We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and great for dog lovers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Hall Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A really great hotel and in a beautiful spot. We stayed for two nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. Dinner was fabulous. They are so welcoming of dogs and would highly recommend it if you want to bring your furry friend along. Lots to do in Dartmoor if you like the outdoors and walking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

We at Prince Hall would like to thank you for the kind words and review posted, I can assure you the whole team will be motivated and thankful, We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests as it inspires us to improve what we do for future returning clients to which we hope you visit us again in the near future once again thank you,

Kindest regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 327 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited Prince Hall over the May Bank Holiday. It was our first time visiting the hotel and Dartmoor and we hugely impressed with the service, location, and food. Prince Hall is positioned in the heart of Dartmoor, more sheep than cars and it is peaceful, quite and serene. Our room had a view of the Moors that was incredibly and the room was large and quite comfortable. We werent planning on taking all our meals at the hotel, but enjoyed the food so much we ended up eathing in the resturant every night. The best thing though was how kind and wonderful the staff are. The locaton and hotel is upscale without being snobbish. Our dogs were welcomed with open arms and we loved having a cup of tea in the bar with our pets. The open space makes it a great location for dogs to roam free and even though our older dog who has arthirtis had no issues walking on the paths. I would recommend Prince Hall has an excellent place for pets, people and relaxing. We look forward to another "family" visit to this great hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the Moor View. Definately worth it. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are delici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Be7th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Prince Hall hotel, your comments are very much appreciated and the whole team will be grateful for them. We at Prince Hall are continually Learning and improving what we do to provide the best small country house experience for all our clients benefit. We do hope that you choose to return at Prince Hall again in the future

Kindest regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Prince Hall is an unassuming country hotel with a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The views are spectacular, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and slightly eclectic. Just what we ordered! We brought our elderly (although very spry) grandparents their for a treat, overnight, and they were delighted. My gran was particularly taken with Fi the owner and of course, the copious amount of pampered dog guests and residents was delightful. In terms of service it was impeccable. Owner was delightful and couldn't do enough for us, the staff were friendly, professional, and happy! It was incredibly clean, and I have dogs so I know what a feat that is! The food was exceptional in every respect both in creativity and quality of ingredients. It was also incredibly well prepared and presented. Our room was lovely, the bed a bit hard for my taste, but that is just my taste. You must spend some time in the lounge sampling the artisan liqueurs and spirits. There are stories behind every one and a delicious change of pace. We also had an afternoon cream tea, the quintessential Devon experience for all visitors and it was divine. I can't recommend this hotel, and the experience, enough. We enjoyed ourselves as did our grandparents and we will recommend it to others... in fact I did, just this morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, Services and experience that you had whilst at the hotel. Your comments and review will be distributed among the staff who i,m sure will be motivated by them. We are glad you had a great time here at the hotel and we look forward to your return again soon,

Best wishes Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here. From the word go we felt welcome and in a relaxed environment. The quality of the room and the food was amazing. Our dog was also very welcome and the walking around here is second to none. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you from the whole team at prince-hall we appreciate your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found everything to your liking. We hope you return in the near future to the hotel and can provide an even more relaxing and pleasing break

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently returned to Prince Hall for 3 nights, having had a great stay earlier in the year. I am pleased to say it was all just as wonderful..........room, food, service and general ambiance. Our 2 labradors were with us and my wife and I agree, this is the most dog friendly hotel we know. Thank you to all the team for a totally relaxed time, we will definately be back !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 535barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

thank you for taking the time to review Prince-hall hotel and thank you for your most positive comments, i can assure you the whole team will be very motivated by them. We are continually improving and striving to provide the most relaxing small country house hotel experience for both our guests and our four legged friends we look forward to having you return in the near future

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday evening, and could not fault it in the slightest !, the ambiance is just perfect and the location beautifull.
The evening meal was out of yhis world huge credit to the chef in the kitchen attention to detail is second to none from the appitizers in the lounge to the cheese platter in the bar perfect finish to a lovely meal !!
The rooms are large, warm and very spacious with views over the moors absolutle luxury in every form !
Breakfast again faultless very satisfying with lots of options to choose from.
Big thanks to the staff, Judith, Sam, Hilary, fi, Chris and the amazing chefs !!
Overall a massive 5***** highly recommended, don't miss out on this beautifull hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector78r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the comments and compliments about the hotel and the team, i assure you they are even more eager to improve and provide the ultimate dinning experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your birthday experience and look forward to your return in the near future,

regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We didn't expect to find food quite like that on Dartmoor! No offense to Dartmoor, but it was truly fabulous..perfect, freshly-made and certainly not run-of-the-mill canapes in the lounge, followed by a glorious amuse bouche, and then three sensational, beautifully presented courses to write home about. Take a look at the dessert photo for a clue. Absolutely fantastic value at around £40 a head.
And the breakfast was wonderful too. How's a homemade fishcake with sun blush tomatoes and local bacon for something a bit different?
We received a very warm welcome and terrific service at this lovely, characterful hotel with its gorgeous views.
The restaurant is open to non-residents by the way. Go! Now!

Room Tip: We'd pick a moor view any day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for you comments and compliments on the food. We are continually training and improving our menus and food at prince hall as we pride ourselves very high on this as part of the Princehall experience. We hope you enjoyed the whole overall experience and look forward to your return to Princehall, i can assure you the whole team are even more motivated by your comments

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.1 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,106 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glazebrook House Hotel
Glazebrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in South Brent
351 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
409 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hall Country House

Address: Nr Princetown | Devon, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Price Range: $111 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Hall Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Hall Country House is set in the very heart of Dartmoor National Park with its breath-taking scenery. Hands-on owner Chris Daly, and his team are dedicated to offering you exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine in a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, at no extra charge for up to 2 four legged friends. The hotel is open to non residents for morning coffee, light lunches, afternoon teas and dinner and is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hall Country House Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing