We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
253
60
26
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
253
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hotelcream teadining roomdog towelshomely feeldog treatsbiscuitsdrawing roomfresh milkstone bridgeopen firesecond to noneother guestswine listwonderful settingbreakfast and dinnersuperb food
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 351 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here. From the word go we felt welcome and in a relaxed environment. The quality of the room and the food was amazing. Our dog was also very welcome and the walking around here is second to none. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLPCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you from the whole team at prince-hall we appreciate your comments and feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found everything to your liking. We hope you return in the near future to the hotel and can provide an even more relaxing and pleasing break

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently returned to Prince Hall for 3 nights, having had a great stay earlier in the year. I am pleased to say it was all just as wonderful..........room, food, service and general ambiance. Our 2 labradors were with us and my wife and I agree, this is the most dog friendly hotel we know. Thank you to all the team for a totally relaxed time, we will definately be back !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 535barney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

thank you for taking the time to review Prince-hall hotel and thank you for your most positive comments, i can assure you the whole team will be very motivated by them. We are continually improving and striving to provide the most relaxing small country house hotel experience for both our guests and our four legged friends we look forward to having you return in the near future

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday evening, and could not fault it in the slightest !, the ambiance is just perfect and the location beautifull.
The evening meal was out of yhis world huge credit to the chef in the kitchen attention to detail is second to none from the appitizers in the lounge to the cheese platter in the bar perfect finish to a lovely meal !!
The rooms are large, warm and very spacious with views over the moors absolutle luxury in every form !
Breakfast again faultless very satisfying with lots of options to choose from.
Big thanks to the staff, Judith, Sam, Hilary, fi, Chris and the amazing chefs !!
Overall a massive 5***** highly recommended, don't miss out on this beautifull hotel !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hector78r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for the comments and compliments about the hotel and the team, i assure you they are even more eager to improve and provide the ultimate dinning experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your birthday experience and look forward to your return in the near future,

regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We didn't expect to find food quite like that on Dartmoor! No offense to Dartmoor, but it was truly fabulous..perfect, freshly-made and certainly not run-of-the-mill canapes in the lounge, followed by a glorious amuse bouche, and then three sensational, beautifully presented courses to write home about. Take a look at the dessert photo for a clue. Absolutely fantastic value at around £40 a head.
And the breakfast was wonderful too. How's a homemade fishcake with sun blush tomatoes and local bacon for something a bit different?
We received a very warm welcome and terrific service at this lovely, characterful hotel with its gorgeous views.
The restaurant is open to non-residents by the way. Go! Now!

Room Tip: We'd pick a moor view any day.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for you comments and compliments on the food. We are continually training and improving our menus and food at prince hall as we pride ourselves very high on this as part of the Princehall experience. We hope you enjoyed the whole overall experience and look forward to your return to Princehall, i can assure you the whole team are even more motivated by your comments

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two night here and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Service was excellent. Judith and Alan oversaw everything impeccably without intrusion. Some fly fishing tuition was organised with Glyn the local Gillie who was a real star. Cannot recommend him too highly.The hotel overlooks one of the best wild brown trout stretches in the UK and what a little piece of heaven it is. The hotel is totally besotted by dogs and any dog owner and pooch will feel totally comfortable. Dogs are allowed everywhere apart from the restaurant which is good. We will go back as much as we can. I can recommend the four poster.

Room Tip: Try and go for the view on the moor side. However the back is also great where we were.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

On behalf of Princehall Hotel and the whole team we would like to thank you for the fantastic comments and review of the hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken and would like to let you know that we are constantly improving what we do here to provide the most relaxing and welcoming stay, once again thank you for the comments and we look forward to you returning to Prince Hall soon
Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews