We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Charm and Old Stone Circles”
Review of The Cherrybrook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cherrybrook
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Bridges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shoreline
Level 6 Contributor
778 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Old School Charm and Old Stone Circles”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My first evening at the Cherrybrook, my wife and I were invited into the bar for a drink. Our dinner order was taken, and about 20 minutes later we were invited to come through to the dining room. It was relaxed, warm, and the food was of the highest quality. Our room was clean, cozy and well-maintained, and the bed was comfortable (extra bonus stars for that since a lot of B&Bs seem to have mattresses that came over with the Normans in 1066).

Cherrybrook offers great access to Dartmoor's attractions, including access out the backgate to a ramble that passes tors, stone hut circles, an amazing wood, and no end of sheep.

This is a family establishment, run by a quartet of lovely people, and if you're traveling with a dog, they're very dog-friendly.

Room Tip: When you have a front room you're treated to amazing sunrises (or in the case of this morning, m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
142
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

There is always something very personal about staying in a Bed & Breakfast. It is someone's home and as guests you have a limited relationship with your host. This can make it a little difficult when wanting to review as matters can easily be taken personally unlike a large hotel where it is of course, just business. I came away with very mixed feelings about this guest house and I will detail my pros and cons shortly. I read other peoples reviews of hotels that I may consider staying at and sometimes feel they are too harsh or to the other extreme written by the owners or their friends to enhance their property. I hasten to add I write honestly of my experiences which are of course unique to me.

Cherrybrook is a very old detached property in a very attractive location. On arrival I came into a musty Lounge down some steps where I was confronted with a large variety of different beers carefully laid out over the bar and some wines. The host David seemed strangely perplexed that I didn't want to drink beer, indeed being something akin to a southerner softie; I wanted to drink lager. That wasn't being offered and it was intimated that as he had gone to the effort of getting the beers in, I should at least drink them. I felt like he was cross selling the Dartmoor beer experience as a nice little sideline, safe in the knowledge that there was no pub within easy walking distance. Strangely enough after an hour or so he then managed to find some lager in the bar fridge and then even better a box of dusty lager bottles appeared that he had forgotten about which he pointedly put in the fridge for our enjoyment the following night. I wasn't biting however so the second night was enjoyed elsewhere. Evening Meal was very nice and Breakfast was splendid. The room itself was exceedingly well presented and the bathroom very well equipped. When we returned from our walk on the first day, Our clothes had been placed on hangers which was a very nice touch. David had said the heating was on to dry our extremely wet clothes out but this quickly turned off and as there was no provision for other heating in the bathroom, the next days walk was in damp clothes. Not nice. He had pointed out a shoe rack to dry out the shoes which I had falsely assumed was being heated from behind but in fact wasn't so again the shoes were wet as well. On returning home I spent 3 days with a nice little chest infection. In balance a lovely building in a wonderful location but let down by some strange attitudes that left me feeling a little uneasy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank progrediens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed for five nights B&B and evening meal. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and warm and quite, which provided a good night’s sleep.
We found the hotel listed in the Rough guide to Devon and Cornwall book, and then looked up more details on the hotels web site. Found the web site to be accurate and detailed, booking was easy and straightforward.
The hosts were friendly, very welcoming and accommodating to your requirements.
The meals were excellent and had a good selection to choose from each day. On top of this, we had vegetables picked from the garden that morning.
We highly recommend the hotel for a peaceful break in the middle of Dartmoor.

Room Tip: Look on the web site for room photos to aid choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveUK58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent location, one of the best in Dartmoor. The food we ate was also very good and although expensive, was very comparable to prices in local restaurants. Having read many of the previous 5 star reviews but felt some were a little inaccurate. It is true the hosts are friendly but we felt there was always an undercurrent of trying to squeeze more money from us and yet penny pinch on services which did not always sit comfortably my friends and me.

For example, WIFI is advertised as free, but there is a rider in the information leaflet - a "Please don't do ....." notice. Similarly, hot water (unreliable plumbing by the way) is rather restricted with "Please don't ......." notices.

As a centre that is recommended for walkers we were surprised (after a long rainy walk) to find the boots did not actually go into a proper drying room, and the heating in the drying room itself turned off so early that the guests clothes still wet the next day. Not nice. A small continually working electric oil heater would suffice to dry guests wet clothes overnight and the idea suggested by one of us but this was poo-pooed. I suggest walking from this hotel is very good in dry weather but not so good if it rains and you want to walk the next day.

Being remote it does mean getting out at night is awkward if you want to drink alcohol, but we did feel under pressure to purchase drinks form the onsite bar. That is fine but it was not cheap and we all felt a little 'bullied' to buy, which is why we chose to go elsewhere the next day. Dave is a great host but if he could just relax a little and not try to 'sell' so hard it would be fine. A £3.50 bottle of wine should not be sold for £17, and whilst a £9 bottle needs a little markup, £20 is having a laugh at guests expense.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arkay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I staid here 20 or so years ago and loved it. Rooms have been improved. The cuisine and hospitality have remained excellent.
Very friendly hosts make you feel home.
lunch packs and maps are available for extended walks.
The location is central and very, very peaceful.

Can't wait until the next stay. Won't wait 20 years!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for four nights and had an excellent time after finding The Cherrybrook via their very informative and accurate website. The rooms are spotless, well equipped and nice and quiet for a good night's sleep. The food (breakfast and dinner) is superb with an excellent choice of starters, mains and deserts for dinner from a menu that changes every day. Also, unlike some small hotels, you choose whilst in the bar before your meal, not at breakfast that morning! Really good. On top of this we had vegetables picked from the garden that morning - a real treat. Finally, everyone is very friendly and helpful. Cannot recommend highly enough for a peaceful break in the middle of Dartmoor.

Room Tip: Choose your room by looking on The Cherrybrook website as the information is totally accurate and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This was our third visit to The Cherrybrook since Dave took over and we could not ask for a better place to stay. Situated right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park, one can really embrace the atmosphere of the moors with fantastic views from the house. It is ideally situated with easy access to a multitude of walks. Dave and his team really go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are very comfortable and clean and the cooked breakfast delicious. We always stay for dinner as it is very convenient and would strongly recommend doing so. The menu changes daily and the food is delicious with a good selection of wines. The pre-dinner drinks in the cosy bar are good fun with Dave acting as barman and are a very sociable occasion. It is in our view the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,043 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
317 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
112 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherrybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherrybrook

Property: The Cherrybrook
Address: The Cherrybrook, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Bridges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherrybrook 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cherrybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherrybrook Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing