We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad we found The Harris - 10 years on”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harris Arms - CLOSED

Harris Arms
Price range: $65 - $65
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So glad we found The Harris - 10 years on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We have been going to The Harris for 10 years - our favourite place to eat, lunch or dinner. It doesn't have a huge menu as they focus on the best fresh local produce not lots of choices that can be kept for extended periods. Great wines - some real bargains - I've often taken an extra bottle or 2 home. Ask for Andy's for a recommendation.
The Harris is a pub with restaurant so it is informal - never rushed even if its late. The food is above the level of typical pubs, it deserves the gastro-pub title.

Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PlymCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    25
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best wine list for miles, and the best-cooked steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The title of my review says it all really, but I must add that the owners, Andy and Rowena, are excellent hosts and are superbly knowledgeable about their wines. The guest beers are well chosen and well kept.

All the food is great, but I cannot resist the steak....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stop for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stop for lunch on our long journey from the Midlands to Cornwall and we happened across this pub on the internet.
The pictures on the website looked much better than the actual building but we stayed for lunch and were not disappointed.
We eat outside overlooking the countryside, which is a lovely view. I had the place with new potatoes and my partner had the slow cooked Pork with Mash and Cider Gravy, both were excellent and the service was pleasant. Do not be put off by the decor, this place is worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaileyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, give it a chance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

On a long journey we wanted somewhere to stop for a meal and found the Harris Arms in the Good Pub Guide; we were particularly attracted to it as it is dog-friendly. We stopped at lunchtime on Sunday for lunch and it was superb. We had a nice welcome from the staff and were seated on the terrace overlooking the gardens and rolling fields. There was a really good choice on the set menu from which you can choose two or three courses and my 24-hour slow roasted pork was the best Sunday lunch I have ever had (away from home!), really tender and with proper roast potatoes rather than the usual frozen deep fried imitations. My husband had the fish and chips option and was really impressed with the haddock, very well cooked and lovely crispy batter.
The pub itself is possibly a little tired and from the road does not look the most inviting but inside it is cozy and traditional. There is a good selection of beer and wine on offer and friendly service. The ladies toilet could do with a lick of paint and a bit of a smarten-up but this is the only criticism I have.
This is well worth a detour and deserves the awards it has and the mentions it has the Michelin Guide, Good Food Guide etc. Please give this pub a chance and don't just pass it by.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Okay, could be a bit better...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited here for a drink on our travels early in the week we visited the area, then went back for dinner mid-week. The service was really quick and unlike other reviews, the staff were very helpful and friendly, even giving directions to many travellers diverted off the A30 due to an accident who came in for help.

Our party of 6 all had starters and main courses, the starters were all very nice but of the main courses, the rare rib-eye steak looked like it had been pounded to within an ince of its life as it was very thin, and although cooked rare, no juices could be found in it. The medium rib eye however did appear to be a little better. Three of our party all had the confit of duck and all said it was very good and my vegetarian main was tasty.

Only a couple of us could manage deserts and these were okay, although three of our party ordered liqueur coffees as their pud but these arrived after the deserts had been finished.

The choice on the menu isn't vast, and as one of our party isn't a very adventurous eater, she was a bit stuck for choice. On the other hand, there is a great wine list and our choice didn't disappoint.

My only reason for the average review was the quite frankly poorly cooked steaks. This isn't a cheap and cheerful place to eat, 5 starters, 6 mains, 3 puds, 3 liqueur coffees, 2 bottles of wine, came to just over £200, and I'm not sure it was worth it, if I'm honest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jocrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Arms also viewed

Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Belstone, Okehampton
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing