We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB STAY”
Review of Lydgate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lydgate House
Ranked #2 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SUPERB STAY”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at Lydgate House and wished that we could of stayed longer. Our room, Heron, was large & roomy with stunning views from two windows. The bathroom was spacious and the large roll top bath heavenly. The king size bed ensured a good nights sleep. The breakfast was of a very high standard - the best we have enjoyed during our entire trip.

Room Tip: Heron is the nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayfun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
76
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Lovely small hotel with good rooms and excellent service, and we enjoyed dining with good food and pleasant surroundings. Karen is an excellent cook! Lounge is very comfortable space to sit and read in, after a days walking from the house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coaster027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lovely hotel, high standards throughout, with great attention to detail. Food excellent. Fantastic, peaceful situation. Friendly and attentive hosts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glgidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My wife and I have stayed twice within the year at Lydgate House, a total of 6 days in all. We chose two of the larger rooms with excellent en-suite facilities including roll top baths and wonderfully large and comfortable beds. Attention to detail at the Lydgate is impressive with crisp bed linen and a large range of toiletries including Radox bath products to sooth those aching muscles after long walks!
On arrival Karen and Steve offer a superb cream tea either in the relaxed atmosphere of the lounge or outside on the terrace. We chose to take just one evening meal during our first stay but found it so good that we took the option to eat twice during our second visit. Karen is a truly superb cook and the meals we took were easily the best we have had on Dartmoor. Food is locally sourced and considering the size of the hotel there is a good choice from a menu that changes daily. Linen napkins and attention to fine detail speak volumes about Steve and Karen's experience. We were particularly impressed by the wine list at the Lydgate which is the result of careful choices made through a merchant in Tavistock. Steve was also an master brewer at some stage and his advice on local beers is not to be missed. Breakfast and dinner are served in a spacious conservatory area at the rear of the hotel offering superb views of mature trees and a varied landscape that hints at the joys of the walks to be enjoyed from the hotel. We would urge anyone who is thinking of eating elsewhere to give Lydgate's restaurant a try!
Lydgate House has a peaceful ambience that quickly dispels any worries or stress you may have had prior to arrival! It is also a great starting point for a varied range of walks. Steve and Karen are very happy to offer advice and guide books as they seem to have tried many themselves. There is also a warm boot room which we found essential after walking on Dartmoor in February!
We were surprised to see one recent negative review here which certainly does not mirror our experience. We can't wait to return to Lydgate House very soon. A superbly run hotel in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Heron or Buzzard are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Symphony1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I stayed 5 nights and found my host a bit diffident to me and other guests there were many nationalities staying - German, Belgian and Dutch and he does like you to holiday by his rules. For 3 nights I was the only guest eating at the hotel. Food is ok but too many sauces and vegetables over cooked bearing in mind you are paying £27.50 for a 3 course meal it should have a more varied selection. Guests who stayed there under previous owners found it completely changed. Steve and Karen took over 7 months ago and have some settling in to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Montesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catcott
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We had a great time, the room was warm and very comfortable, the surroundings very 'Devon' and quiet. The food was very good indeed and there was a very relaxed atmosphere, it was great to be able to book for one night only.

Highly recommended!!

Pam and Trevor

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorcatcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDHURST
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

I had stayed at Lydgate House once before about 18 months a go while visiting Plymouth on business and vowed to return. Although the hotel has recently been taken over I would say the standards have if anything improved .My wife and I spent 3 nights at Lydgate House to get away from it all. Congratulations to Steve and Karen for a wonderful break. It went too quickly!. We stayed in Buzzard a well appointed spacious double room with a very comfortable large sleigh bed and an ensuite with a victorian roll over bath. The room was spotless and had good views over the valley. We had a small flat screen TV with freeview stations. A well stocked tea / coffee tray including buscuits is provided and replenished each day. Fresh milk is avaialble in a small fridge outside the room. Good quality towels, toiletries are provided. Plenty of hot water. The guest lounge is comfortable with several sofas, with a large wood stove. The food is served in the conservatory ( which has great views of the surrounding countryside) and is excellent. Between us we had pate , red onion tartlet, rib eye steak, dover sole, sea bass, game pie, sticky toffee pudding, raspberry pavola, a panocotta to die for, and a selection of ice creams. There also appeared to be a good cheese board selection available. It is a short menu of a choice of 3 starters / main courses and puddings which changed each night and was expertly cooked. We were not sure whether we were going to eat each night at Lydgate but after the first night we had no hesitation but to do so. At £27.50 for a three course meal - we think it is good value. There is a reasonably priced wine list. Wide choice of cereals / yoghourts, friut juices / fruit are available at breakfast served between 8.30am and 9.00am. Very good cooked breakfasts. Steve is a very attentive host, and like me likes his sport. There is a well stocked bookcase of sports books / guides and fiction books to read. The atmosphere is relaxed, complimented by soothing background music in the lounge / conservatory in the evening and the location is excellent for many walks onto the moors. Both my wife and I have said how much we enjoyed our stay and will hopefully return to Lydgate House. My wife said I had made a good chice for our break. Thanks again to Lydgate House for a special stay.

Also please note we had a good cream tea at the nearby Two Bridges Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOODYBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,043 reviews
3.3 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
317 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,294 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood B&B
Beechwood B&B
#1 of 4 in Postbridge
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lydgate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lydgate House

Property: Lydgate House
Address: | Yelverton, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lydgate House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lydgate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lydgate House Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing