We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy stopping off point”
Review of Warren House Inn

Warren House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Postbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
647 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Handy stopping off point”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This famous pub supposedly has a peat fire that has never been allowed to go out for many a year. An olde worlde pub set in the heart of Dartmoor near to Princetown serving good pub food. Warm in winter and a nice outdoor seating area for warmer days with lovely views over the moor. A welcome sight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shish57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    122
    44
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Pub in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We have been to this pub several times for lunch and it never fails to deliver. It is situated on Dartmoor with no other buildings in site. The staff are welcoming to all people coming in, including walkers and their dogs. The fires burning keep the pub lovely and warm.

The pub can be split into 3 sections, an over 18's area, a family area and the bar area. We have sat in all areas when we have had young family with us and find it great that there is an area for families specifically. At the same time, not having children of our own, it is very nice to have an area where there are no children, it is still technically a pub after all.

The food whenever we have been has been to a high standard with great service. I would defiantly recommend the steak and ale pie which is a great size with lovely pastry and nice big chunks of steak.

The only downside to this pub is that it is in the middle of nowhere so you do need a driver, or a tent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vonlipvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An oasis !”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had often passed this little pub, while driving over Dartmoor, but never before visited. It was one of those places that we promised ourselves we would visit - one day. The pub is located on beautiful Dartmoor, near Postbridge, in an area known historically for the presence of tin mines. That day came just last week, while we were driving in heavy rain. The moor was dark and foreboding, with plenty of mist.
We parked at the front of the pub and entered a little world of warmth. Talk about cosy ! The lady who greeted us was most charming, and spent time telling us all about the history of the place and area. Se was a "mine" of information ! We took seats at a table in a room which adjoined the bar area. We sat near the window, and watched the rain beat down, while the mists swirled. What an atmosphere.
The menu is not that large, but it does cover the usual "pub grub" items, plus some "specials", and also a variety of delicious desserts. We selected soup, from two or three different soups on offer, followed by a ploughman's, and other main courses. The food is well-cooked, nicely served, and the portions are of a good size. Th atmosphere, service, food - everything - left us feeling very satisfied. and we can't wait to return one day soon. I know that this hostelry is well-patronized, especially at weekends and in the summer, and it's no wonder. Nice memories !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelDevon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

At 1,645 feet above sea level this is the highest pub on Dartmoor. Wonderful views on a sunny day. It is interesting in that it generates its own electricity, sources all its water from a nearby well and has an open fire which has reputedly burned without a break for several hundred years. Inside one gets the feeling of a real country inn. When I visited there were several log fires burning, creating a really cosy atmosphere. I couldn't try the beer because I was driving and had a long day's work ahead of me that the lunch I enjoyed was superb.

It obviously relies entirely on passing trade and I'm sure that gets many repeat visitors. Certainly, if circumstances are right, I shall visit it again when passing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
182 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Full of character | traditional pub | keep cosy and warm”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location of this favorite of mine is stunning. Just take a look at the breath taking views. Inside is awesome and cosy. It's a traditional dartmoor pub with pub cosy classic after you walks on Dartmoor. I have tried the burgers and pies and are awesomely done.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warren House Inn also viewed

Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Hexworthy, Dartmeet
 
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
Widecombe in the Moor, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to Warren House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing