We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace beauty and a friendly welcome.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Yonder Shippon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
The armchairs and woodburner
The bedroom
The kitchen
Shopping in Ashburton
Houndtor
River Dart
A Dartmoor river
A view of the moor
Haytor in the distance
A wintry Dartmoor day
A Dartmoor pony in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lynda H
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peace beauty and a friendly welcome.”
Reviewed August 13, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We spent a week in this charming cottage. Small but very well equipped so everything you need. Beds and linen were very comfortable and of good quality which is not always the case in self catering accommodation so we really appreciated this. The location was perfect for us, close to everything we wanted to do and see with a beautiful view outside your door. We met Stephen who was really helpful with directions and suggestions of places to visit. Didn't get to meet Fiona but did meet their delightful daughter Eugenie. The family are close enough if you need them but you are very self contained so they don't disturb you at all. Would love to go back, maybe in the colder months to see just how cosy it is it with the log burner going. The area is stunning but be prepared to breath in when driving through some of the lanes!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor H
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed July 1, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

After 4 nights in this quiet isolated and wonderful cottage we didn't want to go home. Fiona,Stephen and Eugenie were all very welcoming. Bella, Archie and the new pups were frequent visitors much to Alf's delight. If you're looking for peace and quiet in a superb location Yonder Shippon is an absolute must.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review hope you will be back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B R
1 review
“Ideal quiet place for 2”
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Set in a lovely small farm with amazing views in a lovely part of Dartmoor only a few minutes walk from Hamel Down hill..
Very nicely fitted out with all you need including a log fire which we didn't use because the weather was so hot!!
Note if you are a TV addict there isn't one.........a big plus for us.
A lovely welcome from VERY friendly and helpful owners for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Ideal for 1 or 2 wanting a quiet place to stay.
We don't ride but they might be able to help out with that too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, well equipped, lovely helpful people with a good knowledge of the area.”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Located in the centre of Dartmoor YONDER SHIPPON really was home from home, with the help of Stephen's maps and knowledge, getting around wasn't a problem, there was plenty of attractions nearby and everyone was so friendly, and Widecombe in the Moor really was a beautiful village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thank you for your review
Hope to see you both again !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess008
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Dartmoor, staying at this wonderful little cottage/barn conversion.

Our hosts Stephen & Fiona were so welcoming & made us feel very at home for the week.

The barn, as others have said is quite small, but is so well equipped, clean & cosy that this only adds to its charm. We stayed as a couple with our Whippet & this was ample space for us. Plus the location is incredible. It’s set right on the edge of a very pretty farm & you are surrounded by wonderful scenery.

A great base to relax & enjoy some peace & quiet in a beautiful part of the country.

We can also recommend The Rugglestone Inn, The Old Inn & The Cafe on The Green (best cream tea here)!

Thank you Stephen & Fiona, it was very hard to leave!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonPratt
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Just as lovely second time around!”
Reviewed May 7, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This is the second visit we have made here and we love it. There is nowhere like Dartmoor in Spring to get a sense of a landscape that has not been seriously damaged by human activity and retains its ancient sense of history and if you value that this is a great little treasure to stay in. Not much space but none wasted and all you could possibly want. Second timer around I have worked out how the hob works. Great eggs from "Lennie" - hope I have got that right! Buy some before you go!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing