We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #5 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although hubby and I were only able to stay 1 night, for a special anniversary, we booked the honeymoon suite and were delighted with it.
The service, friendliness, comfort and cleanliness of the place if second to none.
The breakfast was fabulous. All in all a great few days away. Thank you very much.

Room Tip: Treat yourselves to the honeymoon suite your worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roz141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks for spending your "special occasion" with us here in Dawlish and many thanks for your kind words.

We do hope to see you again in the near future - perhaps for a little longer next time - we hardly had time to get to know you.

Please note that we often have "3 for 2" Offers available in Winter months. Please just check three consecutive days on the booking section of our website - www.lymebaydawlish.co.uk - or call us on 01626-864211 to enquire.

Regards

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 262 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Thank you Nikki and Ian for a very relaxing stay. Nikki was immediately welcoming and so helpful with recommending places to visit in the surrounding area. The room (2) was uuber clean and very comfortable. The view from this room also is fabulous. The breakfast was amazing and they do not scrimp on portions, we ate at 9.30am and then again at 8.45pm and to be honest we were both still a little full.
Thanks again Nikki and Ian it was a perfect place to stay just before Christmas... Nicky and Nathan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Nicky and Nathan

Thank you very much for your complimentary comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your company.

For those that are planning on having lunch we do suggest ordering a smaller breakfast.

However, for those wanting to be set-up for the day we offer a wide range of freshly cooked items as well as fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts and Nikki's freshly prepared fruit salad.

Hope to see you both again soon!

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Nice comfortable and clean room for mother and adult daughter to share for a week while visiting relatives in Dawlish and Teignmouth. Great location, parking available and very close to railway station. Nicky and Ian are friendly and welcoming hosts. Very obliging when having to check out early hours to catch flight at Exeter - continental breakfast delivered the night before in thermos flasks. Excellent breakfasts served in downstairs breakfast room with wide range of choices. Very nice plunger coffee and huge assortment of gourmet jams etc. All round very good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we are ideally situated for exploring the area, not only Dawlish itself but also a wide area around us. Buses to Exeter and Newton Abbot stop right outside and the railway station is only 5 minutes walk away.

Exeter Airport is only 30 minutes away and we can arrange taxis if required.

We try to keep a good selection of jams and preserves, including reduced sugar ones, so we are very pleased that you enjoyed them so much.

Hopefully, we will see you again when you next come to the UK from Sydney, Australia.

Regards Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent place to stay. we booked room 2, lovely room, super clean, beautiful view and superb breakfast. Nicky recommended two restaurants, the Gurkha and Jack Sprats, great advice I would recommend these myself.
The hotel itself is situated close to the town centre, 3/4 minute walk, the views from our room and the terrace area are lovely. We made good use the local train station, the rail journey to Torquay is worth every penny as you wind along the coast enjoying the Devon coast.

Great stay top class

mark and Ali

Room Tip: Room 2, lovely view, four poster and plenty room to relax. Some appreciated extras like toiletries a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Yes Gurkha and Jack Spratt's are both well worth a visit.

You are right about the train ride from Exeter all the way to Newton Abbot and then on to Torquay. The ride firstly along the bank of the River Exe, then along the sea wall from Starcross to Dawlish Warren, Dawlish and Teignmouth followed by the last leg inland on the bank of the River Teign.

The short tunnels between Dawlish and Teignmouth are also part of the experience.

It is worth seeking-out the episode of Michael Portillo's TV program coast that featured this special railway journey created in the mid-19th C by Brunel and still well worth doing today.

As for Lyme Bay House, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us - many thanks for your complimentary remarks - we hope to see you again soon.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nikki welcomed us with a beaming smile as she helped us park! Splendid room, clean and loads of room (massive television) with a large bathroom. Nice to have a choice of drinks at hand in our room and the use of a fridge. Breakfasts were great, plenty of cereal and juices to choose from and a choice of cooked. Ian and Nikki always at hand to give advice on where to eat and what to do, with some useful directions/short cuts! The Smugglers Inn is a great place to eat if you fancy a stroll up the road, although some may find it a little too far, you won't be disappointed! Great to have the opportunity to enjoy a drink in the bar or chat to other guests in the very welcoming lounge area.
Lovely coastal walk to Dawlish Warren.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 with 4 poster bed! Nice sea view and loads of room! Although our room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

You are absolutely right about Smuggler's Inn - many of our guests go there at least once whilst they are with us. The good thing is the 1 mile walk is mostly downhill coming back. There are of course several other very good eating places a shorter walk near by. We are always pleased to offer advice if required.

The Four Poster Room is quite special and the bed very comfortable.

Guests are welcome to stock the mini-bar fridge with their own drinks if they prefer.

Thank you for participating in our lounge bar in the evening - it really does add something to the experience getting to chat to other guests. You can get to meet all sorts of interesting people.

We are so glad that everything was to your satisfaction and hope to see you again soon.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst walking part of the South West Coastal Path. Nikki is an excellent hostess, very friendly and helpful. My room was adequate for my needs, the en-suite bathroom would have benefited from a new shower rail and head but otherwise it was fine. The railway station is only a short distance away and it is close to the various other amenities in the town. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Dawlish at Lyme Bay House.

Thanks for drawing our attention to the shower rail and head. This has of course been rectified without delay.

Yes we are lucky to be so close to the town centre and its amenities. Both the railway station and bus stops for Newton and Exeter directions are very close by.

We have at least 6 good places to eat within walking distance. If you need some advice please just call or email us and we would be very pleased to make a few recommendations.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Having ready previous reviews I decided to take a chance on Lyme Bay House & I would honestly recommend this B&B to anyone.
Nikki made us feel welcomed from the moment we entered the building, the breakfast truly was delicious and the location is perfect.
100% recommend Lyme Bay House to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChloeJueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thanks very much for your kind comments. We really appreciate it when our guests are satisfied and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do recommend us to your friends!

We hope to see you again soon.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dawlish hotels
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
The  Coach  House
The Coach House
#4 of 12 in Dawlish
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#1 of 12 in Dawlish
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
Welcome Family Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Lammas Park House
Lammas Park House
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: $98 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing