We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Princetown Pensioners Headquarters”

The Prince of Wales
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Princetown
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Princetown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Princetown Pensioners Headquarters”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm lucky to be able to live in Princetown and use the Prince of Wales as my local. The food is always great and are served in generous portions and the ales excellent - and the best ales are brewed here in the village. Watch out for the two kittens, they are Bengals with fabulous markings.
The Princetown CS Retirement Fellowship meet here once a month. I'm looking forward to our Christmas Lunch and Party which we hold here every year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    25
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A gem in Princetown”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The small town of Princetown on dartmoor really has more than i's fair share of good hostelries, and this is no exception. Great for families, good beer, and excellent food. Says it all really, highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brixhamrfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“So much food!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Just spent another great weekend at the prince, we stayed in the camping barn which is very clean, comfy and a bargain at £12 night pp.
The food is awesome - the ham egg and chips are stunning, the portions are HUGE but the ham is the best I have ever tasted.
If you are looking for a cheap but clean and comfy place to stay with good food I would always recommend The Prince of Wales. Terry is also a true friendly landlord who will make you feel really welcome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brinbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“What a gem on the Moors”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We went in search of a nice meal and found a pub that served absolutley fabulous food andcoupled to the fact that it brews some of its own beers what more could any real ale consumer require, oh yes a friendly mine host. Well they were excellent and so were the staff. The food as far as I am concerned could not be bettered, ansd when we were chatting with the landlord later, he told us about their specaility T bone steak which has to be ordered in advance - usually 24 to 48 hours. I ahve the business card for this venue in my wallet, just in case I am fortunate enough to return to Dartmoor when I will check this fine watering hole again and hopefully be in the rear long enough to sample the T bone. Brilliant pub brilliant atmosphere own micro brewery what more is there to say........ NOTHING ifyou do not enjoy it .... look more at yourself rather than the venue or the people there.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scooby1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So friendly”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We just dropped in after a disappointing stay at the Plume of Feathers. We were made very welcome by the barman John and the owners Shelley and her husband. They loved our puppy staffs too. They showed us around the beautiful bunkhouse and provided us with a fantastic meal and excellent company for our stay. We enjoyed it so much we went again the following day and will definatly stay there next time we are in Princetown walking. Thanks guys

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
 
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
 
Princetown, Dartmoor National Park
Hexworthy, Dartmeet
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing