We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Widecombe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights Luxury ensuite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Luxury ensuite bedroom
View From the Terrace
Widecombe Cottage - Widecombe in the Moor - Luxury Accommodation -  great walks from the Door
Sunny South facing terrace in the private garden
Hand made oak Kitchen
Slendid quiet country location but only a short walk to the village and pub
Wine always provided
Large deep bath and fluffy towels
Hand made in oak - King size bed and dressing table
Winter in Widecombe
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ravelini1...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights, celebrating her 30th birthday.

The cottage was a delight!! Perfect size for a couple, cosy feel to the place with fantastic views over the Moors.
An evening in front of the log burner was just lovely and romantic.
On arrival we were greeted with a bottle of wine and some very tasty fresh eggs.

Two very local pubs both within walking distant, and of course the Moors themselves.
We took a long walk on our second day, over the Moors seeing plenty of wild animals and of course finishing off with lunch in one of the pubs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan R
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very beautiful area”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had 4 nights here and found the cottage had all the conveniences of home. Weather wasn't that great but we didn't let that stop us. We walked in the moors in the drizzle (with an umbrella). You can get details of 5 short walks from the National trust centre in Widecombe. We loved the area, the scenery, the ponies, goats and sheep which seem to roam anywhere in the moors. Also did a day trip to Port Isacc where Doc Martin is filmed.
We enjoyed the serenity of the cottage, the cake, wine and eggs supplied by the owners. No phone or Internet reception at the cottage itself but isn't that the makings of a true break!
Would love to visit again one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for the great review, just to clarify though we do have internet reception in the cottage, thanks Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2015uk
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second stop in the UK and words can't describe how amazing it was. We've driven all over the moors and a lot of Devon and the location of this is definitely in one of the most picturesque and quintessential English villages to be found. As if the perfect location wasn't adequate, Richard and Becks went out of their way to welcome us, talk with us about the local area AND bake a beautiful sponge cake on arrival. And the cottage was just perfect.. Everything we needed for comfort and convenience. Beautifully furnished and very homely. Wonderful wonderful wonderful...some incredible memories we will take back to Australia after our stay here. Thank you so much Richard and Becks

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
You are very welcome, it was a pleasure to meet you both and get to know you over some drinks in the pub!
Really glad you enjoyed your stay and that you did manage to meet some of the cast from the series Doc Martin!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tourist68...
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a truly beautiful, warm, cosy cottage in a wonderful location. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, and we found a home-made cake and fresh eggs waiting for us in the kitchen. The owners Richard and Becks were very helpful, but also gave us plenty of privacy. Murphy the cat is the star of the show, as well as the enchanting land that is Dartmoor. Highly recommended! The only issue we had was that we had no internet access, as the the hub for the property had ceased to work. We ended up walking to the enchanting Old Inn in the village to get online, instead. I am sure it will be fixed asap.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 22, 2017
Thank you Clark for such a lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We can not apologise enough for the inernet breaking during your stay, the parts arrived yesterday and all is back to normal ready for your next stay as Murphy is missing you both very much!

Rich and Becks'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petethefi...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden piece of Devon heaven”
Reviewed November 28, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

i booked this charming cottage for a rare weekend break with my better half. The cottage is easy to find and with amenities such as a wood burner, deep double bath and walking distance to the local, a restful weekend was assured. We were warmly greeted by Becks on arrival, who opened the gate and directed us to the cottage parking space. Farm fresh eggs and a pint of milk "its in a real glass bottle!" were most welcome and put to use at breakfast. The cottage is really well appointed with quality appliances and furnishings throughout. The heating is controlled well with room thermostats but I found the wood burner warmed the rooms even quicker. After a walk to the Ruddlestone for dinner and a restful nights sleep we spent Saturday exploring the moors before returning for a cosy night in. This place exceeded my expectations and I'd happily visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2016
Thank you Peter, and if you come to stay for a week Becks' will make you one of her famous sponge cakes, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay. Make it longer next time if you can. Thanks again for the kind words - Richard and Becks'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kootenayl...
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Perfect place for two”
Reviewed November 25, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

First find your cottage!! Regrettably the Dartmoor Park authorities will not allow the owners to put up any signs on the road - so here are your directions. Find LOWER VENTON FARM (which is the next group of buildings along from the riding stables). There is a red post box on the corner. Drive into the farm yard which is round the back of the main farm house . Then drive straight on and you will see a wooden gate in front with Lower Venton Farm Cottages on it. Go through the gate. The owners house is on your right and Widdecombe Cottage is at the far end on the left. Has everything you need. Superbly clean and comfortable. Wonderful log fire and a very comfy bed. Lots of light and a superb garden with views to die for at the back. All mod coms. Lashings of piping hot water. A wonderful restful retreat from all things stressful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
Thankyou for the kind words and help for future visitors

Kind Regards

Richard and Becks'
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing