We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly but disappointed with our room.”
Review of East Dart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Dart Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly but disappointed with our room.”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The weather wasn't extremly cold outside which was just as well as our bedroom, number 8, was very cold. The radiator didn't work & the window was very drafty. The landlord & staff were very friendly & helpful, bringing a fan heater to our room but I certainly wouldn't want to be in that room in winter. We were only there one night & I'm pleased it wasn't longer. The meal was just about OK although to be fair the breakfast was good. A very convenient place to stay for anything you want to do on the moor, but that is about all you can say for it.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwalker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
To be fair, we are a family run pub and inn in the middle of Dartmoor and the building is very old (1852). We are in the process of changing the windows as and when we can but we do not have a large capital budget behind us. You were the first to tell us about the radiator and we would have moved you if we had another room which we didn't - the plumber has been and this has now been fixed. Because we are aware that our rooms are basic - this suits our clientele of walkers, hikers and dog lovers - we take cleanliness extremely seriously and all of our rooms are always cleaned meticulously. Our food is of a very high standard with local produce used wherever possible and we have customers that return time and time again because they know that they will get good quality and well cooked traditional pub grub. We hope that you come back soon and not let the cold or age of the building cloud your judgement of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    61
    7
    17
    6
See reviews for
39
86
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

It's probably a Victorian building, with a side extension (large bar). Tables in bar are lovely, with thick tops of elm & oak. Hosts and staff are great, very solicitous.

Bearing in mind no mains water (borehole) so water pressure is low etc it's fine. Lovely soft towels. Macerator a bit noisy (no mains drainage). Bed comfortable but personally prefer a duvet, not blanket.

Breakfast good - choice of cereals etc, instant porridge. Local free range eggs, bacon, sausage with usual accompaniments, beans, tomatoes.

Pub food was good & very reasonably priced. I had home-battered cod & my partner's chicken was good as well.
Beer good, well kept.

Don't expect to get a mobile signal here! (No BBC TV reception, either). But it was a convenient & pleasant stop before meeting friends for a walk on the moor the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately some of our rooms aren't on mains drainage but we do service the saniflo regularly. As you mention water pressure is low, but we are hoping to improve this in the future. We provide sheets and blankets as I find these more hygienic - however a duvet is available on request. It is unfortunate about our BBC channels for which signal comes and goes because we are in such a dip - I wish we had been told about before investing in new freeview TVs in the rooms!

We are maintaining a very good reputation for our food and we are glad that you enjoyed this, and your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On Saturday 13th April 2013 I decided to take my Aunt, Daughter and Grandson to the place where I celebrated my engagement some 42 years ago. The weather was cold and wet. We went inside for a warm-up and some wholesome pub-grub. What a let down, we were ushered into a dark drab cold diserted bar. Being hungry, we decided to stay. We ordered two meals from the specials board and a baby meal plus three coffees. The coffee was awful and not hot. The quiche, stilton and broccoli with chips, well...it was full of stalks and very watery and cold, chips not hot, I couldn't eat it. Think it hadn't been defrosted properly! We just wanted to get out and go somewhere else so paid the £25 bill and made a quick exit. DEFINATELY WON'T BE RETURNING! SO DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Our pub in the middle of Dartmoor has received an enormous amount of praise for its character and décor, including a beautiful hand-painted mural on the wall. If you want somewhere light, airy and modern, don't eat on Dartmoor but in your local Holiday Inn. We NEVER freeze our homemade food, especially quiche (unlike the previous owner), as the food never tastes as good, and we use fresh broccoli and a lot of Stilton. We bent over backwards to ensure that your grandson's food was served at the right temperature and he certainly enjoyed his meal. We pride ourselves on our excellent service, as you would have noticed our Certificate Award for Hospitality of the Year next to your table, and if you would have said something at the time we would have changed your meal for another for no extra charge. However, it is our policy that we do not offer free returns in reward for a bad review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I enjoyed this little hotel in the middle of nowhere, a good place to start for walking in the moor and to feel home in in the evening. You just walk downstairs, find a good pub and a cook with a good hand for pool-billard.Thanks for your hospitality, I will came back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unterwegs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
And then you returned again and brought a friend!! We were really pleased that you were so comfortable with us and enjoyed staying. Next time your in England, come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent a great couple of nights at the East Dart. Good food, real beer and a comfie bed after a day on the moor. What more cold you ask for ( ... oh yes, a Wales win in the rugby!).

A really good stop on Dartmoor, comes heartily recommended .... they'll see me again this summer.

Room Tip: Spend the day walking, then have a few jars by the fire. It's so dark and quiet at night you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katesdad1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Really glad that you enjoyed our food and ale! And your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What an excellent choice for our pub lunch. The food was very good and the wines delicious. Just the job for a blustery March day. The staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular Melissa, stoking up the woodburner to make us feel really welcome. Rosie the owner was also very accommodating. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz and Daryll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review from all of us (including Melissa) and really glad that you could enjoy that Groupon voucher in the end! We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Paul and Rosie were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and reasonably equipped. There is a nice booklet in the room, giving some of the history of the Inn and the area, along with the offer of complimentary toiletries, should you have forgotten anything.
The food is excellent and it's provenance can be accounted for. It's all local produce well cooked and presented.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,010 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prince Hall Country House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,235 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Dart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dart Hotel

Property: East Dart Hotel
Address: | Dartmoor, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — East Dart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Dart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Dart Hotel Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing