We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the new year!”
Review of The Cherrybrook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cherrybrook
Ranked #1 of 1 Two Bridges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

"How about a few days on Dartmoor ?...." Music to my ears as my wife informed me of the two nights she had booked at the end of he first week of 2013. We returned to the The Cherrybrook with our two dogs safe in the knowleddge of a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and a very hearty breakfast.

Well furnished, clean and very welcoming whatever the weather and "On the moor!". We will be back and soon its a promise!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for The Cherrybrook
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 218 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Overall, the word splendid describes our stay very well. Very comfortable room, the dog was made very welcome, and the food was truly excellent. We were looked after royally, but in a friendly and easy-going way, lovely.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have stunning views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first visit to the Cherrybrook and we will be back Great hosts great food(too much) and to top it off asuperb 5 mile walk with Dave&Judy plus Tigger the dog on New Years day Many thanks to all thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you

Room Tip: We stayed in Bellever overlooking the moor lovely room with a view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Cherrybrook is located right in the middle of the high moor, on the main road between Two Bridges and Postbridge, with direct access to the footpaths, for which maps are provided. It's the perfect base for walkers, particularly for those who have a dog. In fact dogs are welcome and even have a dedicated area in the garden for short walks.

No matter the muddy boots or paws, the place is always spotless clean.

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner, who upgraded us to the Beardown room (we had booked the Bellever), the largest of the two rooms on the front. The room is well appointed with a double bed, a single bed, kettle, tv, ipod dock, free wifi, a modern ensuite bathroom (mixer taps, heated towel rack...). The view from the window is stunning. We had a few hours of heavy rain one day, so we really enjoyed the comforts of the room.

Dinner is impressive, featuring traditional recipes and local ingredients. It's a bit expensive maybe, but I wouldn't say it's overpriced.

Room Tip: The two rooms at the front (Beardown and Bellever) have beautiful views
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the third time we had stayed at the Cherrybrook and I have no doubt we will be back. It was the normal friendly welcome, excellent food, clean and cosy room. There is no better place to stay on Dartmoor where (even at this late time in the year) the scenery around the Cherrybrook is breath-taking. If you are looking for a warm and friendly place to stay, with freshly cooked home made food and beautiful views then I would highly recommend a stay at The Cherrybrook.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We treated ourselves with our dog, to two nights at this most brilliant find.
So welcoming and personal, family run, it was like a step back in time, like staying in a Country House on the moors. Attention to detail in every respect. Beautiful views, planned 'dog friendly' walks, superb freshly cooked food, interesting stock of local beers, comfortable room and bed. so good, we are going back for Christmas.

Room Tip: We had a front facing room with uninterrupted views over the moor - as far you could see
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were part of a walking group and the both the location and hospitality could not be faulted. Rooms were cosy and comfortable and the food was excellent, with good attention paid to dietary needs. As we had taken over the hotel, part of the group was accommodated elsewhere but we were all able to share dinner together. This coupled with a warm welcome, was evidence of their willingness to provide a perfect weekend for us. We also received particularly helpful advice about a walk chosen in advance. We would recommend this hotel not only to walkers but to any one who appreciates the above plus the natural beauty of the surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Two Bridges
1.0 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,071 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
321 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,350 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherrybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherrybrook

Address: The Cherrybrook, Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Two Bridges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Two Bridges
Price Range: $108 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherrybrook 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cherrybrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cherrybrook Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing