We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night”

Prince Hall Hotel Devon Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful night”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful night food was excellent staff were wonderful special thanks to Dan who was the best host

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stopped off on a rainy cold winters day by chance and had a very pleasant lunch. Friendly staff who greeted us and sat beside a lovely open fire. Nice lunch with good ingredients and average price really enjoyed it recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service, just a couple of niggles”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife & I had dinner at Prince Hall recently. The welcome was very warm and we enjoyed canapés & drinks by a lovely fire in the comfortable lounge. The overall standard of service was excellent & staff were attentive yet not intrusive. The meal itself was excellent, though I was slightly disappointed by a couple of things that relate to information given at time of booking not getting through. When booking, I made clear that my wife had an allergy to spinach & that neither of us ate seafood. On the evening, the 'Chef's complimentary course' was seafood - mussel, prawn, squid (?) which we attempted but really could have done without. On the main course, my wife had the vegetarian option which contained green leaves that looked like spinach. Playing safe, she left it on the side. Not big problems, just something that really shouldn't have happened. I'd certainly return... just try to be clearer about our food allergies/ preferences.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul4256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, Devon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We regularly lunch at Prince Hall with friends but decided to stay at night and sample dinner and breakfast.

The emphasis on this hotel is relaxation. There is nothing better than sitting by the roaring fire, with a cup of tea (or something stronger) and watching the ever changing dartmoor weather before walking the few steps to the restaurant.

The food is fantastic, fresh, well cooked, and the local produce meaning you are getting great quality.

After dinner retire to the spacious, clean and well equipped bedrooms. We had a four poster with a view over the courtyard. It was lovely and quiet and we slept well.

Breakfast was just as good as dinner, cooked to order and with great local sausages and bacon.

All in all I cannot praise Prince Hall enough. Helpful staff, comfortable and with great food. The stunning location is the icing on the cake!

Helpful?
Thank Chris4817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal, the best in Devon…….”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Exceptional quality ingredients, sourced locally and prepared with attention to detail. I have stayed in several quality hotels and the Prince Hall is right up there with the best. We could not have had a better dining experience, very impressed with this Country House Hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and all dietary needs/likes/tastes are catered for.
We will definitely be back…….

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colliesathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Hall Hotel Devon Restaurant also viewed

Hexworthy, Dartmeet
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 
Two Bridges, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Prince Hall Hotel Devon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing