We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 Days of "Hi de Hi" Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 Days of "Hi de Hi" Hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This caravan park has put me and my family off caravan holidays forever. First impressions count so driving through an Industrial Estate past derelict buildings and Sainsbury's shopping trolleys did not go down too well, I cannot believe there are not laws and regulations stipulating baseline standards for holiday accommodation.If you do have to stay in this flee pit upgrade to a silver caravan because anything less is a health hazard.The Chalets resemble an army barracks and are damp, mouldy, decaying,smelly dated and dirty...even after a refurb. Carpets were heavily stained and sticky underfoot and hadn't been hoovered in god knows how long. Windows and woodwork are rotten and in the toilet, the window was held closed by a dirty pair of tights....went to complain and pay for an upgrade...but apparently full...the usual story..Cooker hood was disgusting with years of grease and grim stuck to it..something out of the 70s..Levels of maintenance are well below standard and dangerous...litter everywhere and cigarette butts outside most of accommodation..outside ours were other suspect bodily fluids too gross to mention.Previous guests dirty linen still left outside and not taken away from accommodation...the list goes on...Cutlery and china all had to be deep cleaned before usage Public areas were filthy on close inspection during the day...Toilets stank of urine and were not regularly cleaned according to the checklist...would not have eaten in the so called dining area because tables were not clean. We had low expectations but how low can you be prepared to go....so after 3 out of a party of 7 went down with a sickness bug we left early....didnt use pool on the grounds we had seen quite enough FILTH...Quite a trek to the beach too...SO AVOID THIS DUMP AND PARK HOLIDAYS READING OTHER REVIEWS

Room Tip: If you are unfortunate to have to stay here...upgrade to at least a silver caravan...not near the no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doorstomanual500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    232
    193
    157
    352
See reviews for
727
175
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Staying at Golden Sands for the second time this year has again been a fantastic Holiday! The reception team has been very professional as well as helpful, the caravan this year has been the nicest one we have stayed in in all the years staying at Golden Sands. The cleanliness has been faultless and I express my respect to the team ensuring presentation counts! And finally the Entertainment! Phenomenal as ever! The entertainments Manager has clearly put 100% focus on ensuring the holiday makers have fully enjoyed there time as well as the rest of the team. They deserves so much and I hope they are acknowledged by the senior managers for there hard work and dedication they put in. However, I'm sure they are! I cannot fault the enthusiasm when interacting with the adults and the children! True talented professionals and great personalities! I wish them all luck in the future. As always I will be returning to Golden Sands and will always be recommending this Park to others! Hope to see you all soon. Take Care Team 2012.

Rich Robinson

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Golden Sands.

We look forward to seeing you back on park soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I dont normally review places mainly because i never see reason to but after looking online at some of the reviews that have been given of golden sands i was shocked! i first went away for a week in September and had a very good time... we stayed in a bronze apartment and ok it was basic but you very much get what you pay for the chalet was clean and tidy and the bedding clean and pressed. The entertainment was amazing the people there really try and do that little bit extra to make your holiday more fun. the childrens daytime entertainment was very good and at night there was shows on for the adults followed by a late night disco. the location was also good it was a 10 minute walk to the beach and also very local to the nearby markets that open weekly. We loved it so much that i returned again in october only this time with my sister and niece they originally were put in an apartment that was upstairs ater explaining about our buggy situation the reception staff were very friendly and moved us immediately. all in all a great time and im looking forward to returning next year :)

Room Tip: If you like more quiet evenings request a place thats not to near the club house as it can get a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Golden Sands.

We look forward to seeing you back on park soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had told them we would be late arriving - indeed it was 9.30 so quite dark and the lighting around the site was totally inadequate. However, the volume of noise from the entertainment area was tremendous so you'd always find your way there as we did to collect our key, having to walk across carpet onto which my shoes stuck! Adult games were being played which consisted of a man having to get hold of a woman's bra! I'm no prude but this is so unbelievably tacky!

We were allocated a 2 bedroom chalet (?) and there were 4 of us - no problems there you may think, although the musty smell on entering made me gag. The lounge (?) had a filthy (and I mean filthy) 2 seater sofa and when my 80 year old Mum sat on it she nearly ended up on the floor and she only weighs 8st! and 2 kitchen chairs around a semi circular table. The tv would only tune to 2 channels and the remote didn't work at all. The microwave was being held level by a piece of folded cardboard under one side. The only light was a very bright main light. The latch on the inside of the door was broken so it was impossible to deadlock it. The door to the bathroom was wedged permanently open -some of us like a bit of privacy and the shower was screwed into the wall at such an angle that it was never going to work properly. There was no blind to the kitchen window which over looked directly onto the main road through the site.

There were 3 glasses in the cupboard, one of the plates looked like it hadn't been washed, there were bits of paper and a crisp packet under the cooker - which I would not have dared cook anything on.

Make up your own minds - I'd made up mine within 10 minutes - we moved the next morning having spent a very uncomfortable night on a bed where every spring could be felt and having had very little sleep.

Room Tip: As far away from the entertainment venue as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itslinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

the staff were wonderful. they made our grandaughters birthday very special. after having a family bereavement just before we were due to stay.The caravans were spacious and very clean. will definately return. we were a family of over 20 using 5 caravans. Well done and thank you all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at Golden sands,, we stayed in one of the apartment/chalets which was a shame as our daughter was looking forward to staying in a caravan. However it was clean and adequate for our needs. A few minor niggles (toilet roll holder had come off of the wall, low pressure on hot water in the kitchen, cheap beds with springs that poked through....) not really enough to spoil our break.
The club house facilities are good, plenty of seating and good, quick service. I must say that the entertainment team were brilliant, They worked hard to ensure everyone had a good time. The shows were well put together and they could all sing and dance, so much energy.
There are plenty of attractions in the area for days out and we have all agreed that we would visit again for another break (hopefully in a caravan with better beds)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a week at Golden Sands and we had a lovely time. We have a bronze caravan due to the fact we took our dogs. After reading some reviews on here i will be honest i nearly didnt go.

When we got there it we was pleasantly surprised. The check in staff was friendly and check in was quick. We arrived at our caravan and it was ok it was clean and smelt nice and fresh. It was a little dated but what do you expect we only paid £79 for the week.

The park is very quiet and not alot to do but there are plenty of nice places to visit around.

The food at the club was nice and always warm.

All in all was a great week but i dont think we would go back as not a great deal to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meaks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.5 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.8 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Orestone Manor
The Orestone Manor
#6 of 88 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
4.9 mi away
Devon Valley Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Week Lane, Dawlish EX7 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands has all the facilities you would expect from a top quality holiday park and the atmosphere is also very friendly. We have a reputation for providing some of the best holiday park entertainment around - and you can enjoy top class shows on most nights - all in the price! In fact that's one of the main reasons so many people come back year after year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Golden Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing