We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
252
60
26
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
60
26
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog friendly hotelcream teadining roomdog towelshomely feeldog treatsbiscuitsdrawing roomfresh milkstone bridgeopen firesecond to noneother guestswine listwonderful settingbreakfast and dinnersuperb food
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 350 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We didn't expect to find food quite like that on Dartmoor! No offense to Dartmoor, but it was truly fabulous..perfect, freshly-made and certainly not run-of-the-mill canapes in the lounge, followed by a glorious amuse bouche, and then three sensational, beautifully presented courses to write home about. Take a look at the dessert photo for a clue. Absolutely fantastic value at around £40 a head.
And the breakfast was wonderful too. How's a homemade fishcake with sun blush tomatoes and local bacon for something a bit different?
We received a very warm welcome and terrific service at this lovely, characterful hotel with its gorgeous views.
The restaurant is open to non-residents by the way. Go! Now!

Room Tip: We'd pick a moor view any day.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for you comments and compliments on the food. We are continually training and improving our menus and food at prince hall as we pride ourselves very high on this as part of the Princehall experience. We hope you enjoyed the whole overall experience and look forward to your return to Princehall, i can assure you the whole team are even more motivated by your comments

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I spent two night here and thoroughly enjoyed everything. Service was excellent. Judith and Alan oversaw everything impeccably without intrusion. Some fly fishing tuition was organised with Glyn the local Gillie who was a real star. Cannot recommend him too highly.The hotel overlooks one of the best wild brown trout stretches in the UK and what a little piece of heaven it is. The hotel is totally besotted by dogs and any dog owner and pooch will feel totally comfortable. Dogs are allowed everywhere apart from the restaurant which is good. We will go back as much as we can. I can recommend the four poster.

Room Tip: Try and go for the view on the moor side. However the back is also great where we were.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

On behalf of Princehall Hotel and the whole team we would like to thank you for the fantastic comments and review of the hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken and would like to let you know that we are constantly improving what we do here to provide the most relaxing and welcoming stay, once again thank you for the comments and we look forward to you returning to Prince Hall soon
Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have had a really enjoyable and relaxing 4 day break at Prince Hall. Our huge room overlooked the moors, and the view was magnificent. Sometimes, as a dog owner, you can feel on edge in a luxury hotel, worried about mud or dog hairs on the carpet, but our two retrievers were totally spoilt here by all the staff, and the torches, dog towels, boot racks etc made dog walks easy and stress free. Every member of staff was friendly, efficient and could not do enough for us - we felt very valued and very cosseted! We also came away feeling very well fed, as the food was really delicious and exciting! We would recommend Prince Hall and will definitely visit again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with moorland views are slightly more expensive, but well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for the great comments recently posted, and we are happy you had a fantastic stay. As a dog friendly hotel we always try to provide the best and most comfortable and relaxing stay and are continually improving what we do here at the hotel, including our dinning experience which is evolving everyday. We look forward to you returning to stay at PrinceHall soon

Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just had our first visit to Prince Hall for our 30th Wedding Anniversary with our 2 "fur children" (Lola-Spaniel and Josh -Collie). The room was fantastic, the bed and duvet were amazing and the food !! Where do I begin-it was a real treat to try some flavours I had not experienced before. The canapes and Amouse bouche were great and then the 3 course dinner was superb. Not forgetting breakfast of such a high quality with local produce. Even homemade brown and tomato sauce with breakfast !! Only downside was fog/cloud giving poor visibility to what I am sure would of been a spectacular view of Houndtor and the surrounding moors-but that is what you can get if staying on moorland. Good dog walks locally and plenty of biscuits in room.

Room Tip: Houndtor is large double aspect room overlooking Dartmoor
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for all your recent feedback and compliments, i am happy to say that the whole team at Prince hall will be motivated by them. We are constantly evolving our service and fine dinning experience as well as making it comfotable for our guests four legged companions to which we will continue to welcome with open arms

Regards
Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a kid free weekend and booked into The Prince Hall Hotel. We live in devon but felt like we were a million miles from away peaceful and relaxing. Staff very friendly and very welcoming, room very homely and fab views. Food was really good too.
Would recommend to others and would return and stay again
Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and compliments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again soon. We are constantly improving and learning new ways to make our guests stay even more relaxing

Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews