We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campsite Nightmare!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Ranked #13 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Where to start, the worst camping experience we've ever had! We had booked two large pitches as we were camping with friends, we had requested they be next to each other but on arrival our pitches were not the ones shown on our map, as someone else was already pitched there and as we later found out most of the campers had similar problems and pitched where they could find, as there was no markings to determine how big or how many pitches there should be, and it turned out that the only two pitches left were what we were told was used as a car park, the ground was dirt and stone with holes, glass and cigarette butts not what we thought suitable for camping on, the other pitch was not next to this and was on a grass slope next to the bin area and both pitches were right on the roadside, not at all suitable when you have a dog and four children!
Worst of all was the manner in which our complaint was dealt with, the management were extremely rude and unhelpful and the first general manager to deal with our complaint said it had been double booked and we had to except the pitches we were given or just go home, this was also the attitude of the manager who eventually made an appearance after a very long wait and to cut a long story short after four hours of arguing we were offered one chalet for four, they did reluctantly ring round other campsites but they only found us a campsite about 40 mins drive away in the country not ideal when you have waited all year for a beach holiday. There was no offer of compensation or even an apology and in the end we were basically told to take the pitches they had left or leave.
Whilst all this was going on there were numerous complaints from other campers that also had to pitch where they could find some not on the electric pitches as booked, others complained about the chalets and club being filthy and the pool was apparently cold so campers had to go to the next campsite which they had to pay for.
In the end we only had a holiday due to a group of lovely people pitched next to where we were supposed to camp who offered to move their car away from their tent so we could pitch there, whilst our friends pitched across the front of our tent, the management never even thanked these people for helping us out they just left us to our own devices, we didn't spend any money on the site for the rest of the holiday taking our business elsewhere so cant rate the site facilities, we wouldn't go back and we wouldn't recommend it either.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MisterB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your review.

As you are aware we have written to you personally concerning this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

877 - 883 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

we had a nice weekend stay.the caravan was very roomy, we had a 4 berth but there was only 2 of us. allelectrical equipment in the caravan.set in a nice area. all within walking distance of the park.locals very friendly. nice home cooked meals in the local pub.

Room Tip: bronze 4 berth caravan c120. in frount of the club house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrssaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thanks for this review, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The entertainment was brilliant, maintence (tom), was excellent, and kept to his word!!!.
so where do I start about the park and staff, the reception staff (kayleigh and jacque) were very very rude, had no customer care, shouting at the customes.
The whole park was very dirty and messy. The cleaners (2 young girls) threw rubbish outside caravans, which then the seagulls had it and ripped bag open. Some of the rubbish was still there when we left today. Glass was broken on a chalet door, shop shut early last night, toilets in club absolutely disgusting. ...dont look like they have ever been cleaned. Employers liability ran out July 2013!!.
The list goes on and on. Ive been going for the last 5 years, but never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ging30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to read that you will not be returning. Unfortunately a guest did break the glass in a door and this has been replaced.

The shop opening times are displayed on the reception door and has never closed early, but the times do vary on some days.

Unfortunately there was an oversight in displaying the new certificate of insurance in Reception and this was addressed as soon as mentioned to a staff member.

I apologise if you found two of the staff rude.

Thanks again for taking the time to place a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Im sorry to be writing this we have been going for last 3-4 years everytime all good this time what has happened here is a list of what we found

Outside the club was dirty broken glass all over the place had to remove it just incase of my 2 year old hurting herself

Tv had no channels and no remote and reception didnt care

Taps very loose in bathroom

Wood left on wall with metal hanging out

Shop too small no souvenirs anymore

Cleaners threw out bag of rubbish and left it to seagulls

Shalet door smashed and left

Toilets disgusting and dirty toilet roll all ovet floor drier not wotking toilet blocked

Public liability run out on june its now sept money change machine in arcade ran out daughter went to bar to tell them and they just walked away

Only decent thing was the entertainment crew brilliant

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bod102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for the broken glass, if this was reported it would, of course, have been quickly cleaned up.

A guest broke the glass in the door and this was boarded up whilst waiting for the glazing company to reglaze it.

I do hope you reported the wood to reception to enable this to be removed. The cleaners have been spoken to regarding the rubbish.

The toilets are checked on a regular basis and I am sorry if there was toilet roll on the floor. The hand drier has been replaced.

Many televisions do not have or need a remote.

Thanks for the comments about our great Entertainment team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we stayed at this park on the 6th to 9th of september never ever again will we be returning to this disgusting park since park holidays have taken over its dreadfull.this was our first holiday park we stayed at in 2003 and i couldnt fault it back then spotless well now its like a concentration camp site just dirty run down wants demolishing and re building.the caravan was full of dust had to clean every where they need to sack the cleaners they employ as there not doing their job right must have there eyes shut when supposedly cleaning accomadation utter disgrace.the gas fire never worked,cooker burnt everything so had to eat out,smoke alarm kept going off never ever in all my life have i experienced a dreadfull nightmare of a holiday.where the touring was on peppermint run down shower blocks disgusting and health and safety issue with tiles missing building shabby and dirty i remember this park spotless in 2003 when i camped there shower block was out of this world but not now.never ever go to any off these two parks unless you want a disaster holiday absolutely dreadfull park holidays do something instead of cramming the mobile statics everywhere you have ruined both parks you wont see me at your parks again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the cleanliness of the caravan, and had you let us know we would have sent the cleaners back to you, as we certainly do not expect our guests to start their holiday cleaning.

The same applies with the maintenance issues unfortunately we do rely on guests to report these issues to us to be rectified.

The shower block is cleaned daily.

Many thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Arrived at Golden sands on 13TH Sept for a newspaper weekend holiday. Had this not been a budget price break we would have asked for money back.
We have stayed at many parks over the last few years, and this one is by far our worst experience. . On arrival we were given our key - we were in "block B, first impressions were more like cell block H! we went to the shop and bought some disinfectant and cleaning cloths, it was that or go straight home, and that would have been a bit unfair on the children. The chalet was very dated & dirty, one dirty two seater sofa - bit of a squeeze for four people!!! one of the four dining chairs was broken. My partner spent the first hour making the premises habitable. We had to ask for pillows, as there were three between four people, although to be fair we were given two new pillows. Had to clean the kitchen, wash cutlery, dining table was disgusting. .Shower poor. Windows had not been cleaned in ages, and covered in bird deposits! We only used the chalet as a base & to sleep in. Will be honest & say the food in the restaurant area was ok, entertainers were also good with children, although we didn't view the cabaret acts. Drinks a bit more expensive than other parks. On the Saturday we walked around the park and it was evident that the site was in need of a revamp. Lots of rubbish around, fag ends, Chalet windows with paint peeling off etc. The under 5's play area was poor, a hole in the ground In which you could easily break your ankle was all that was left of one former piece of play equipment. To be fair the main play park was better. , Swimming pool small but ok, didn't use changing rooms as The 'chalet?' was nearby. Hand dryer not working in the ladies toilets in the entertainment complex, some of the staff were ok, although others seemed a bit immature.
Very noisy at night when people returning from nights out.
Will not return to this park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am sorry if you had cleaning issues and naturally we would have sent the cleaners to re-clean your apartment if you had informed us.

We will be refurbishing many of these apartments during the winter along with other parts of the Park.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our entertainers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived there at 4.15pm on the friday 13th sept till Monday 16th collected key from bar area was to that we were in caravan C27 opened caravan to a disgusting smell it smelt like baby's dirty nappies horrible the sofa was filthy didn't want to sit on it but had to the kitchen was filthy had to wash all cutlery ,plate worktop, the shower was filthy and smelly had to clean it 4 times until it smelt and looked better than it did bedrooms wasn't to bad but still smelt all the carpets were dirty. This is should be ungraded WILL NEVER GO BACK THERE AGAIN . smelly heel hole.

Room Tip: Go to a different caravan site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for the cleanliness issues, and can only reiterate that if we had been informed we would have sent the cleaners to re-clean the unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
3 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
13.6 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range: $39 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing