We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best family holiday EVER!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Widecombe in the Moor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holwell Holiday Cottages
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best family holiday EVER!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a beautiful place. Miles of rolling countryside, and a genuine 5* cottage with breathtaking views.

The kids had a great time on the farm, and even got to collect the eggs and feed the animals! Lots to do in the local area too! The owners, Philippa and Sebastian, couldnt be more helpful.

We will definitely be returning to Holwell next year.... its the ideal family holiday!

Room Tip: Hay Tor has amazing views and a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skelly972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

In May we spent our second trip this year to Holwell and we are already booked in for an autunm retreat. We love the walks, the fresh air and spectacular views. As an owner of two dogs I can also say this must be one of the most dog friendly places in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherrSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padstow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

“We have just returned from the most amazing riding holiday at Holwell. I was surfing the net looking for places to stay with horses on Dartmoor and as soon as I came across Holwell, I knew I just had to go!



Although we were really looking forward to our holiday and it all sounded so perfect, I was worried that it may not live up to our expectations. I needn’t have worried. Not only is Holwell a rider’s paradise but from the moment we arrived, we felt so welcome and Philippa and Sebastian were so accommodating to our needs, helping out in any way they could to make us as happy as possible. I had a slow puncture and they sorted everything out for me, contacting the local garage and sorting it all out.



On arrival, our horses were put in a lovely field, right by the super smart stable yard with everything you could want. We didn’t need the stables as it was summer and ours are living out but if you did want a stable, they are first class.



Just when we thought things couldn’t get better, our accommodation in Hay Tor was even better than it looks in the pictures on the web site and had everything you could possibly want; really comfortable beds, comfy sofas, well equipped kitchen and power showers, but the best bit was, as we are completely horse mad, the Stable Door (!) out on to the terrace, where we enjoyed breakfast and early evening drinks soaking up the incredible views and planning our ride for the next day.



If you are looking for a truly perfect riding holiday, then Holwell is the place to go. The riding is unsurpassed and not hard to find your way around as the Tors help you keep your bearings. We took a photocopy of the OS map which I had marked in advance (Philippa was very kind and helped us plan our routes) and we didn’t get lost once (mainly down to Lilli’s great map reading skills – I was in a trance most of the time, not believing we were actually doing this!).



The best thing about the riding from Holwell is that there is such diversity, one minute you are on the Moor, then you are in magical woods, or along picturesque bridleways that seem to go on forever. We took picnics on every ride and would have ridden all day, every day but we only took one horse each! We rode at all different times of the day and wherever we went it was quiet, even on the very small stretches of Devon country lanes. It was so peaceful. It was perfect”.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyandMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A stunning, working farm with personalities to ensure our stay was maximised to the limit. Peter the farm manager could not do enough to show the kids around the farm and the animals too; pigs, geese, hens, ducks, donkeys, dogs, horses and his favourite, the cows (& the ram who thinks he's a cow) - who he talked to (and them back). Sebastian with his very dry sense of humour was superb, as was Philippa his long suffering wife !! The farm is beautifully presented and the animals approachable and accessible. The location is stunning with views up towards the "tors" and positioned perfectly to explore the "moor", yet accessible to Widdecome (the closest hamlet) just 2 miles away. The accomodation was presented beautifully internally with space galore; the donkeys even came to see us when the gates were left open ! A fabulous experience which we plan to repeat as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPW1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed in the Hounds Tor Cottage for 1 week, a beautiful renovated old building which was originally a stable for the horses. The interior is of high quality and lots of beautiful original details. Even on rainy days it's a pleasure to stay. The farm is situated in the middle of Dartmoor national park. You can walk to the Tors and enjoy the beautiful nature , especially in spring when wild flowers coloured the hills purple. The farm is huge, a lot of ground and space for the animals. It is a pleasure to see pigs enjoying there mud bath. In the end the pigs will go the butchery, but the welfare for these animals during their live is really amazing and an example for other pigfarms. The meat you get from the butchery is very tasty. It is a very quit place, no sound, no traffic at all. We loved it even our 3 teenage children, they didn't even care that there was no mobile phone connection possible.

M.Bierens
The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbierens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Unique valley location in the centre of Dartmoor with 5 Star luxury in converted farm buildings. An oasis of peace, walk through hillsides of bluebells, watch the cows and pigs munch contently before following the primrose path beside the stream. Homegrown produce is delicious. When the sun shines this is as good as it gets in England.

Room Tip: All the cottages have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espuntarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2011

The cottages are in an idyllic setting close to Widecombe in the Moor. We stayed in
Saddle Tor Cottage which is extremely spacious and has every conceivable amenity, from the kitchen diner to the TV lounge with its glowing log fire.

The Bedrooms with en suite bathrooms are also very spacious and comfortable.

Our hosts, the Hughes family are very hospitable and nothing is too much trouble for them.

We enjoyed our stay very much and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy_langham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widecombe in the Moor
4.4 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
972 reviews
7.7 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,026 reviews
7.6 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holwell Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holwell Holiday Cottages

Property: Holwell Holiday Cottages
Address: | Holwell Farm, Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 7TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Widecombe in the Moor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Widecombe in the Moor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holwell Holiday Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of 5 Star Luxury Self Catering Cottages located in a magnificent setting in the heart of the Dartmoor National Park, Devon, South West England. Stunning scenery all around and wonderful walking, riding, climbing, fishing etc. Families and dogs very welcome. even horses welcome too; something for everyone, all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holwell Holiday Cottages Widecombe In The Moor, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing