We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prince Hall Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have had a really enjoyable and relaxing 4 day break at Prince Hall. Our huge room overlooked the moors, and the view was magnificent. Sometimes, as a dog owner, you can feel on edge in a luxury hotel, worried about mud or dog hairs on the carpet, but our two retrievers were totally spoilt here by all the staff, and the torches, dog towels, boot racks etc made dog walks easy and stress free. Every member of staff was friendly, efficient and could not do enough for us - we felt very valued and very cosseted! We also came away feeling very well fed, as the food was really delicious and exciting! We would recommend Prince Hall and will definitely visit again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms with moorland views are slightly more expensive, but well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for the great comments recently posted, and we are happy you had a fantastic stay. As a dog friendly hotel we always try to provide the best and most comfortable and relaxing stay and are continually improving what we do here at the hotel, including our dinning experience which is evolving everyday. We look forward to you returning to stay at PrinceHall soon

Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 323 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have just had our first visit to Prince Hall for our 30th Wedding Anniversary with our 2 "fur children" (Lola-Spaniel and Josh -Collie). The room was fantastic, the bed and duvet were amazing and the food !! Where do I begin-it was a real treat to try some flavours I had not experienced before. The canapes and Amouse bouche were great and then the 3 course dinner was superb. Not forgetting breakfast of such a high quality with local produce. Even homemade brown and tomato sauce with breakfast !! Only downside was fog/cloud giving poor visibility to what I am sure would of been a spectacular view of Houndtor and the surrounding moors-but that is what you can get if staying on moorland. Good dog walks locally and plenty of biscuits in room.

Room Tip: Houndtor is large double aspect room overlooking Dartmoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for all your recent feedback and compliments, i am happy to say that the whole team at Prince hall will be motivated by them. We are constantly evolving our service and fine dinning experience as well as making it comfotable for our guests four legged companions to which we will continue to welcome with open arms

Regards
Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We had a kid free weekend and booked into The Prince Hall Hotel. We live in devon but felt like we were a million miles from away peaceful and relaxing. Staff very friendly and very welcoming, room very homely and fab views. Food was really good too.
Would recommend to others and would return and stay again
Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback and compliments, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again soon. We are constantly improving and learning new ways to make our guests stay even more relaxing

Fi and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first visit to Prince Hall, and we will definitely go again. The staff were welcoming, friendly yet very efficient. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Only things lacking in the bathroom were a large towel rail and hooks on the back of the bathroom door. The food was excellent and the dog was thoroughly spoilt. Great location for walkers, from the hotel, or going further afield.

Room Tip: The moor rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and the service we provide it is sincerely appreciated. The whole team will be motivated by your comments. We at Prince-hall are striving continually to improve the service we provide and what we do here for the maximum benefit of our clients and we hope you return in the near future

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked two nights and were delighted with our stay. The hotel has a scenic setting and it is worth booking rooms with a view across the moor. I could have stared at the view for hours. We had a cream tea as soonas we got there- scrummy! Our bedroom was great with all expected comforts. As many reviews say the showers lack pressure at times but that wasn't a problem especially as we were expecting it.

Our dog loved the break! This is a genuinely dog friendly hotel, pets are allowed everywhere except the dining room. Boot room area/entrance porch is ideal, we left our wellies there and you can hang your towel on hooks. We tended to wipe the dog down at the car, plus there is an outside tap if you need it. You can go for walks from the hotel or drive and walk.

The food was fine dining, we loved it and was a real treat. Alan, the maitre d', was very professional and attentive throughout our stay. Best of all was bringing the dog down after dinner to join us in the lounge for coffee, bliss.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deverillfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback on the hotel, i am sure the whole team will be motivated by this and it is appreciated by the management as to what we do here at the hotel. We would like to see you again in the near future here on Dartmoor along with your companion

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has the perfect approach to dogs and their owners, we were made to feel very relaxing with our 2 dogs which made the stay relaxing. We did have a few issues with dinner each night, but Alan the restaurant manager and the hotel manager were very good about putting things right and gave us complimentary drinks to make up for other issues. We did have a few problems with the water pressure in the shower, but then thats the price you pay for the location i feel.
All in all would go back and definielt recommend for dog owners

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethgreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joshyman, Manager at Prince Hall Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback on the hotel. since your visit to the hotel we have improved the issues that you had with the water pressure and other aspects of your stay and We are continually improving what we do here at the hotel, we hope that you return again in the near future.

Regards

Chris and Fi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a small Country House Hotel where the staff do their best you make you feel welcome, comfortable and at home.
The rooms that I have stayed in (on two visits) were spacious and delighful.
The food is absolutely excellent.
And if you bring your dogs they are very welcome and greeted as well as you are.
Did I mention the food ? Superb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.1 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,083 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
9.2 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
519 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel and Spa
12.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prince Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prince Hall Country House

Address: Nr Princetown | Devon, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Two Bridges
Price Range: $183 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince Hall Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Prince Hall Country House is set in the very heart of Dartmoor National Park with its breath-taking scenery. Hands-on owner Chris Daly, and his team are dedicated to offering you exceptional comfort, hospitality and cuisine in a uniquely tranquil and secluded setting. Well-behaved dogs are very welcome, at no extra charge for up to 2 four legged friends. The hotel is open to non residents for morning coffee, light lunches, afternoon teas and dinner and is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Prince Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hall Country House Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing