We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B & B with Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chapel at The Oratory
Ranked #4 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly B & B with Excellent Service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have been to the Oratory Bed and Breakfast a number of times and I tend to stay in the Chapel, It has self catering facilities, which make it an excellent choice for families who want to come and go as they please. The Chapel will comfortably sleep at least 4 and is self contained from the main house with its own entrance and huge bathroom with roll top bath and underfloor heating.

The owners are very friendly and they can make arrangements for late arrivals, if necessary. The Oratory also has bedrooms in the main house for those persons seeking full bed and breakfast.

The facilities are very clean, with typical rustic charm and right in the middle of the moor, which makes it an excellent choice for walkers or those wishing to use the car to visit all parts of Dartmoor,

Room Tip: Chose the Chapel if you are a family and want the extra space. The Oratory is accessed by steep stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We loved staying in the chapel annex. Sally was really friendly and welcoming. The bathroom was amazing, the brekkie provided was fantastic value for money and the room was more than we had expected from the pictures - with a couple of stairs leading to the 'bedroom' area, meaning a separate area to eat breakfast and chill out.. Thoroughly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fantastic stay at the Oratory, a real hidden gem. We have just spent 2 nights in the annex and were very pleasantly suprised by the quality of the accommodation.

We had a very warm welcome from Sally, she could not be more helpful and was full of advise and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very much at home.

The accommodation was of a great standard and we loved the bathroom with the under floor heating. The small kitchen area was well presented and well stocked with a fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster. Lots of plates, cups, glasses and cutlery available. The bed was comfortable and our daughter enjoyed sleeping on the day bed which Sally had made up for her.

The accommodation is ideal for walkers as you have a separate entrance hall and plenty of space for boots, coats and rucksacs. Sally also offered to dry any wet coats etc if needed.

We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband and I live only an hour away but were looking for somewhere to just escape for a couple of nights. I found The Oratory via Trip Advisor and as it had several good ratings, booked us in for a two-night getaway. It was a great central location to go wandering on Dartmoor and from the pics online, it looked like the Chapel Annex would have plenty of space if the weather turned out to be crap and we ended up spending the weekend stuck inside reading our books (not really a bad thing, to be sure)!

My only hesitation before booking was that it is advertised as dog-friendly and my husband is really allergic to dogs. We decided to risk it anyway and it turned out not to be a problem at all. Sally keeps the place so clean, you'd never know that dogs stay there frequently as well!

We stayed in the Chapel Annex and it was so spacious! The room was a great size and had lovely windows all along the wall which made it really light and airy. Even though England is in the middle of a heatwave right now, we slept quite comfortably with the breeze that comes in off the moor through the open windows.

Sally was lovely and showed us around when we arrived, asking what we wanted to do during our stay and then pointing out on the big map where we could find quiet spots by the stream to read our books in the shade or suggesting a trip to Tiverton to visit their market. The place also has games and books and plenty of local guidebooks. And if the weather is poor or you just want a quiet night in, there is a DVD player for entertainment as well.

As for the food, the breakfast was perfect for what we wanted in the summer. A selection of breads, jams, yoghurts and fresh fruit were available along with juice and coffee. The fruit was so fresh it was likely picked only the day before and was wonderful! We were able to eat at our leisure and because it's also self-catering, there were things like wine glasses for the wine we brought as well.

Ooh, and lest I forget, the bath there is AMAZING. The bathroom is clean, large and airy and there is a tub that is big enough for two and/or my very tall husband.

All in all, it's a fabulous place and I will definitely recommend it to others. Should we need another short escape, we will also be going back as there's plenty more Dartmoor to explore!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Myself and friends booked the oratory double and the beeches self catering accommodation for a couple of nights, Sally is very welcoming and soon puts you in chilled and relaxed environment so you can enjoy your stay to the fullest, the double is spacious and well presented and the beeches is everything you would expect from modern accommodation with all mod cons, I would certainly recommend the oratory to all that are considering staying in dartmoor.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and facilities can not be faulted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at the Oratory for 10 days in the chapel annex ,whilst working at Dartmoor prison. It was fantastic ,just to come back to the room and just chill after a stressful day. The room was a large split-level room with a bathroom to die for. I stayed in Feb and March and to have a heated floor in the bathroom in the morning was just heaven. The breakfast was continental style which you did yourself in the room, but everything you needed was there. If you needed something ,Sally and Mike were on hand to help out in any way and nothing was too much trouble. I would say ,for couples getting away to see Dartmoor ,this is an excellent place to stay. It is central to the moor and it is lovely to come back to in the evening.
A big thank you to Sally and Mike for making my stay a great one with no stress.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregson p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We found the oratory on line as a dog friendly b & b, but were very pleasantly surprised at the overall package. Sally and Mike left us a lovely box of mince pies as a welcome present, giving us a hint of how lovely our stay would be. Lovely large spotless bathroom and well equipped split level accommodation, a superb meal at the local pub, The Plume of Feathers, followed a good sleep in comfortable surroundings. A huge breakfast was left for us, catering for our tastes, including that of our 6yr old very picky daughter! Overall , very impressed and will recommend to everyone, thanks again to both owners, a lovely place stay :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Princetown
1.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
8.9 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Duchy House Guest House
Duchy House Guest House
#2 of 6 in Princetown
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
Tor Royal Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Princetown
99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chapel at The Oratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapel at The Oratory

Property: The Chapel at The Oratory
Address: The Oratory Tavistock Road, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6RP, England (Formerly The Oratory B&B and The Beeches S/C)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chapel at The Oratory 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel at The Oratory - Lovely, private, comfortable accommodation in the heart of Dartmoor. A spacious ensuite room which sleeps up to four. Own entrance, large bathroom with underfloor heating, deluxe bath and separate shower. Family and Pet friendly. With cots, highchairs etc available for guest use. Ideal location on Dartmoor for walking/hiking and enjoying the fresh air and beautiful scenery. Delicious Continental breakfast available. Pubs and cafes nearby (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Chapel at The Oratory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chapel At The Oratory Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing