We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertainment excellent but Club badly let down by door staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Last nights entertainment can only be described as superb - very well done.
What let's the Club down is that on every night I take my family, there is no welcome from the door staff - they don't even acknowledge your existence. Typically one member of staff is leaving over the desk facing the other two who are slouched on their chairs. Is it to much for a Good Evening out How'sHows your day been kids? Review the cameras and see what I mean - they are letting down what otherwise is a really good holiday.
Reception and Pool staff are wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brummy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Naturally we have passed your comments onto our Club Manager who will address this issue with our staff, however with hundreds of guests arriving throughout an evening it’s not always possible for us to stop and have a chat - although we agree it’s nice to do so, time permitting!

We have a mix of staff on the Club door – our Welcome Wardens who are on hand to help wherever they can up until midnight and our Security staff whose main purpose is to make sure everybody in the Cruisers Club is enjoying their evening, feeling relaxed and comfortable in the knowledge that they are there if needed.

Many thanks for your honest feedback - it sounds like you enjoyed your holiday experience overall and we do hope you will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 851 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great week in our bungalow 19th may 2012. My only complaints were that we seemed to be the first occupants of the bungalow this season and it took a couple of days to air the dank smell from what was otherwise very nice accommodation. We never reported this to management as we were all very tired from our journey and just wanted to unpack and rest.We were unable to do this until maintenance arrived and secured a couple of windows that could not be locked/secured.Temporary measures were made by the friendly maintenance team within the hour.But all managements basic failings were more than made up for by the entertainment team well done guys you made our stay Greatttttt . ps mattresses suck seems Fred flintstone ripped you off lol

Room Tip: Don't book near the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchacold2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We’re sorry to hear your holiday home had an unpleasant smell - sometimes we are unable to air accommodations as much as we would like due to weather conditions which can then sometimes cause an “unused” smell. This is normally easy to put right so if there’s a next time – please tell us!

Regarding the mattresses – as you probably already know from previous reviews we have recently purchased several hundred new mattresses so we are disappointed you didn’t find it suitable for your specific requirements. Again, please come and talk to us so we can put it right while you are here!

As for Fred Flintstone … he loves the place! After all, our park is a lot less Stone Age than Bedrock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Welcome last week and had a great time. We stayed in a wavesurfer bungalow and it was a great room, good size and well equipped, my only complaint was the carpets hadn't been cleaned properly, bits under your toes straight away was a little worrying but I think that was more to do with the cleaner than the resort. Aside from that we were booked in quickly and early, making our own beds just proved the linen is clean. The pools were fab as was the entertainment. A real effort was made with this, again the only slight complaint was the shows were a little late but that didn't seem to bother any of the families there or us too much. Had a thoroughly enjoyable time and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We’re so sorry we didn’t clean your accommodation to our usual high standards – we don’t always get it right first time but we will always do our very best to rectify any problems reported to us quickly. Rest assured your comments have been forwarded to our Housekeeping team.

It’s so good to hear you had such an enjoyable holiday despite this and we are really pleased you are planning to return to us next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I never thought I would enjoy this holiday as I don't usually cope with caravans very well, but I thoroughly enjoyed myself the entertainment was A class the pool was lovely and the staff were so friendly, kids also loved it all 3 of them aged 2 5 and 9 we are even looking at going back in October it was that good. Thank you welcome I will recommend you to everyone I know :)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louabson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

We couldn’t have wished for a better review so thank you! You seemed to love everything about us which is fantastic to hear!

See you in October? We certainly hope so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Entertainments so polished, always the highlight of our stay which just happens to be our 5th in three years. Caravans, Pool and Cruisers Club the best around.

Can't beat the prices, quality of food at the club

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

5 times in 3 years – brilliant! We will pass your lovely comments on to all our staff who work incredibly hard to help make your holiday memorable!

Glad you enjoyed the food too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was mine and my partners first time together to Devon for a caravan holiday. We got a very good deal through Hoseasons for a standard caravan. The pool was ok, a bit smaller than I thought but was nice. We didn't spend any time in the Cruisers Club for the entertainment as it didn't really appeal to us. The rest of the site was a bit tired looking.

The only thing I wasn't keen on was that we couldn't park outside the caravan but the car was safe in the small car park which wasn't far away if there was space. In busy season, I would expect we'd be fighting for spaces. The only other thing I didn't like was the lack of service from the staff. The receptionists when we checked in just seemed bored and spoke like they couldn't be bothered to tell us where to go and didn't give a lot of information such as when we needed to check out on departure day. Then being told we had to collect our linen, make the beds ourselves and then strip the beds ourselves at the end of the stay, I was far from impressed. Didn't really see what I was paying for to be honest. Also we couldn't really sit outside the caravan unless you had paid extra for one of the shalets with a balcony, the bog standard caravan had to chairs or tables to sit outside which I would like to have done in the sunny weather to eat my dinner.

The location of the park was great as we were 30 minutes drive from Exeter and Torquay and the surrounding local area is lovely.

We visited a number of attractions in Devon, Babbacombe Model Village, Bygones, Pennywell Farm, Kents Cavern, Exeter Cathedral, Buckfast Abbey and Dartmoor National Park.

Not sure if I would stay at this site again unless it made some improvements.

Room Tip: Moonlight is the bog standard caravan so I would suggest pay a little more if you want outside sitti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyLee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

We are extremely surprised to hear you felt our park looked tired. You will see from our many positive (and often glowing!) reviews that the ongoing refurbishment and maintenance of our park is much appreciated. We are very often praised for how great the park looks overall, especially with our landscaped grounds. By the way this is the reason why we don’t offer parking right next to some holiday homes – we prefer our guests to see a much more pleasing outlook, rather than rows and rows of cars! However, we do have plenty of designated parking areas which are very close to most accommodations – as you quite rightly pointed out.

We are sorry to hear you did not find our Reception staff helpful – again this comes as a great surprise to us as we feel we have a great team for 2012. After being well established for many decades we realise people want to check in quickly rather than wait in a huge queue while we attempt to explain everything in detail to each and every guest! This is why we give all of our guests a booklet containing everything you will need to know about the park which you can take a few minutes to read while enjoying the Welcome complimentary cuppa we leave in your accommodation.

We appreciate not everybody can hire one of our holiday homes which benefit from a private terrace so we do offer garden furniture for hire – all this is stated in the booklet we give you so we could have helped you enjoy the sunshine by eating alfresco!

As for making the beds, if we were to do this for everybody then we would see our Housekeeping costs soar which means we would have to pass these additional costs onto our guests – and after carrying out a survey, the majority of our guests agree that they would prefer to carry out this task themselves so we can continue to offer extremely good value for money.

You asked what you’re paying for … we are an extremely popular, well regarded family holiday park with superb facilities (some of which you chose not to experience) all set in great gardens and a convenient location – however we realise we aren’t going to suit everybody’s taste and you did say that this was your first caravan holiday so perhaps it’s just not for you - unlike the 75% of guests who keep on returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Lovely site, Caravan clean was a older model which i would expect as only paid for the basic caravan, so i was happy with it. even thought stated dogs have previously stayed, i found no trace of this. Within 30mins of arriving around 7.30pm we heard the first train which scared the life out myself and my son. we soon realised there was a train line within 2 meters of the caravan hidden behind the bushed and fence. the train was going so fast it shook the caravan. this went on all night and day, on one occasion we heard 3 trains within 15 mins. every time the caravan shook. the next day we asked to be moved which the staff were very polite and offered me a choice of 3 caravans. We accepted a caravan which was the furthest away but still within 12 feet of the track. once again the caravan was clean and no trace of dog. the site and the area was very nice but i would of liked to be informed that this was a very busy train line which runs 24hrs a day. its not just a sceinic route for the train lovers, its a line for very fast trains that soar by & trains that carry goods.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welcome-Family-Park, Guest Relations Manager at Welcome Family Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

It’s great to hear you found our park and accommodation so clean as we pride ourselves on our high standards of cleanliness and maintenance throughout the park. Despite the initial interruption of the train line we really hope you enjoyed your holiday.

We do get lots of train spotters loving our location however we realise it’s not for everyone! We are very pleased we were able to offer you an alternative location on the park – rest assured we will always do our very best to accommodate any special requests to ensure you have a great holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
724 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#6 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#11 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Family Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Family Holiday Park

Address: Dawlish Warren Road, Dawlish EX7 0PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: $50 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Family Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Family Holiday Park in Dawlish Warren, Devon is a friendly, independent, family run park with a genuine customer focus, offering all you need to make your holiday in Devon a wonderful and memorable experience. Located just a few minutes level walk from a Blue Flag beach, and close to many tourist attractions makes Welcome the ideal location for a family holiday. On park there is range of holiday homes, caravans and lodges to suit all tastes and budgets; we really have something for everyone, including fabulous nightly entertainment from Easter to October, fantastic indoor swimming complex, free crazy golf and Wi-Fi; - Its no surprise that so many of our customers return every year. Welcome Family - Where the fun always shines! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Welcome Family Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Family Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Welcome Family Holiday Park Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing