We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
1 review
“great stay!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

excellent holiday, caravan was immaculate and just as we expected, entertainment team were really lovely & couldn't do enough for you, always welcoming you with a smile.


10/10 for everything, would definitely recommend it to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmagxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Lovely comments, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    212
    159
    105
    146
See reviews for
580
114
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for five days from 08th April caravan was basic but clean and lovely hot shower entertainment was really good and they all made kids feel welcome James especially he played pool with my son on the last day we had great time will be back later in year don't understand why people moan about this park we think its fab

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenh207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Really pleased you had a good time, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first visit to Dawlish Sands. On arrival we were not too dissapointed with the park or accomidation as you do get what you pay for. The Caravan was clean so a releif after some of the horror stories you read! Very basic but suited our needs.The park itself needs abit of updating, the pool area was not the cleanest and we didnt like that you had to walk around the pool edge with muddy feet to get to the changing room, that cant be hygenic!
The club house was pretty standard, expensive bar, few arcade games and seating area. Again in need of some updating but average club set up. The entertainment team worked hard, but didnt really control the audience and were forever shouting out for quiet during bingo (maybe it didnt help with paraletic parents sat there shouting out!!)
Takeaway was a big let down, we just managed to get some chips at 8.30 on the saturday night and were closed by 8.45 on the Sunday!!
Dawlish Beach itself was fantastic, maybe abit outdated, but we loved it. Can imagine in the summer season it would be beautiful.
We will definatley be returning to Dawlish as it suited what we want from a short break destination, but will probably not return to Dawlish Sands park. But Saying that if its just a cheap no frills caravan park you need this would suit.

Room Tip: anywhere away from the rail track that runs along side the park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are looking at changing the entrance to the pool, but this is not something we can do for the remaining of this season. Regarding the bingo, we have installed new speakers in the club to help with the sound during bingo. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We came to Dawlish sands and was a little disappointed with the accommodation but I suppose we got what we paid for , when we went to the club house we were greeted by the entertainment staff at the door which was very nice as we have never had that happen at any other holiday park we have been to, we settled down with a drink and a member of the entertainment team came and introduced him self, his name was James . As the night went on we met most of the team and they made our night it was brilliant the show they put on was the best and the singing was outstanding it was like watching the x factor . As the holiday went on it just got better the entertainment staff played games with the kids and did there job professionaly and to a very high standard
we will be coming back to this park and would recommend this park to anyone
A big thankyou to the entertainment team for making our holiday

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much, I am so pleased you had a good time. We all look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went to Dawlish sands with my family for the second time on the first of April. When we got there we were greeted by one of the entertainments team and Cyril, the children's mascot! My brother and sister loved it! The reception staff were lovely and directed us to our caravan. Our caravan was right next to the club and cafe and that was a bonus. Our caravan was lovely and clean and once you had the fire going for about an hour the whole caravan was warm and toast but the living room was warm in about ten minutes! The club entertainment was amazing and the team are great! The swimming pool was a good temperature and the golf course was fun! The cafe food was amazing and the staff in the cafe and bar were so kind! The only thing I could fault is that there are vents in almost every room and it can lose all the heat but if you cover it up it's not a problem! Overall an amazing holiday and don't listen to the other reviews on here it's complete rubbish! A big shout out to the entertainments team- Rusty, Tom, Cory, Jen, James and Lauren! You made our holiday extra special! Love you guys <3

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courts-1D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your stay. Its so lovely to receive such positive feedback. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future and I’m sure your comments will put a big smile on Rusty, Cory, Jen, James and Laurens faces.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having spent a long week end here just before Easter I am beginning to see peoples behaviour in a whole new light. We stayed in a bronze plus 3 bed caravan and our friends in a standard bronze 2 bed. There was absolutely no comparison, the standard bronze 2 bed vans were very basic no heating through out the van only a single gas fire, which our friends said was nowhere near good enough to heat the whole caravan and were freezing cold at night, so much so they had to sleep out front in the living room with the fire on all night after just one night in their bedroom. Admittedly it was February and the weather was not good. Our bronze plus 3 bed van was heated through out, very spacious and on a whole fairly clean (number 97 our friends number 20). We both have dogs and so that's why we could only book bronze level vans. We took lots of cheap furniture throws with us to cover the seating in the van just to protect them from the dog lying on there. But what concerned me about this caravan site is the lack of respect people have for other peoples property. After a good nights sleep, the next day we had new neighbours arrive, this consisted of 2 young ladies and 6 over active kids, who then treated the caravan as their own private adventure park, swinging on doors climbing in and out of windows and scattering rubbish outside even though there was a bin in the van and a large site bin 20 feet away. The adults didn't seem to give a stuff about anything, and just let the kids do as they please and run riot around the place. Over the next few days dirty nappies were thrown outside under the van and the contents of a bin bags left outside for the seagulls to tear to shreds and scatter everywhere. Our friends faired no better with a young guy and 2 even younger girls move into the van next to them, who then spent the whole weekend having huge arguments and scrounging cigarettes off anyone who walk past their caravan. The club house is an even bigger farce with kids running around like wild feral animals, screaming and shouting like banshee's, but as long as it didn't disturb their parents drinking time then that's ok isn't it?? Don't bother wasting your money on the Bingo as you will not hear a word the bingo caller is saying above the din of these rowdy kids and you will eventually give up after a while. The morning we were leaving the cleaners were starting to do their rounds of the vacated caravans, As I loaded up my car, I could not help notice the utter shock and disbelief on the cleaners face as she entered the caravan next door that had been vacated very early that morning by our neighbours (probably to make a quick getaway before anyone noticed) at the state it had been left in. She came out shaking her head and called her supervisor over to come and take a look. I hope they send on a bill for the extra cleaning to these people as there is no need to behave like animals and leave all your mess for someone else to clean up. As a dog owner I am expected to clean up after my dog, as we do, and dispose of this in the proper bins provided, but kids it seems can run wild and cause all sorts of damage and litter with no one batting an eye, so in my opinion don't always blame pet owners for the state of some of these caravans nor the cleaners with what they have to contend with, they are trying to do their best. By the way I have kids of my own and they would never behave in this manner and treat other peoples property in this way.

Room Tip: Unfortunately it's a lottery at what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, which is greatly appreciated. I hope you did enjoy your stay, unfortunately, we cannot be held responsible for other people’s behaviour on park. Had we been made aware of any issues with other guests whilst you were on holiday, we could have gladly dealt with these, as the holiday is for your enjoyment also. I am very sorry that your neighbours and your friends neighbours caused disturbances for you. Any issues like this would be dealt with and if problems persist we would have asked these guests to leave. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We are here now in a bronze caravan . Yes I paid a bargain price £99 as a last minute thing . We are not here for the facilities , just a bed for a night for a week As we have other things planned for the days . The bronze caravans are dirty , cold and shoved up in the corner of the park next to the frequently used train track . There is rubbish scattered everywhere in over flowing bins , the floor in the entertainment area is black with grime and I honestly don't think they have seen a mop for weeks . On arrival the queue for keys was Packed with people complaining . The ladies toilets in the club house had 6 toilets , not one had toilet roll . At night if you are not woken by noisy neighbours having a domestic , the trains are sure to wake you . I have sterilised everything and had to hire an electric heater as one gas fire is not enough to heat through to the boys rooms . I cannot explain just how cold this caravan is at night . There are droughts coming in windows , floors and broken vents , even my dog was shivering and had to get into bed with us . Going home a day early tomorrow as I need sleep . I am far from picky and have experienced all kinds of accommodation on my travels in many countries but Dawlish park nothing but a disgrace and whoever has it on there books should be ashamed . If this hell hole has a management team then can someone please tell them to sort this place out . There are families here whom have spent a years savings for there only annual holiday ... Really ... is this the memories they want to go home with .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I am sorry to read your comments regarding your stay at Dawlish Sands. I have spoken to the relevant department managers regarding this and can assure you that we have addressed the issues regarding, toilet roll and litter. Our bronze accommodation do only have a gas fire in the living room and can only apologise for the for the extremely cold weather conditions experienced during your stay. Had we been made aware of any cleaning issues we would have asked our Housekeeper to attend to rectify any issues to your complete satisfaction. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dawlish hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
381 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
0.7 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Property: Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Address: Warren Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gently sloping golden sands of Dawlish Warren stretch out for more than 2 miles, providing an idyllic and safe haven for splashing about. Dawlish Sands is all about enjoying your holiday the way you want to. The entertainment is fantastic and you won’t need to drive anywhere in the evenings when wining and dining with your family. It’s all here in the perfect holiday hotspot! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing