We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing excellence”
Review of Beechwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beechwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Postbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continuing excellence”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I recently made my third visit to this superb B and B, where Lyn and Adam provide just the sort of expert, friendly, unobtrusive service that is borne of a really high level of professionalism. The bedrooms are very comfortable, the sitting room (which has an excellent library) is cosy and welcoming, and the food (from local ingredients) beautifully prepared and very reasonably priced. The Dartmoor guide provided in the room is extremely informative, particularly for a newcomer to the region, and the house has the advantage of being situated in a most attractive pastoral valley, from which the high moorland is visible and easily accessible, but where one feels protected from its bleakness! It is close to the visitor centre in Postbridge and only a few miles from Princetown's excellent museum. Highly recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    19
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
89
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent a very comfortable night in this charming B&B and wished we had booked for longer. The hosts Lyn and Adam were friendly , welcoming and very helpful. We had a delightful double room upstairs overlooking the garden with a large bathroom for our sole use next door. The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable. There was also a very comfortable guest lounge downstairs with sofas,books and games. The delicious cooked breakfast was in the (potentially )sunny conservatory overlooking the garden. We also had an excellent dinner at the historic Warren House Inn about 2 km up the road. This is a beautiful spot to stay and definitely needs more than one night to enjoy the sights and the comforts of Beechwood.

Room Tip: Upstairs double room overlooking garden is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Exactly as described in the positive posts. Our room as is typical with a lot of UK accommodation was small, but cosy and clean. Not knowing what time we would arrive or the availability of eating establishments nearby we per ordered dinner with Lyn. The two course dinner which included duck and copious vegetables was a highlight of our visit to Cornwall. Beechwood is a place that you would recommend to any friends without hesitation, knowing that they would receive great hospitality. I believe that Beechwood is the only real "B&B" within the boundary of the moors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hi, we were travelling 2 adults and 2 children and stayed for one night in this B&B. Very good situation in the middle of the National Park, ideal for going everywhere. Adam and Lynette's are perfect hosts attending any questions you had and very nice with children.
I'd recommend 100% this B&B.
Greetings from Mallorca.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed back in June with my father and brother on a whistle stop tour of Dartmoor.
First of all I have to say what wonderful hosts Adam& Lyn are and anyone fortunate to stay at the beautiful cottage / cottages will surely agree. After a near seven hour journey which should have taken five we decided to call ahead to advise of our late arrival where Lyn kindly suggest that we eat in a local pub and that she would phone and book a table. when we finally arrived to the wonderful and unique Warren House Inn and although late in the evening Adam had decided to drive up to the pub to make sure we had arrived safely and to introduce himself. It is this type of service that makes one B&B stand out from another and it was the kind of service that we encountered at all times during our stay.
Beechwood is located right in the heart of Dartmoor and the perfect place to recharge those batteries and enjoy the peace and quite of this unique part of the country.
We stayed in two twin rooms which had a large private bathroom and although simply furnished the rooms had everything we needed. Comfortable beds, tea, coffee and biscuits, tv with free-view and everything was so so clean. The wi-fi was intermittent as we did struggle to get a signal from our rooms, however the breakfast/dinning room and lounge seemed absolutely fine so it was not a problem at all for me.
The breakfast each morning was wonderful with a selection of fruit, cheese, meats and either a cooked full English or the kippers which my brother and father found to be delicious. The conservatory looking out to the beautifully kept garden and the hills of Dartmoor in the background was the setting for breakfast and also evening meals. I would suggest that anyone staying has at least one dinner at the property as the other reviews have stated and raved about.

Wonderful hosts, great location, great food and such good value. Thank you again Ed, Iain & Chris

Room Tip: The two twin rooms on the first floor were great as you have the floor to yourself including the wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebfseasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

having read previous tripadviser reviews, we dropped in to Adam and Lynette's late one afternoon with our 2 youngs girls and enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea - the homemade scones were fantastic and the garden setting quite idyllic, beside the lilypond and freerange chickens. We should export your scones with some clotted cream to Japan - they'd be a hit! Thanks very much and see you again! Rob & Akemi

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Adam and Lynette could not be more welcoming and were genial and attentive hosts throught our 4 day stay. They have a knack at remember names of guests and even their favourite breakfast choices and were genuinely interested in how we spent our day trips. It felt like we were friends as well as customers and this spirit facilitated a friendly atmosphere with other customers.

It was the perfect base for sightseeing, walking and cycling broadly in the middle of Dartmoor. The converted double cottage and surrounding gardens were full of character and the breakfasts in the conservatory allowed views across a lovely garden towards various Dartmoor Tors. The breafasts used quality locally sourced ingredients including freshly laid eggs from Lynettes chickens. The tap water originated from its own well and was fresh and cold. The welcome pack was comprehensive even setting out the hotel's green credentials

The bedroom was on the small side but what you would expect from a converted cottage. Although it did not have a bath the shower was hot with a strong flow. The bed was comfortable and bed linen good quality. The car park dimensions are tight but it enables it to appear part of the garden and fit in with the moorland scenery.

It is highly likely we will be having a repeat visit. It is worthy of a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park north-east which was not too bad because it appeared like a garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Postbridge
8.6 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
487 reviews
3.4 mi away
Prince Hall Country House
Prince Hall Country House
#2 of 2 in Two Bridges
316 reviews
5.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lydgate House
Lydgate House
#2 of 4 in Postbridge
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Dart Hotel
East Dart Hotel
#3 of 4 in Postbridge
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood B&B

Property: Beechwood B&B
Address: Beechwood Main Street, Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Postbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Postbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beechwood B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a cottage style bed and breakfast, which accepts well behaved dogs Beechwood is located in the village of Postbridge which is right in the centre of Dartmoor National Park. We try our best to provide hospitality, service and comfort which is truly memorable for all our guests. Dinner is available with prior notice and we are licensed to sell alcohol. In the summer we serve cream teas in our garden, we are also open during Christmas and New Year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beechwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood B&B Postbridge, Dartmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing