We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and close to the Station”
Review of Lyme Bay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyme Bay House
Ranked #6 of 12 Dawlish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Chose Lyme Bay House because it was close to the station and all the good reviews, Nikki went out of her way to make us comfortable, the room was warm and altho close to the road (our choice) there was no problem with traffic noise.
No problem recomending it to anyone.

Room Tip: On an incline, no real problem walking to town something to bear in mind if you've restricted mo...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Yes we are ideally situated for the station and only a short 5 minute walk. For anyone with restricted mobility there are always taxis at the station.

Many of our guests arrive by train and then use both the trains and buses to explore the area.

For anyone living in a town or city the road noise is minor by comparison even for the room closest to the main road. For any really light sleepers we do have rooms well away from the road.

Thanks for your comments. Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Lyme Bay House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 258 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Despite Ian and Nikki only being back off their holiday for one hour when we arrived, we had such an excellent welcome. The room and surrouding area was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. We would reccomend this hotel to other holiday makers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Many thanks for your kind comments.

It was really no problem – having had a few very relaxing weeks off we were both pleased to get back to looking after our customers.

Nikki & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Lyme bay house and had a really nice night. We have stayed many times at Lyme bay house before but this time we took are children. Nikki and Ian were so helpful in sorting out the beds for us and going out there way to make it a special stay for us all at short notice. Nikki and Ian only getting back from holiday themselves in the day, sorted the room for us and waited up for us to arrive down on the night. Nikki and Ian are always so welcoming and make your stay memorable. Jordan and Daniel are children loved the stay and they didn't want to leave. Great breakfast as always and room was great and the kids loved waking up to the sea view. Thanks again Nikki and Ian for great stay see you again soon. From Anthony, Caroline,jordan,Daniel.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suit lovely room with sea view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ianjohnscott, Owner at Lyme Bay House, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Anthony, Caroline, Jordan & Daniel, it was lovely to see you again and once again many thanks for your compliments we really do appreciate the feedback.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Nikki and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Lyme Bay Hotel and we had a lovely time. Nikki and Ian were great hosts!
As soon as Nikki found out it was our wedding anniversary we were ushered to the four poster room, (which I hadn't booked!) at no extra cost.
The room and hotel was lovely, clean and welcoming, and the breakfast was great with homemade preserves too!
We recommend the hotel to anyone looking to get away and relax.

Thank you to both of you. Regards Paula & Stephen Nr Bath.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulafitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lyme Bay House is a spotless, comfy and homely guest house. Breakfast was excellent and the hospitality was brillant. Room was very nice. Dawlish and surrounding area is ideal for a relaxing break. Nikki is a great host and very helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

last week we stayed at lyme bay house in dawlish it was the first time.we had been thehospitlity was wounderful and the breakfast was great rooms where spotless will come again thank you nikki. from maureen and jim. chipping campden.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our Stay with our friends Richard & Rosemarie was excellent, we had a very friendly host in Nikiya and she made us all feel very welcome and at home; the rooms were very good and the breakfast also, All the staff were friendly, and it was in an ideal position, to walk into Dawlish at night for Dinner, or a few minutes up the Hill to The Smugglers Inn which was very good as well, in all we had a lovely five day break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dawlish
1.4 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
711 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffden Hotel
Cliffden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Teignmouth
247 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
3.5 mi away
Royal Beacon Hotel
Royal Beacon Hotel
#5 of 11 in Exmouth
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyme Bay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyme Bay House

Address: 34 West Cliff, Dawlish EX7 9DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dawlish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Dawlish
Price Range: $95 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyme Bay House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lyme Bay House is quality family run Bed and Breakfast. It is a 4 Star Visit England Guest House located in the picturesque South Devon resort of Dawlish. We are renowned for our hospitality and sumptuous freshly cooked breakfasts, tastefully appointed spotlessly clean rooms and extremely comfortable beds.All rooms are En-Suite and have Flat Screen TVs with Freeview. Lyme Bay House is situated within a very short walk to Dawlish Town Centre, Dawlish Railway Station, a National Express bus stop and Stagecoach bus stops. We are within a few minutes walk from Dawlish Beach, Brunel’s famous sea-front railway viaduct, the Black Swans of Dawlish and The Lawn & Gardens. The same Dawlish that was much loved by amongst others, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie and the poet John Keats. Just a short stroll away there are shops, Tea Rooms, Coffee Shops, the famous Gay’s Creamery and several pubs. Lyme Bay House is an ideal location for train-spotting, golf, cycling, walking and bird watching. It is also very central for exploring the area by car, train or bus including Exeter, Powderham, Starcross, Cockwood, Dawlish Warren, Dawlish, Holcombe, Teignmouth, Shaldon, Newton Abbot, The Teign Valley and Dartmoor. Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains.Alternatively, you may be on business and welcome an alternative to the national hotel chains. We are only 25 minutes by car and even less by train from Exeter. If you want to simply get away for a while and relax Lyme Bay House has a comfortable Lounge and Reception area where you are welcome to relax and read or watch the 42” Flat Screen TV. We also have a Fully Licensed Bar. Lyme Bay House has its own on-site Car Park with a space for every room at no additional charge. We also offer free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lyme Bay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyme Bay House Dawlish, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing