We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
252
60
26
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hotelcream teadining roomdog towelshomely feeldog treatsbiscuitsdrawing roomfresh milkstone bridgeopen firesecond to noneother guestswine listwonderful settingbreakfast and dinnersuperb food
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 350 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Prince Hall is an unassuming country hotel with a very relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. The views are spectacular, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and slightly eclectic. Just what we ordered! We brought our elderly (although very spry) grandparents their for a treat, overnight, and they were delighted. My gran was particularly taken with Fi the owner and of course, the copious amount of pampered dog guests and residents was delightful. In terms of service it was impeccable. Owner was delightful and couldn't do enough for us, the staff were friendly, professional, and happy! It was incredibly clean, and I have dogs so I know what a feat that is! The food was exceptional in every respect both in creativity and quality of ingredients. It was also incredibly well prepared and presented. Our room was lovely, the bed a bit hard for my taste, but that is just my taste. You must spend some time in the lounge sampling the artisan liqueurs and spirits. There are stories behind every one and a delicious change of pace. We also had an afternoon cream tea, the quintessential Devon experience for all visitors and it was divine. I can't recommend this hotel, and the experience, enough. We enjoyed ourselves as did our grandparents and we will recommend it to others... in fact I did, just this morning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, Services and experience that you had whilst at the hotel. Your comments and review will be distributed among the staff who i,m sure will be motivated by them. We are glad you had a great time here at the hotel and we look forward to your return again soon,

Best wishes Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here. From the word go we felt welcome and in a relaxed environment. The quality of the room and the food was amazing. Our dog was also very welcome and the walking around here is second to none. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you from the whole team at prince-hall we appreciate your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found everything to your liking. We hope you return in the near future to the hotel and can provide an even more relaxing and pleasing break

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently returned to Prince Hall for 3 nights, having had a great stay earlier in the year. I am pleased to say it was all just as wonderful..........room, food, service and general ambiance. Our 2 labradors were with us and my wife and I agree, this is the most dog friendly hotel we know. Thank you to all the team for a totally relaxed time, we will definately be back !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 535barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

thank you for taking the time to review Prince-hall hotel and thank you for your most positive comments, i can assure you the whole team will be very motivated by them. We are continually improving and striving to provide the most relaxing small country house hotel experience for both our guests and our four legged friends we look forward to having you return in the near future

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday evening, and could not fault it in the slightest !, the ambiance is just perfect and the location beautifull.
The evening meal was out of yhis world huge credit to the chef in the kitchen attention to detail is second to none from the appitizers in the lounge to the cheese platter in the bar perfect finish to a lovely meal !!
The rooms are large, warm and very spacious with views over the moors absolutle luxury in every form !
Breakfast again faultless very satisfying with lots of options to choose from.
Big thanks to the staff, Judith, Sam, Hilary, fi, Chris and the amazing chefs !!
Overall a massive 5***** highly recommended, don't miss out on this beautifull hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector78r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the comments and compliments about the hotel and the team, i assure you they are even more eager to improve and provide the ultimate dinning experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your birthday experience and look forward to your return in the near future,

regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We didn't expect to find food quite like that on Dartmoor! No offense to Dartmoor, but it was truly fabulous..perfect, freshly-made and certainly not run-of-the-mill canapes in the lounge, followed by a glorious amuse bouche, and then three sensational, beautifully presented courses to write home about. Take a look at the dessert photo for a clue. Absolutely fantastic value at around £40 a head.
And the breakfast was wonderful too. How's a homemade fishcake with sun blush tomatoes and local bacon for something a bit different?
We received a very warm welcome and terrific service at this lovely, characterful hotel with its gorgeous views.
The restaurant is open to non-residents by the way. Go! Now!

Room Tip: We'd pick a moor view any day.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for you comments and compliments on the food. We are continually training and improving our menus and food at prince hall as we pride ourselves very high on this as part of the Princehall experience. We hope you enjoyed the whole overall experience and look forward to your return to Princehall, i can assure you the whole team are even more motivated by your comments

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews