We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at prince hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Hall Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Took my wife for dinner at prince hall hotel ...."..all I can say is the food is amazing sooooooooo good the research I done on prince hall before we went told me they are in the Michelin guide why have u no star ...........highly recommended!

Room Tip: Don't just turn up for a meal in restaurant you need to book first for restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livinglegend46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 329 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Another stay in this lovely small hotel! We have visited many times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. The food is superb and the location perfect. You can leave the car for a couple of days and have lovely walks right from the door, arriving back to a lovely warm welcome of afternoon tea or drinks from the bar - still enjoying the wonderful views. Its great that dogs are so welcomed there too, although felt on this visit that anyone without a dog may not feel quite the same as there seemed to be a few wandering around without leads on which could be off putting for some people (and this comes from a dog lover!) The staff are always very welcoming and friendly and its a delight to go back there everytime.!

Room Tip: Moor view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in August after a 5 day kayak trip. We were looking for total R and R and this is what we found. Great sitting room to relax, read and play board games. Fab cream teas. We dined in the hotel one night (the other we ate in The Rugglestone Inn, great). The food was good but portions were small for 4 ravenous kayakers. One of us also had a massage organised by the hotel and it was excellent. We were dog less in a dog friendly hotel but this only added to the charm and enjoyment. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Title of my review says it all really. We're back home from a seven day stay and we all wish we were still there - Paulo, our dog, probably most of all (he thought he'd moved there). Food wonderful, location wonderful, room (Houndtor) wonderful. The variable shower water pressure was just part of the experience - if we'd wanted a boutique hotel with all mod cons in a city we would have booked that...
All hotels call their customers "guests" but this is the only hotel I've stayed in that I actually felt like a guest rather than a customer. It's not "cheap", but you don't get excellence and refinement by being cheap. It was well worth it and we will be back.

Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: Moor view rooms - you get moor of a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MojoPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have passed this hotel numerous times over the years, commented that we must try it some time but never actually done so. Today we did.

A pot holey track leads you up to Prince Hall and a small parking area thats slightly difficult to manoeuvre in especially if you have a large car. The views are stunning; rolling green Devon fields, sheep and a stream in the distance all encased in a lovely air of peace.
Stepping inside the feel is welcoming, tranquil and comfortable more like entering a friend's house than the formality of a hotel.

The dining-room is small but bright, looks newly decorated, simple and smart. Black and white photos of sheep surround you as you eat and the two windows treat the diner to those wonderful vistas. I started with a pea and mint soup, very nice though needed seasoning. The main of venison was really good, beautifully presented and cooked to perfection, my husband's grey mullet, (and I'm not referring to his hair!), was just as good. For dessert, always my favourite part of the meal, I went for the dark chocolate mousse which came complete with little chocolate spoon (this proved a little messy to eat as the only way to eat it was with my hands). Really good mousse with a slight, but very appealing, grainy quality to it and again perfect presentation.

All in all a truly lovely meal in perfect surroundings. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TheVoicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Wow, what a fantastic week we had :) I wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were all amazing & nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts & evening meals were heavenly, thankfully we did lots of walking to try & work off some of it!! Bob, our puppy, had a wonderful time & was made to feel at home & nothing was too much trouble for him or my husband & I. Couldn't think of a more beautiful setting to celebrate our 1s wedding anniversary & we cannot wait to return again very soon

Room Tip: We stayed in Haytor which had stunning views over the moors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Once again another fabulous visit to the Prince Hall Hotel. On our arrival we were greeted by Fi and the dogs, Portia, Polo and Ce Ce, (Ce Ce being the new addition whom we saw last year at 5 days old!). Tea and Devonshire cookies on the lawn, over looking Dartmoor, were delightful. The service from Fi, Judith, Dan, Laura, Harriett and the rest of the team were second to none as always. The food, wine and service is of the highest quality and much of the food is locally produced.
Prince Hall really is the perfect spot, there is nothing negative to say....without a doubt this Hotel is a little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.1 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,125 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,456 reviews
10.2 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
12.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
416 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hall Country House

Address: Nr Princetown | Devon, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Price Range: $170 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Hall Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Hall Country House is set in the very heart of Dartmoor National Park with its breath-taking scenery. Hands-on owner Chris Daly, and his team are dedicated to offering you exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine in a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, at no extra charge for up to 2 four legged friends. The hotel is open to non residents for morning coffee, light lunches, afternoon teas and dinner and is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Prince Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hall Country House Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing