We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dawlish Sands - Going down hill fast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dawlish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I've been going to this park for years, and must've stayed their nearly a dozen times, both on Sun holidays and as a main "weeks" holiday, the park was great up until about 3 years when Park holidays took it over, since then the park has rapidly gone down hill, every van looked dated, the grounds look neglected, staff always look confused and dis-organised, the shop was very poorly stocked and quite frankly was a waste of time being open, check in time is a total farce NO ONE is allowed in until dead on 4, which means everyone is trying to squeeze into the tiny reception area, of all the parks I've been to Dawlish sands is the only one that doesn't allow anyone in early, even it's sister site (Golden sands), does ?.

The club area although being recently updated is small, the take away is slow, we stayed in caravan B (a smelly ancient ex staff caravan), which is literally feet away from the club (wot sleep ?), a supposed double duvet was in fact a large single (it took me seconds to work that out but staff took hours to fix it).

The area though is fantastic approx 10 miles from Junc 30 of the M5, a level 10-15 min walk to the beach, a great little supermarket and selection of small shops just around the corner, level hard standing car parking right next to your van, which is all totally ruined by Park holiday's running of what used to be an excellent park.

Replacing all the vans, cutting the grass at least yearly, permitting people to book in early, starting the shop from scratch, etc,etc,etc are all minimum requirements to turn thins around, at it is Dawlish Sands Holiday Park is a joke.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turboman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

891 - 897 of 941 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

Arrived early with 3 excited little ones- reception staff where very helpful and booked us in sraight away - caravan was immaculate with extremely clean cooker - bathroom also very clean - site was being spruced up for season so a little winter wear and tear. Bar and entertainment area usual type found in most parks - entertainment very good for the children and the entertainments staff worked very hard. Lots to do and see in the area although a little disappointed with the beach! However Paignton Zoo made it all worthwhile - do not miss it and it was very cheap!! Swimming pool was nice and clean with an inside and outside joined together and very warm - excellent for children.
Only complaint was fold out bed in lounge - horrendous!! Papaer thin matrres so all the bars came through - had to use seat cushions in the end which were very comfortable!! Also could have done with a much better childrens outside play area.
All in all good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I was very worried after reading other reviews in here, but on arrival found that our caravan was clean, though basic, with some wear & tear. The staff were friendly (aparty from one lifeguard), and the park was clean and tidy. The kids loved it, the pool was ok, though was cold even though it is supposed to be heated (though this couuld have had soemthing to do with the doors being left open!), and part of the pool being blocked off with a parasol, sun lounger and bin, with no reason given and no visible reason for this, and a grumpy lifeguard who told my son for playing on the steps that lead to this part of the pool, but couldn't explain why!
The childrens entertainment on the sat was brilliant, a young man from up north but on the Sunday it was very poor, with two young girls who were more intent on chatting than interacting with the children.
All in all I would return, though think I would like to check out neighbouring parks first!

Room Tip: Upgrade - the bronze is very basic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and i needed a base in the region of Devon to go property hunting and stayed at Dawlish Sands. We had the misfortune to go to the site bar to buy a drink and use the Free Wifi. The bar was a depressing room, the patio area outside was filthy, rubbish, leaves and generally a forgotten place. Looks like it has not been cleaned and swept in years. One positive was the reception staff were friendly. Caravan 171 was basic, but "OK". My husband had to sleep in the single bedroom, as the double bed was so small we couldn't get a decent nights sleep. The site is bricked in with a large wall all the way around, only access in and out is from the road. So the "Dawlish Sands" logo is very misleading, makes you think you will have access somehow from the site down to the waters edge. Would not go back to this site.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Myself, my wife, daughter and grandchildren stayed at Dawlish Sands in the early months of April this year, and in contradiction to all the negative reviews, we really had a superb time.

Me and my wife plan to book another break in Dawlish mid September, just us two, and we were surprised to see such bad reviews made about the staff and accommodation. Yes, the Caravan’s are basic-yes it is hardly the ‘Ritz’, but for a bargain break in Devon we found the holiday very enjoyable. We booked a Bronze caravan (which is the most ‘basic’) but it was clean, and we had no complaints. The Bronze caravans allow dogs too, so we will be inviting our dog Bruce along next time!

All the family found the staff very helpful. We received a very warm welcome when we checked in, and the great level of service continued throughout our stay. We were particularly impressed with a young lady on the Reception desk called Eve, she was very kind, helpful and informative about the local area, and really went that extra mile for us. She recommended a great beach in Tiegnmouth, only 10 minutes away from Dawlish town. I would certainly recommend it myself as it accommodates all age groups. The beach was lovely, less ‘shingley’ than Dawlish, and it had a Pier. We all had a great time on the Crazy Golf which is on the sea front. Also my eldest grandson absolutely loved the skate park! I recommend this to anyone with teenagers.

I noticed one reviewer on this site said the evening entertainment was similar to that on a ‘cruise ship’-but I personally do not see this as a bad thing! The Entertainment manager Lyndon was a great host and really got the crowd going. We stayed at the Park for evenings as we had booked half board, and it was great value for money.

Overall the holiday was great and I would recommend it to any family looking for a bargain holiday with great surroundings!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffsoulking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

we stayed here just recently on a sun holiday the standard of the bronze caravan we stayed in was the worst I've ever stayed in, We've been on many sun holidays over the years now but this was the worst the caravan I have ever stayed in it was dirty, and had heavily stained carpets throughout, ants, a dirty bedroom with dirt and god knows what on the walls. The other caravans on the site loook better but you have to pay extra for them. We won't be staying there again first thing we had to do when we arrived was dash off to the shop to get some bleach and cleaning cloths - disgusting

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkidru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

after reading some reviews was slightly worried about coming to dawlish sands, but we have all had a amazing holiday, every time that i had to visit reception they where very helpful and polite to all of the family (even asking my 2 year old son how he got on at the crazy golf) the caravan was to a high spec, we only paid £210 for a week for a gold caravan (only £30 more than a bronze well worth it if you ask me) the entertainment was good every night we went down to the club, all in all i don't see anything that caused any of the issues that others experienced, we have stayed on better sites as to regards to things to do but if you want a quiet holiday then this park is fantastic kids loved every minute, also the benefit of being able to have internet in the caravan was a great bonus, will definitely book again,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelindup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
0.6 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
14.6 mi away
Landscove Holiday Park
Landscove Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Brixham
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Beverley Holidays
Beverley Holidays
#3 of 26 in Paignton
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Warren Road | Dawlish Warren, Dawlish EX7 0PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Dawlish
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The gently sloping golden sands of Dawlish Warren stretch out for more than 2 miles, providing an idyllic and safe haven for splashing about. Dawlish Sands is all about enjoying your holiday the way you want to. The entertainment is fantastic and you won’t need to drive anywhere in the evenings when wining and dining with your family. It’s all here in the perfect holiday hotspot! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park Hotel Dawlish
Dawlish Sands Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing