We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Chineham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I had read a few reviews of this before I booked (last minute) and I must admit that when we drove up, I was quite worried. The apartments look like prison cells. The place just looks run down. However, we had booked a caravan and it was perfect, reasonably clean, everything we needed was there and we had a great week. We were there in awful weather and the tree above our caravan hardly ceased battering the roof during the night so I would suggest a 'trim' of such trees during the winter maintenance period!
Probably won't be back, but that's only because there are so many places to see in the UK.

Room Tip: Caravan... Not a prison cell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Many thanks for this review.

If you had told us about the tree I am sure our team would have dealt with it thus giving you peaceful nights.

I am pleased that despite this your caravan was perfect, and I do hope you will try our sister Parks when in other parts of the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    230
    188
    155
    343
See reviews for
714
170
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed on the touring park and it was fine, hard standing pitch with its own water supply and EHU. Washing facilities were dated but clean and never really busy despite staying during the school holidays. Staff were polite from those in reception to those showing us to our pitch. Our 6 year old nephew had a great time at the kids club and the usual early evening entertainment, we used the indoor pool at the sister site Dawlish Sands.
From someone who took their own caravan you can clearly see that Park Holidays will need to spend a lot of money having purchased the former Peppermint Park where many of the caravans are need of refurbishing or replacing whereas the standard of accommodation at Golden Sands is in better condition, the chalets at peppermint are very dated. Ideal for families with young children but those with teenagers may struggle due to its quiet location, a local Sainsburys supermarket will supply all your self catering needs

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Many thanks for the review.

The camping is in the former Peppermint Park which has many privately owned holiday homes, and the apartments and club house are in Golden Sands.

We will be refurbishing many of the apartments this winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed for the weekend on a sun break we had a silver standard caravan which just needed a bit of tlc worn cushions stained carpet etc but the bed was clean and as the van was just for a base for getting out and about i do think the little things make a difference like the blinds in kitchen and bathroom could have done with a good clean but it certainly wasnt as filthy as some reviews are saying cheap and cheerful although cleaning should be addressed the adult entertainment was brilliant they are excellent at what they do and the site should do there upmost to keep them for next season. We enjoyed our stay we would do it again but upgrade to gold as there is a mass difference in what you get and how clean it was

Room Tip: go for gold standard caravan if you can avoid apartments they looked awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am sorry there were cleaning issues but am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I agree that our Entertainment team are brilliant and hopefully some of them will be with us in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

For value this was good. A Sun break. No charge for entertainment. A warm caravan. Matresses good. Cooker not so good but a decent microwave and toaster. Fire ok. Lit alright. Get that lingering gas smell --calorgas?/ think it always makes that smell for a few minutes.Caravan was basically clean. That which could be cleaned had been done. The upholstery was grubby but it was end of season nearly and it wasn't of prime concern. It was a cheap break and I went to go out and about as much as possible-not spend 4 days indoors. The adult entertainment was really good. I didn't go to the bingo or children's stuff. The 'after 9pm' entertainment was worth going to. A brilliant comedian who also played the trumpet and ukulele was the highlight. Vouchers were given on arrival entitling us to a freebie each day- i.e tea, beer, meal, breakfast. Amazing. The breakfast was really nice as well. I recommend the coffee from behind the club bar.. Lovely. (not from the food hatch) If you walked thru to the end of the site there was an exit that was very close to Dawlish Warren-(a15/20 minute walk) So all in all I fared alright here. Very courteous and friendly, helpful staff on my visit. Hope they keep it up at all times.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeddle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I am pleased that you found us value for money. Thanks for the comments regarding the staff and meals. It is great to read that you enjoyed the visiting cabaret as well as our own. Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'll keep this brief. On arrival, I was accommodated in an apartment for 4 - it had one 2 seater settee and a couple of wooden dining chairs around a table pushed against the wall - an apartment for 4?
The major problem is that these apartments are a health hazard and should be condemned. They are filthy, mouldy and the décor belongs in the 60s.
Having complained I was placed in a v nice caravan in another part of the park which was secluded and clean.
To cap, if the apartments were demolished and replaced with caravans, then the look and feel of this park would improve.
I did not use the facilities on the park, so cannot comment on these.
My thanks to Kayleigh (Receptionist) who took my initial complaint on board and accommodated me in the caravan.

Room Tip: Caravans, certainly not apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.

We will be refurbishing many of the apartments this winter.

I am sorry that you had issues with yours and am pleased our reception team were able to move you.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived for our week long stay beginning of October, first the park was in the middle of industrial estate and miles from dawlish it's self park was run down and looked like it could do with a good update the 1st apartment they gave us was disgusting the smell that hit you as you opened the door made you feel sick (we thought we could give it the benefit of the doubt but o no it got worse) the sofa was all stained, bathroom was moldy,dirty,cold and the bedrooms were not much better we definitely couldn't stay in there we went in and complained and to our surprise none of the staff had actually been in the apartment(how could they possibly expect us to stay in there without knowing what they are offering) they did upgrade us to a large caravan which was better but this had now spoilt our holiday! So we went home the same evening!
I would definitely never recommend this place never been so disgusted in my life!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisonkirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are based about 1 and a half miles from Dawlish.

We are refurbishing many of the apartments and other areas of the Park this winter.

All of our reception staff have been into the apartments, but not the one you were allocated on the day you arrived.

I am sorry you had issues with the apartment but am pleased we were able to offer you a caravan and I am sorry that you instead decided to go home.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I'm going to have to disagree with most of the other bad reviews. Just got back from a 5 day break in gold accommodation which was very nice and clean. Site was fine and we were nicely located near to the complex. Swimming pool was fine and water was warm. Changing rooms abit small but didn't cause a problem and showers were warm. Entertainment team were absolutely brilliant and really made our daughters holiday. And there cabaret shows were brill and were all very talented. Overall great value for money I probably would only stay in gold or above not because I'm a snob but just for extra luxury it's worth spending abit more for that. Will definetly be returning again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Villagough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for this lovely review, it certainly cheers the staff up to see that their hard work is not wasted.

We look forward to welcoming you back on park soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.0 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
8.6 mi away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
4.9 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing