We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Holiday, but with a few bad points.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I travelled to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park last year, I travelled with 2 adults, 1 infant and 4 teenagers. We travelled there at the start of August. We stayed in a Premier Caravan, and we found that the caravan was overall nice, unlike some of the people who have reviewed we didn't find any dust or rubbish left over by previous guests, if you are considering going here, I would recommend you pay the extra for a Premier caravan.

The site overall needs updating, but still this wasn't really a big deal for us. There's a park and mini golf course located behind the shops. We found that all 4 of our teenagers spent more time in the park with the friends they made there. There was also a list of activities for young children throughout the day, which is perfect if you have young children.

One of the bad points of this holiday was defiantly the entertainment, which overall was repetitive, and they also have a age limit on certain ages. Inside the entertainment venue there is a restaurant where you can order food, and eat whilst watching the 'entertainment' or you can get a takeaway and bring it back to you're caravan, and overall the food was okay, also I would like to say thank you to the young girl who was the only one that was serving the food, and was rushed of her feet, but still managed to get our food to us within a reasonable time.

Another bad point was that the outdoor pool wasn't open, this surprised us as it was the beginning of August. But the inside pool was open daily within a certain time, the inside pool it self is rather large, theirs also a kids pool, but there's not a lot of chairs or space for parents to sit down if they want to watch their kids. Also the Lifeguards were useless, they spent more time trying to flirt with girls half their age then actually watching what the kids in the pool.

Around the local area, there's a lovely beach, and also a waterpark (we have previously been and would defiantly not recommend that) one of the beaches provides some water sport activities.

Overall we had a good time on this holiday, and despite all the negative points, we would still go back.

Room Tip: Choose Premier Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

It’s great to read your comments regarding your stay at Dawlish Sands last year. We have made improvements to the park since your stay over the winter months. I'm sorry that the entertainment was disappointing to you, it is very hard to provide entertainment to suit everyone. As it was a while ago I am unsure why the outdoor pool was not open during your stay. We did tend to close it on arrival days as the number of guests on park was minimal and also the weather had an impact on the opening times. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

736 - 742 of 941 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a Gold caravan, it wasn't exceptional but is what I would have expected a "normal" caravan to be.
It was cleaned to a standard, probably laid down by the park, and it was more than acceptable.
If it was your van you'd probably give it a good old deep clean but it was acceptable as it was.
The beach is a bit of a walk but was easily reached by bike, or car of course!
We didn't try the club house or the pool or anything else on site so am unable to comment.
If you are looking fora cheap, basic caravan site with no frills than this is OK.
Would I go again? Yes, if the price was right.

Room Tip: Go for a Gold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will be visiting again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Nice campsite good caravans even the bronze was good. Sad that one of the reception staff was so off hand it was dissappointing and off putting. I would like to go again.club is a bit scruffy. The site while we were there we're carrying out a lot of work but it was not intrusive. Overall quite a nice spot to holiday

Room Tip: Try to get a caravan away from the club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. Sorry to read your poor experience regarding one of our Reception staff. They all receive comprehensive training at the start of their employment, and will now be undertaking some refresher training. We are always trying to improve the appearance of the park, weather permitting of course!! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you one the park again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After staying at several holiday parks, and some of them park holidays, this must be the worst place we have ever stayed, We got to our 1st caravan and had to be moved because the van was dirty and everywhere covered in dog hair, we got in touch with reception and they moved us to another van, the second van was worse, still with dog hair, but this time also nail clippings on the carpet, old chocolate biscuits not cleaned up, old water bottles under the beds, and hairs blocking the sink in the bathroom and also the shower drain, the second one was worse than the first, admittedly we complained again and we got moved and it was third time luck, and the third van was clean.
I have been staying at holiday parks for the past 20 years and never had to be moved due to dirty caravans.
The site also is very and drab and the site dosnt even look clean. as i say it is the worst park holiday site i have stayed at.

Room Tip: Choose another Park Holidays site, but dont go to this one!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trevnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you experienced problems on your arrival and that the cleanliness of your accommodation was not to standard. This is something that will be addressed with our contract cleaning company to ensure problems similar to yours do not occur again. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great place to explore south Devon. Used as our base and much cheaper than surrounding accomodation. The park allows dogs which is great as many places do not!! The caravans are basic but are very clean and have fridge, telly and all the essentials. Just remember to take extra duvet as it gets quite chilly at night, it's not 5* but its only a caravan site so you get what you pay for!! Did not eat on site but there is a lovely bakery 5 mins walk away that does great breakfast rolls and tea and coffee.
If you want luxury then don't stay here but if you want a great base and cheap then this is your place especially dog walkers and explorers!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazydaisy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Dawlish Sands and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you onto our park again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Myself and my father spent a 4 night £9.50 Sun holiday here from 22nd to 26th April. After reading the reviews on here and looking at the photos we chose to upgrade before we went and it was well worth the money! We were originally meant to stay in a Bronze caravan but we upgraded to a Silver Plus 2 Berth. It was a lovely, spacious caravan, very clean with plenty of storage. The blinds in the kitchen, toilet and shower room could have done with a clean but other than that we had no complaints and were very pleased. We had caravan No.48 which was right by reception. Alot of the reviews have praised the entertainment team for being so friendly and welcoming but we didnt find this at all. Ok, most of the people who have written reviews are families with young children so it's understandable that they will pay attention to them but even though we didnt have any children with us we didnt even get a simple Hello!! The clubhouse wasnt exactly busy and although we didnt want a fuss made over us a courteous "Hi, how are you?" would have been nice. We noticed a guy riding around the park on some sort of quad bike who we assumed was probably the maintenance guy checking over the park. During the day we took no notice of him but when trying to settle down to sleep at half 12 we could still hear him driving around!! Other than these things, that werent a huge problem to us and may seem even smaller to others, we had a lovely relaxing break. I love Devon and especially Dawlish. I would visit this park again but i wouldnt say it would be my first choice. Having spent a day while down there visiting other parks that are included in the Sun holiday offer I would like to try one of them next time. I wouldnt say to others not to visit here but if you can afford to upgrade I would recommend doing so. You could be lucky and end up with a decent Bronze caravan but for peace of mind, pay the extra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very sorry to read that you found the Entertainments Team to be unfriendly as this is far from the norm. Our park warden and maintenance team do drive the gator around park when going from job to job, however, during the evening this is being limited to emergencies only and the park warden will be walking round park othertimes. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We arrived on the 1st April, for a 4 night break and the first impressions were not great. Caravans were very close together and some were in better condition than others. After an early check in we were allocated caravan 112 which was supposed to be a Silver "plus 2" so apparently a midrange van which we paid for. If this was a midrange van though, then I would hate to see what the basic vans were like. For a start the only heating on offer was a gas fire which packed up on the Tuesday and a radiator on wheels which had the heat output of a cigarette lighter. As it was a cold week, we had to leave the fire on low when we were out just to take the edge off. This really annoyed me as I have since found out that the basic Bronze do have some with heating so I could have booked one of these and saved about £100. The cleanliness of the van itself was ok, cleaner than some I've been in but there was some basic issues which needed looking at. The toilet smelt of stale urine as it was carpeted and it looked like an angry cat had attacked the blind in toilet as it was completely trashed. I suspect though that someone may have had a drunken wobbled and took it out in the fall. The ignitor on the gas fire (are only source of proper heat) packed up on the Tuesday morning which then had to be lit with matches. The TV reception was also intermittent through our time and completely gave up on our last night leaving us with a TV that didn't work.

My first impressions of the site were confirmed. The vans are too close together meaning people do gawp at you through the window and the whole site appears to be very tired and deifnitely needs some investment just to make it look a bit tidier as the site is a bit scruffy. This isn't helped by the fact that during the week we were there, the bins were only ever emptied once a day at the most meaning they were constantly overflowing with rubbish. This ended up with rubbish shrewn all over the road by the reception / shop and feasting gulls on the rampage. This was far nosier than the trains from the track at the back of the park (don't worry too much about the trains).

The onsite club could do with a chapter on its own. The place resembles an old garage from the outside and inside it wasn't much better. It was far to small for a site of this size and it was that packed there was no where to sit when I did venture in with the wife and kids. The rest of the week I only used it as a place for a nightcap but it often resembled scenes from a futuristic version of Lord of the Flies. The 4 nights I went in there, I lost count of the number of times kids started fighting as the drunked parents let them run riot. The whole place was full of hyper kids charging about demanding change from the hard-working bar staff. The whole place was a bit dark and gloomy and looks like it needs a good clean. Price wise, it was £3.40 - £3.60 a pint so whilst pricy, it was about average for a holiday park club. There was though no real ale which is a shame as Devon has some fantastic breweries.

The park itself wasn't the best, the area itself is lovely. Dawlish Warren is a cracking area with some lovely beaches and Exemouth is a really nice place. The park staff were also pleasant and friendly.

I will be back, but I will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chappers1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

I am sorry that you felt the park was run down, we have been affected by a lot of wet weather recently. We try to keep on top of the litter and bins, unfortunately, the bins in question were used far more than the other bins on park. We have added additional bins to this area to cope with the useage, Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Beaches Bungalow
#12 of 13 in Dawlish
4 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lyme Bay House
Lyme Bay House
#5 of 12 in Dawlish
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Warren Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gently sloping golden sands of Dawlish Warren stretch out for more than 2 miles, providing an idyllic and safe haven for splashing about. Dawlish Sands is all about enjoying your holiday the way you want to. The entertainment is fantastic and you won’t need to drive anywhere in the evenings when wining and dining with your family. It’s all here in the perfect holiday hotspot! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing