We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Dartmoor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chapel at The Oratory
Ranked #4 of 6 Princetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 4, 2011

After a long journey we were overjoyed to finally reach Dartmoor. Even more overjoyed to find such excellent accomodation! The chapel annex is literally HUGE! It's a bit like you have your own apartment: kitchenette area, bedroom and seating area and a bathroom befitting an up market hotel. The underfloor heating was gorgeous as was the roll top bath!
Extremely good value for money and lovely hosts...all around fantastic B and B.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 53 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

After a terrible journey and late arrival my spirits were lifted by a great room and lovely host! The chapel annex is more than just a room with a large family table and all the the settings you need if you want to eat in. A fantastic option when traveling with young children! There is a proper fridge as well as toaster and kettle and even a microwave. The room is well stocked with lots of books and information on the area and even some dvds to go with the player! The bed was comfortable and the bath fantastic. The bathroom has underfloor heating and you are in control of the bedroom tempeture too, as a long with central heating, there is a good quality large radiator. I only stayed for one night and the quality of the room and the friendliness of the hostess made me regret not staying for longer.

Its the little touches that make a really good room excellent - fresh flowers (that my son knocked over -sorry!), really pretty lighting and a kind hostess that after hearing of my nightmare journey (6 hours on the side of the motorway) offered me a breakfast that I hadn't booked or paid for. Also as a smoker, the fact that the chapel annex, with its own entrance and easy direct access to an outside garden and seat is a massive bonus! Will be booking a longer stay next time I am in the area.

Room Tip: The chapel annex with its own private access is a great option for privacy and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spend a lovely weekend in the beautiful Chapel Annexe. Very good value for money considering the quality of the room and the sheer amount of space. Other B&Bs cost the same but are nowhere near as luxurious.

The bathroom was stunning and the underfloor heating a real luxury. We really enjoyed having our own private entrance as well. The bedroom/living area was huge and very well equipped. Lots of books and maps.

The little kitchenette consisted of a fridge (with 4 pints of fresh milk!), microwave, kettle and toaster. Everything we needed to make breakfast and a small dinner. Lots of tea and coffee provided.

Overall, a lovely place for a short weekend trip. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: If the Chapel Annexe is available, go for this option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the oratory in August in the chapel it was bright and clean and proved to be in a brilliant location, the owners were so welcoming. Information regarding tourist attractions and discount vouchers were supplied on our arrival along with tea and coffee provisions which were very welcome after a long drive. We were made to feel like nothing was too much trouble, very comfortable place to stay we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happydays761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for a couple of nights in July on a walking holiday. We normally camp but thought we'd treat ourselves!
It's at a great price - in keeping with other B&Bs in the area but much much nicer and more luxurious! The Chapel Annex is ENORMOUS as is the breakfast!There's an amazing and lovely bath, lots of books, boardgames and DVDs to keep you entertained too. Sally was very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful. Really couldn't recommend this highly enough. We will be back.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at the Oratory in June for 2 nights as friends were getting married close by and Sally was incredibly helpful even before we arrived! She offered sound advice on how to get from Plymouth station via bus or taxi, the cost as well as local contact numbers. We arrived late at night to a spacious, modern room which had lovely little cakes, tea and coffee laid out for us. We both drink decaf and even this was accommodated for.

Breakfast was great the next morning with a wide selection of food including hot croissants, fresh bread and great big pots of tea and coffee each. Sally really went above and beyond the call of any B&B or hotel I have stayed in before. She dropped us off in her own vehicle to the wedding we were attending as it was just up the road but quite far to walk in the drizzle and heels! The following day it was torrential rain and she lent me her rain coat and an extra umbrella. She gave great advice about where to eat and walk. She was a perfect host and the family makes you feel very welcome.

This is truly a home away from home where you feel completely looked after. We would like to return and after having a look in the chapel may find this is where we stay on our second visit. The bath looks marvellous and under floor heating; what a treat!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin_kooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I have stayed in the Chapel on several occasions and each time I have found everything to be perfect. I love the continental breakfast, the fridge is always full of lots of goodies and there is always plenty of cereal and fresh bread too. Personally, I do not like full cooked english breakfast, so would much rather have the flexibility of eating fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pancakes, toast etc in the room at my leisure. I also love the bathroom with its heated under floor tiles and large bath, it's just perfect for a long soak after a day on the moors. There is also a sufficient heater in the room so you have the flexibility of controlling the temperature to suit you. The owners have thought of everything, there is even a bookcase full of maps and walking guides for you to borrow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenwalker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chapel at The Oratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chapel at The Oratory

Address: The Oratory Tavistock Road, Princetown, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6RP, England (Formerly The Oratory B&B and The Beeches S/C)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Princetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Princetown
Price Range: $102 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chapel at The Oratory 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chapel at The Oratory - Lovely, private, comfortable accommodation in the heart of Dartmoor. A spacious ensuite room which sleeps up to four. Own entrance, large bathroom with underfloor heating, deluxe bath and separate shower. Family and Pet friendly. With cots, highchairs etc available for guest use. Ideal location on Dartmoor for walking/hiking and enjoying the fresh air and beautiful scenery. Delicious Continental breakfast available. Pubs and cafes nearby (200m). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Chapel at The Oratory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chapel At The Oratory Princetown, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing