We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and comfortable break”
Review of Lydgate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lydgate House
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed and comfortable break”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Lydgate House for two nights in October and used it as a base for some ambling in Dartmoor. The hotel is very comfortable, with a lounge for guest use and small bar which is open in the evening. The complementary cream tea was most welcome when we arrived!

Although a pre-bookable three course evening meal is available we didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but a short walk along the lane at the East Dart Hotel. Breakfast at Lydgate House however is fresh, varied and delicious. It's also possible to arrange for a packed lunch if you're going off the beaten track.

Rooms are comfortable although very warm when the heating's on, and are spotlessly clean. Make sure you take a torch though as it's completely dark around the hotel once the sun goes down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireabelleBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
76
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We (and our dog!) stayed one night in the Dipper room during a lucky super sunny September break. On arrival we were offered a complimentary cream tea out on the terrace which was absolutely fantastic. The room was spotlessly clean and filled with complimentary amenities and had a seperate little quaint "tea room" which was lovely.
The location couldn't be better, backing onto endless walks in the Dartmoor countryside which is simply beautiful. There are wild Dartmoor ponies too which are a treat to see.
We ate dinner at the Warren House Inn (No mains electricity and has a fire burning since 1845! Great fish and chips and a lovely character building)
Highly recommend staying here and we will certainly be returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim and Lea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a super hotel. Very welcoming. Spotless throughout. Excellent three course dinner with fresh, local ingredients and one of the best breakfasts we have ever had.

Will definitely be returning and already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Away on a short break with no previous plans and we found this delightful place by chance and luckily a room was free. Clean, nicely decorated with thoughtful touches and a fantastic shower - we loved our room which had lovely views of the East Dart River and the valley. Excellent three course dinner and amazing breakfast. Our hosts were charming and so was Ebony their three month old black Labrador. Thank you for a short but very pleasant stay we would love to come again. Debbie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We had a beautiful room, with a magnificant en-suite. The views from the window simply stunning. Breakfast was a real treat, and dinner well worth the money. Service at every level was friendly and professional in equal measure. I would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was a fantastic hotel but the food was too expensive as was the rooms. We paid £10 more than our friends and had a room double the size. Brilliant area and stunning scenery. I would go back but would not eat at the hotel. Visit the pub just down the road. Wonderful for dogs and has a no children allowed policy which is great. The breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racingstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I used to be a local of the area so it was important to me to find a lovely place to stay so I could show my friend the sights of dartmoor, I was not disappointed! Our one night stay was simply not enough. Location was excellent and I was pleased how close to the river we were, the room was lovely and in keeping with the age of the building I thought. Breakfast was really nice and cooked really well, lots of variety.
What made it for me were the little touches though, fudge in room, offer of cream tea on arrival and nothing seemed to be too much work. Deff planning on going again :D

Room Tip: Facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,026 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
314 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood B&B
Beechwood B&B
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydgate House

Property: Lydgate House
Address: | Yelverton, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Lydgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydgate House Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing