We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not bother going to Dawlish” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #4 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not bother going to Dawlish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Although this B&B was clean, if you can excuse the hairs in the bottom of the shower tray! There was a strong smell of stale fried food when you entered, after ringing the doorbell several times, there is a sign up giving phone no's to ring if no-one is in, not very welcoming & doesn't give a good first impression. The door was finally opened by another guest & after a further wait a lady came-possibly the cleaner, who then went off, leaving us to again sit & wait, she eventually returned with our room key, it was all very unfriendly & she didn't seem to be expecting us. Its a typical B&B, nothing special & the town of Dawlish leaves a great deal to be desired, it needs a complete overhall & unless you like chips & 'junk food' the choice of places to eat is shocking. We asked in a local shop for a reccommendation of a resturant & were told 'not around here'. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmiec014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We were obviously very disaapointed that these guests did not enjoy their stay with us or indeed Dawlish itself. Certainly "hairs in the shower tray" is not to our normal standard and we have tightened-up Housekeeping Procedures to guard against this.

The reference to stale food smells was somewhat puzzling. Clearly, one can smell breakfast cooking smells in the morning at breakfast time. However at all other times the Guest House is clean and fresh and most guest comment to this effect.

We note that there was no reference to breakfast and wonder if these guests did enjoy breakfast as most other guests do.

As for Dawlish - well it is a quiteish place and does not suit everyone. For those that need advise on where to eat we only recommend places that we know well, eat in ourselves and consider to be excellent or above average. There are several places that fit this description such as The Castle at Holcombe, Smugglers Inn in Dawlish, Swan Inn in Dawlish, Marine Tavern in Dawlish, Brunswick in Dawlish, Salamis in Dawlish, Hoi Shin in Dawlish, The Ship in ockwood, The Anchor in Cockwood, Mount Pleasant in Dawlish Warren, Fresco in Teignmouth, Rock'n Sole in Dawlish, Baileys Lounge in Dawlish, The Ugly Duckling in Dawlish, The Landsdowne in Dawlish and Cafe No 1 Bar in Dawlish.

We are always very pleased to offer Guests advice on places to eat, things to do and places to go.

Once again we are very sorry that these guests did not have a great experience in Dawlish.

Please do not be put off because a lot of people do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    41
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
39
142
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

lyme bay house is easy to find at the internett and when you send an email to them they called you up right away and had a talk to you and already there you felt welcome,
it`s easy to find, the train from london stops 300 meters from the hotell and have a wonderfull view down at the ocean and the town center is only 200 metes away.
The rooms are very nice with all the facillities that you need and we had the room next to the road but it was totaly silent.
And the breakfast was exellent ,jam, cereal, fresh fruit salad lot`s of different juices.
full english breakfast, scrambeled eggs everything made exactly the way you liked it.
our hosts Nikki and Ian are wonderfull people they really take care off you and you feel that you are staying with friends. I really recomend Lyme Bay House :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elpasoNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

we stayed for 2 nights and had a really nice break. We stayed in room 1 which has a bit of a sea view. the hotel is in a good location. Nikki, the owner was very welcoming.
The breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotswolds
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

The Lyme Bay Guest House was a great discovery. Happy to accommodate us and our two small children was a bonus as not all places are as willing! Hosts Nikki and Ian were very welcoming and friendly with excellent accommodation and with all facilities and amenities required. Wonderful breakfasts with plenty of choice and flexible serving hours if required. Its a pity there are not more places like this offering such a high standard but still maintaining a personal approach. Refreshing to find somewhere exceptionally clean and tidy and with parking for guests. Glad we found it and will definately be using it again along with The Smugglers Inn approximately 3/4 mile up the road where excellent food is served every day lunchtimes and evenings!

Helpful?
Thank thelewiscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#3 of 12 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Property: Lyme Bay House
Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing