We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Oak Barn is probably the most luxurious...”
other travelers have booked this property
Widecombe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights Luxury ensuite bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Widecombe Cottage
Comfy lounge with log burner for those chillier nights
Luxury ensuite bedroom
View From the Terrace
Widecombe Cottage - Widecombe in the Moor - Luxury Accommodation -  great walks from the Door
Sunny South facing terrace in the private garden
Hand made oak Kitchen
Slendid quiet country location but only a short walk to the village and pub
Wine always provided
Large deep bath and fluffy towels
Hand made in oak - King size bed and dressing table
Winter in Widecombe
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
The Local Pub a one Fifth of a mile down a sleepy Lane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
andrew_gr...
Moray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Oak Barn is probably the most luxurious holiday house we've ever experienced”
Reviewed November 4, 2009 for a stay in September 2009

The owners have hand crafted every detail to create probably the most luxurious holiday house ever experienced, which is fresh and modern, and yet has the character which comes with exposed oak beams, and is ideally located in the beautiful and tranquil heart of the Dartmoor Park. We were privileged to be Richard and Lesley’s first guests to enjoy the 5-star luxury of their stunningly rebuilt & restored Oak Barn, with its vast open plan living space, with top quality, solid hand made furniture, and yet opulent fabrics, cozy underfloor heating, and a log fire to top it all. The 2 bathrooms / wet rooms (en suite) can rival top spa’s, with free-standing baths, plus a sauna. The kitchen is fully equipped (complete with a couple of cases of wine), and if you can glance away from the gorgeous view over the rolling landscape, the living area is fitted with a large screen TV, Blue-Ray player (with dozens of DVD’s) and i-Pod connecting Hi-Fi. We loved Richard’s accomplishment on the Oak Barn so much we asked him to build us a house just the same. Just book it, its fantastic.
Andrew & Grant

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CheshireL...
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful, luxurious, restful I cannot recommend this highly enough”
Reviewed June 7, 2009 for a stay in May 2009

This place exceeded my expectations even with the fantastic reviews already on trip advisor. The weather was good so was able to take advantage of large south facing lawn looking over dartmoor ponies in the fields beyond. The cottage itself is finished to such a high standard and it is all the little touches such as home baked bread and eggs from the hens that makes it extra special. There are lots of walks and lovely things to see nearby and the local pub (Rugglestone Inn)serves a mean fish pie and really is only 3 mins walk which was perfect.
We switched off and relaxed which is all you can ask for a holiday - thanks to Richard and Lesley for their helpful but unintrusive presence and for recommending a beach which had a shop selling fresh seafood which we had on a barbeque on the beach - it was great!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newlyweds...
Solihull
1 review
“Perfect Honeymoon....”
Reviewed March 25, 2009 for a stay in March 2009

What a great place for a honeymoon, to get away from it all after a hetic few days. Very high quality cottage which has everything you need in it. Great pubs (Rugglestone & The Old Inn) within easy walking distance. If you like walking and being outdoors this is the place to go. Richard and Lesley (owners) were very friendly and helpful, we even ended up staying longer than we should of - I think that says it all....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotty200...
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic, romantic, luxurious...”
Reviewed March 11, 2009 for a stay in December 2008

My husband and I stayed here for ten days over Christmas and New Year 2008 into 2009. I haven't slept so well in ages! Loved the quality of the finish, fixtures and fittings. The location is second to none, and the cottage is ideally placed for exploring Dartmoor and all it has to offer. You can walk the half a mile to the fab Rugglestone Inn for great food and beer, or cook in the very well-equipped kitchen using produce from the many local producers and suppliers. We were here in the middle of winter and it was toasty warn, but in the summer it would be a total sun-trap. Just beautiful and have already recommended it to many others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam_Baldr...
London
2 reviews
“Very Romantic”
Reviewed November 24, 2008 for a stay in October 2008

We stayed in Widecombe Cottage whilst visiting Widecombe in the Moor . We only stayed for a weekend, but could have stayed much longer - but we had to get back to London. Widecombe cottage is a beautiful little cottage ideal for a romantic getaway to the countryside. Set in the rolling hills of Dartmoor , the cottage is 5 star and self catering . It has been recently furnished to an exceptional standard , has a great log fire and living space downstairs with a great kitchen. Upstairs is a very cosy double bedroom and bathroom. Mr Richard Code and his lovely wife were only too happy to help us with advice on walks or activities to pursue - we really hope to return v soon . Thankyou.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Proximity to Riding Facilities , High Quality fixtures fittings and furniture
Liked least: No Shower - only a bath
Visit was for: Romantic getaway
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frimar
de meern
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ikke1980
Nederland
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing