We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet cottage with beautiful views over...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Yonder Shippon

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The armchairs and woodburner
The bedroom
The kitchen
Shopping in Ashburton
Houndtor
River Dart
A Dartmoor river
A view of the moor
Haytor in the distance
A wintry Dartmoor day
A Dartmoor pony in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Michael T
1 review
“Quiet cottage with beautiful views over surrounding countryside”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Charming, well-appointed and laid out cottage. Very comfortable for two people. Great large bed and good shower. Cottage has wifi but no TV (which we didn't miss). If you are driving a large car, you should access the cottage from the north (Widecombe) as the road to it from the south is VERY narrow and awkward.
Stephen very friendly and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rbw49mob
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

As two teachers, this provided everything we needed for the perfect half term. Plenty of peace and quiet, a wood burner, doorstep walks, a comfy bed and yet more peace and quiet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliafoza...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy little cottage to escape from the world”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We were delighted to find this little cottage for our short weekend break in Dartmoor. It was easy to find and we had a friendly welcome by Stephen and Fiona, who were super helpful for our entire stay. The cottage was perfectly laid out, with everything you may need and we absolutely loved the logburner which heated up the whole cottage until the morning when we awoke!
The location is fantastic, being near all the major Tors and easy to plan walks from.
This place is perfect for a romantic retreat, for those who want to get away from it all, and for those who love the outdoors and going on some great hikes.....or you can just sit by the logburner with a glass of wine ;)
Will definitely be back, and will recommend to all our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storytell...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Christmas week”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just loved it- from the log-burner to the well-equipped kitchen, everything had been carefully considered and perfectly set up for our week over Christmas. Our hosts were friendly & helpful, and it was fascinating to hear their perspective on farming and all sorts of other interesting topics. Yonder Shippon was the perfect base, we enjoyed walking from the cottage and a short drive got us to all sorts of interesting places, and friends and family nearby. Thank you Steve and Fiona for everything. We hope to come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SadieC32
1 review
“Cozy Dartmoor getaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful New Year's weekend break at Yonder Shippon. The location and decor was exactly what we wanted: quiet and calm, beautifully presented and super cozy by the wood-burner - especially welcome on a cold December evening! Stephen was a great host, making sure we had everything we needed and could find our way around. The dogs coming to see us in the morning were a welcome sight too! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Dartmoor getaway”
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Such a lovely cottage set in the beautiful Dartmoor countryside. It was easy to get to with a satnav and close to many of the trail-heads across the park. The cottage itself was very cozy, perfect for a single traveler or couple's getaway. All the furnishings and fittings were to a high standard, the owners have obviously put in a lot of care into refurbishing the building.

I had a bit of trouble operating the wood stove, but Stephen was very kind and helped me the first evening.

I would highly recommend this place if you want to escape the city or explore Dartmoor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing