We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,081)
Filter reviews
1,081 results
Traveler rating
361
247
183
126
164
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
361
247
183
126
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment teamnext yearloopy rabbitgold plus caravanholiday parkbar staffshort breaktrain linebed caravanfamily holidaygreat holidaylocal areaevening entertainmentbad reviewstake awaygreat entertainmentcentral heating
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 1,081 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017

We were in a Gold Plus caravan 2017 (Number 45) and have to say what an awful experience we had on this caravan site. We arrived at the caravan, baring in mind we were self catering, no toilet roll, no meat dish, no tea pot, no salt/pepper pots.. these may seem picky but when you've splashed out for gold plus you expect everything available. We had a caravan 3 adults and 1 teenager with 1 toilet and 1 shower. I went and viewed another Gold Plus and it had 2 toilets and the cleaner also confirmed that there should of been toilet roll on your welcome. (What a Shambles)

The living room was nice and quite spacious with a flat screen TV with DVD, but the bedrooms were very small, you could hardly move in the bedrooms. There was one unit to hang your clothing up and a little side table which was very tiny.

When you went in the shower you didn't have anywhere to hang your clothes at all, there wasn't anywhere to put them, no hook on the back of the door or anywhere to place them, they had to go on the floor.

We started off my our central heating not working, we had to go over to reception to get this fixed, we didn't get it fixed straight away we seemed to spend so much time over at the reception reporting the caravan faults. There was a leak in the toilet from the radiator, the man came to repair it but by day 7 it was still leaking. We then had a leak in the shower room and we were given linen to soak up the water until we could have the boiler fixed, the boiler was leaking water too (Dangerous too) We were so disappointed, we reported this on the Saturday and got it repaired on the Thursday, they were just so lazy. Being in a caravan with a leaking boiler and being told they don't always have time to check the caravans because of time limits and turn over is totally unacceptable.

People say that the staff are very welcoming, I personally didn't think this, even the guys who did the entertainment would walk straight past you and not even say hello.

The entertainment room is the same room that you would eat your meals if you have paid extra money for this facility. We didn't eat in here, however when we went over to the entertainment it was so dirty. I asked one night for a table to be cleaned because it had been left like a pig sty, oh it got cleaned OK, the girl from behind the bar just got a cloth and just threw it all on the floor, so when we sat down we had chips on the floor, sweets on the floor. She was so rude doing it the chips just went everywhere and the floor was a mess, surely she should of picked it up. There was tomato sauce that had just been squeezed over the floor, you saw kids running round with no socks on or with socks on and just running through it,

What a joke with the swimming pool also, you can use the swimming pool but you are not allowed to take Shampoo or Conditioner in the shower because the shower is so close to the pool. There was only one shower and it was for male/female, what an absolute joke I have never known anything like it in my life that you can't take anything in with you to wash yourself after a swim.

Whilst on holiday we were given a refund of a nights stay but for what we had to put up with this holiday it really was an insult, the whole situation was a disaster from the day of arrival and still the boiler was leaking on the day we departed.

There isn't really anything to do on the caravan park during the day, and the amusements are very dated and need updating so much. Lots of kids running round during the night time entertainment and no control, even in between tables or under your tables why you are sitting having a drink and nothing is done or said about it, was just like a playground.

Dawlish Warren is a lovely place, we have seen some beautiful places whilst on our 7 night stay. Sadly we feel a family of 4 that there is better parks out there and we were very disappointed in our stay here and not being made feel welcome from day 1.

My reviews are always honest to how I/We felt whilst away and I hope that you found this reading to be helpful. We would never return to this holiday park even if it eventually got to 5 stars, it was just one disaster after another which by the end of the week we were glad to be going home.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank bubblyshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Thank you for your review. We worked with you whilst you were on park to resolve your issue with the caravan and you were happy at the time with our resolutions. At no time were you in any danger.

There is a rinse only shower available for after swimming , shampoo is not allowed as it would make the surrounding area slippery for others using the pool. We are sorry to hear that Dawlish Sands did not meet with your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.
The upgraded caravans are great. (Comfortable, clean and very well equipped).
The park is very well presented and in an excellent location for Dawlish Warren.
The prices represent very good value for money.
+++ It's up to guests to request either a quiet area of the park or to be near the main complex.+++
+++ It's up to guests to request a non-pets caravan.+++
Holidays are what you make them.
We had a wonderful time at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park.
We would certainly recommend and return.

Stayed: October 2017
3  Thank robert20171944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Thankyou for the kind comments that the staff on park are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Glad to hear that you were happy with your caravan and the park itself.

We do welcome specific requests from guests as to where they would like to be situated and what kind of van etc, although we cannot guarantee any requests we do our very best to fulfil them.

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

we stayed in a gold caravan very clean and spacious with everything we needed and all the staff from reception to housekeeping to lifeguards to entertainers all very helpful and go above and beyond to make your stay very enjoyable .thank you so much would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

What lovely comments about the staff, thank you, we do pride ourselves in our guests service.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Dawlish Sands in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Upgraded from silver to Gold and i'm glad we did! Caravan was spotless,we were located at the back of the park near the train track which was lovely as our nearest train station at home is 25 miles away,so miss having that nearby.
Heating was very much needed during our stay thanks to Storm Brian,and was warm and toasty in no time. Never been to Dawlish or Dawlish Warren before so it was nice to explore different shops etc.
Would suggest a trip to Torquay,lots of high street shops and places to eat.
We will be back next year for a weekend but will try and come back in the summer time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with your caravan and that Storm Brian did not deter you from exploring the local area.

Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

When you book this as a sun holiday they really do try and squeeze more and more from you. The caravan we had was supposed to be “gold” which of course I had to pay more for. To say it is badly equipped is an understatement apart from a dinner set and cutlery, 1 bread knife and saucepans that is it! Things we really missed in just 3 nights....
Egg cups
Sharp knife
Scissors
Colander
Large bowl
Measuring jug
This was noticed on a short break so who knows what else is missing. Also no oven glove provided. If this is there gold standard I would imagine you are lucky if you get a bed in a bronze unit!
Unfortunately our caravan was one row over from the clubhouse and we had to endure loud people EVERY night past 11 as they left the club. This area is the dog friendly caravans where I imagine people with dogs don’t go out to the club leaving their beloved dog alone, so why put us there!! I won’t be hurrying back!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Unicorn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2017

The newspaper prices for upgrades, linen etc are set in the terms and condition of your booking, and are only added by request. I apologise if some of the inventory was missing, we do not provide oven gloves or egg cups as standard and would certainly have replaced any missing items if asked. Although that does seem a lot to have been missing from one van.

From your negative views It does sound that Dawlish Sands is not the park for you. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews