We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Disappointed”
Review of East Dart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Dart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

On Saturday 13th April 2013 I decided to take my Aunt, Daughter and Grandson to the place where I celebrated my engagement some 42 years ago. The weather was cold and wet. We went inside for a warm-up and some wholesome pub-grub. What a let down, we were ushered into a dark drab cold diserted bar. Being hungry, we decided to stay. We ordered two meals from the specials board and a baby meal plus three coffees. The coffee was awful and not hot. The quiche, stilton and broccoli with chips, well...it was full of stalks and very watery and cold, chips not hot, I couldn't eat it. Think it hadn't been defrosted properly! We just wanted to get out and go somewhere else so paid the £25 bill and made a quick exit. DEFINATELY WON'T BE RETURNING! SO DISAPPOINTED.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Our pub in the middle of Dartmoor has received an enormous amount of praise for its character and décor, including a beautiful hand-painted mural on the wall. If you want somewhere light, airy and modern, don't eat on Dartmoor but in your local Holiday Inn. We NEVER freeze our homemade food, especially quiche (unlike the previous owner), as the food never tastes as good, and we use fresh broccoli and a lot of Stilton. We bent over backwards to ensure that your grandson's food was served at the right temperature and he certainly enjoyed his meal. We pride ourselves on our excellent service, as you would have noticed our Certificate Award for Hospitality of the Year next to your table, and if you would have said something at the time we would have changed your meal for another for no extra charge. However, it is our policy that we do not offer free returns in reward for a bad review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 227 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

I enjoyed this little hotel in the middle of nowhere, a good place to start for walking in the moor and to feel home in in the evening. You just walk downstairs, find a good pub and a cook with a good hand for pool-billard.Thanks for your hospitality, I will came back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unterwegs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

And then you returned again and brought a friend!! We were really pleased that you were so comfortable with us and enjoyed staying. Next time your in England, come and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent a great couple of nights at the East Dart. Good food, real beer and a comfie bed after a day on the moor. What more cold you ask for ( ... oh yes, a Wales win in the rugby!).

A really good stop on Dartmoor, comes heartily recommended .... they'll see me again this summer.

Room Tip: Spend the day walking, then have a few jars by the fire. It's so dark and quiet at night you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katesdad1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Really glad that you enjoyed our food and ale! And your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

What an excellent choice for our pub lunch. The food was very good and the wines delicious. Just the job for a blustery March day. The staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular Melissa, stoking up the woodburner to make us feel really welcome. Rosie the owner was also very accommodating. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz and Daryll W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review from all of us (including Melissa) and really glad that you could enjoy that Groupon voucher in the end! We are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Paul and Rosie were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are clean and reasonably equipped. There is a nice booklet in the room, giving some of the history of the Inn and the area, along with the offer of complimentary toiletries, should you have forgotten anything.
The food is excellent and it's provenance can be accounted for. It's all local produce well cooked and presented.
I would not hesitate to stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Have eaten here a couple of times in the last few months, and have had very nice meals (lunch and dinner).

It was a bit quiet the second time, but lunchtime midweek just before Christmas on the wilds of Dartmoor isn't going to be a peak time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrchrisSunnyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

You're soooo right - lunchtime on bleak Dartmoor just before Christmas is a little quiet, but it gives us more time to chat to customers! We're really glad that you enjoyed your meals with us. See you next time. Oh, if you come in the summer, it won't be so bleak (or quiet!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My first time at The East Dart Hotel. Very friendly, comfortable and cosy stay. The food was really good, the steak was melt in the mouth. Fine ales on offer an made all the more traditional by having a real fire in the bar area. The room was very clean and equipped to a high standard. Breakfast was fantastic, quality produce and very hearty. Above all the staff were most helpful in providing information and generally chatty. This is a fantastic, great value place to stay and I will not hesitate to book in again for my next trip to Dartmoor. Highly recommended.
Frank - Wiltshire

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RosieJPostbridge, Owner at East Dart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you Frank for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our steaks, as for a lot of our ingredients, are as local as we can get - the steaks from 2 fields away! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
3.6 mi away
Two Bridges Hotel
Two Bridges Hotel
#1 of 2 in Two Bridges
1,106 reviews
10.7 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
307 reviews
13.4 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,439 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Dart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Dart Hotel

Address: | Dartmoor, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range: $104 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — East Dart Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your East Dart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Dart Hotel Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing