear a member of our entertainment team may have been rude, we will make sure your comments are passed onto our Entertainment Director. Despite this we hope you enjoyed the facilites we have on offer. If so perhaps you may want to book direct with us next time as we can offer a variety of holiday homes – from standard to luxury at extremely reasonable prices. And we can guarantee if you’re not happy with your accommodation we will do something about it, no quibble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in September 2012 in one of the Wave Surfer bungalows. The kitchen and bathroom has been refurbished and were really nice but the bedrooms and lounge were not very clean and needed refurbishing too. The beds were very uncomfortable and we did not sleep very well. The heating was good and worked fine. As did the shower and water.

The pool was a bit tired and the entertainment was typical of any caravan park.

The site had everything you needed and for the price we paid we couldn't really complain!

Room Tip: Pay more and get the best accomodation they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 521Louisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Many thanks for your honest review – this really does help us improve what we offer.

You will be pleased to know that during the 2012/2013 Winter shut down, we refurbished all the bedrooms in our Sandsurfer, Wavesurfer and Starsurfer bungalows, bringing them up to the standard of the other rooms in the accommodation.

We’re sorry to hear you didn’t find the mattresses comfortable. We purchased several hundred new mattresses for the 2012 season so we may have been able to do something about this, had you let us know.

We’re not sure why you found the pool complex tired – this is one of our most popular attractions on the Park and last Winter we completed a huge project to refurbish the changing rooms, which many guests have appreciated since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

this camp site as to be the best in North Devon,The wife and i have made more visits here than any other camp site in Devon and Cornwall and yes we will be back again this summer.friendly helpful and great entertainment from the staff.My first visit back 22 years when the children were still little children we always fell it safe on the site ,and ideally the beach not more than 800 yards from site,was great

Room Tip: people with children best near club house and swimming pool ,for quiter area the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
It’s amazing to hear we haven’t let you down after so many years! Thanks for your great review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Hiya, sorry its very delayed but read some of the reviews and thought I would write a review. We stayed in a Casita lodge from 25th May 2012 until the 28th May 2012, there was 5 of us, myself, my partner, a friend, our disabled cousin and my son and we had an amazing time. The Casita Lodge was out of this world, clean, spacious and modern. We thought all the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. We loved the entertainment and went there every night. We actually did not want to leave and wished we were staying for longer. The park is in a great location. It's the best holiday park we have ever stayed in. We have all decided that we will be returning in May 2013 but this time for a week as a long weekend isn't long enough! And we can't wait! PS the staff were brilliant with our cousin who has learning disabilities and very understanding. Which is amazing. Defiantly recommend for all ages. Samantha Morgan :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VWlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Better late than never we say … especially for such an amazing review!

We’re glad you loved the Casita which we feel gives you real homely luxury. You obviously enjoyed your little taster of Welcome Family last year, so we are really pleased you are coming back for a longer holiday soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

After visiting the Welcome quite a number of times during my childhood, me and my parents decided to venture back there in September 2012 for my mums 65th birthday and my parents 45th wedding anniversary.

With my mum being a Devonian we used to stay here all the time, but with it being 12 years since our last visit we were very excited to return.

I'm pleased to say, the park's hospitality hasnt changed a bit.

The park is spotless and clean. The caravans are spacious and comfortable. The entertainment is first class.
Everything that you could hope for.

Being in Dawlish Warren, the park is well situated for other destinations, like Dawlish, Teignmouth, Torquay, Exeter etc. Dawlish Warren train station is a10 minute walk away.
If you have a family here you could really just stay on the park and the surrounding facilities. There's so much to do. The Bluecoats can keep the family well entertained during the day as well as in the evening in the clubhouse.

We re-loved our holiday so much, we're already booked up again for July next year.

Can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasingStarlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
It can often be disappointing, revisiting a place you loved in your childhood, so we’re really thrilled to hear we were still able to offer you and your family a memorable holiday, especially after 12 years of changes!

We look forward to seeing you in July when we hope to exceed your expectations once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Not a good start
Number 1: Signed in at the reception and went to the static caravan only to find out that I needed to return to reception to pick up bedding! Why didn’t they say that when I checked in.
Number 2: They had such a small electric tank that only 15, yes 15 litres of hot water could be used at any one time, then it was a 20 minute wait for the water to get hot again! This is fine when you are washing up but not when 4 adults need to be showered before going out! There was no leisurely showers that week, we had to start to get ready allowing 20 minutes between showers, not very good. I complained to the manager and nothing happened. I emailed the Managing director, no reply, still waiting now 4 weeks later! I sent the 2 teenage girls over to the swimming pool to shower and wash their hair but no luck. The only showers they had were at the pool side. So they would have to shower and wash their hair at the pool (with costumes on) and walk to the changing room, not ideal.
Number 3: Most teenagers want free wifi, great news it was available, only to find out that only one person at a time could access it! So I had shifts between my 2 teenage girls.
Number 4: We had damp in one of the bedrooms, lucky there were two small singles and my daughter could sleep on the one away from the damp corner; it wasn’t; nice to sleep in there especially as she had a cold at the time.
Number 5: The entertainment was terrible for adults and teenagers; it was geared up for children up to 12. Other places I have been to cater for the kids earlier on, say up to 9.00pm then switch to adult entertainment. In the 7 days we were there, I went to the club house twice, and only then because one night was a charity night.
To sum this place up: don’t complain because they take no notice of you, only good for families with young children and for those who don’t want to shower much and definitely not good for teenagers!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pickycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
No 1 ... It’s part of our friendly check in service to advise our guests of the linen procedure, sorry we missed this on an extremely busy check in day.

No 2 ... We remember you very well and to say we did nothing is a little unfair. A Manager explained this particular type of caravan you hired were manufactured with 15 to 25 litre tanks and we also made suggestions which could have helped, had you let us. Most mobile homes will not have the kind of system we have in our own homes unfortunately and most people understand this and accept this is part of the caravan experience. Your feedback to our Managing Director was responded to on 30th October - please contact us direct if you would like another copy of this sent to you.

No 3 ... We offer FREE Wifi, a lot of parks use Wifi as another way to get more money out of their guests, realising how important it is these days - we don't, it's free or did we already mention that?!

No 4 ... We are sorry you had a problem with one of the bedrooms and are a little surprised you didn't mention this to us when discussing the size of the water tank. We could have helped.

No 5 ... Our talented Bluecoats are one of the many reasons so many guests return to us so we are disappointed you didn't enjoy the entertainment. They work extremely hard to make sure there is something for everyone - which you may not have experienced after just two visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
699 reviews
2.6 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
9.0 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#9 of 11 in Exmouth
169 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#9 of 87 in Torquay
527 reviews
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Property: Welcome Family Holiday Park
Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing