We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantisch und einfach wunderschön!”
Review of Bearslake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bearslake Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Eine sehr stimmige Unterkunft in einem historischen ehemaligen Bauernhof, mit einem hervorragenden Restaurant, einer urigen Bar und einem wunderschönen Biergarten.
Zimmer ebenfalls sehr einladend, grosszügig, sauber und mit guten Betten und schönen Badezimmern ausgestattet.
Idealer Ausgangspunkt um beispielsweise Tintagel oder das Dartmoor zu erkunden;
zentral wie ruhig gelegen - können es nur bestens empfehlen, würden jederzeit wieder kommen!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Bearslake Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2010

This place is a gem. It is right out of a picture book. The perfect place to walk, eat and sleep. The staff are incredible. They are helpful and friendly. They made us feel right at home. Just out the back of the inn is a garden with views of the moor, sheep peacefully grazing, a brook. I could go on and on. I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend as a base for exploring Dartmoor.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naveron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My sister and I recently spent three nights at the Bearslake Inn. It's family-owned and run, and we found the owners and all the staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the Saddle Room, which is really a suite, with its own front door leading into the garden. It had comfortable beds (one double, two single, and an extra bed available), a bathroom with bath and shower, large flat-screen TV, tea-making facilities, sofa, dining table, desk and a lovely view over the garden, stream and hills. Everywhere was clean, fresh and well-maintained. We used the bar and restaurant each night and found the food excellent. Breakfast was freshly-cooked, and delicious. We liked the inn so much that we hope to return sometime in the next month or two with our mother. I often stay in hotels on my own, and this is one that I would definitely feel comfortable staying in alone, and with a desk to work at, I'd find it perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

stayed in Devon for 4 nights and this was our absolute favourite, the rooms were amazing, large clean comfortable, with great views.
the food in the restaurant was top quality and the breakfast also was amazing, would definately recommend any one to say here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannineJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

This is a very traditional looking inn complete with thatched roof, small doorways, low ceilings and exposed beams. On entering the car park you can’t help but think what a great looking and inviting place this is. The inside is very much in keeping with the traditional look of the outside as well with its alcoves, stone floors and wood burning stoves keeping the place warm.

We arrived by bike as we were doing the Devon coast to coast from Plymouth to Ilfracombe. There are bike racks to the right of the car park where we left our bikes securely locked for the night and everything was OK in the morning. The room that we occupied was called Cider Press and was a very nice room. Again, you get all the traditional features of a thatched ‘cottage’ building including a low beam that you had to duck under to reach the bed or the bathroom. Initial appearances are impressive as the room is very tastefully decorated and well furnished. The floors are very uneven as well which becomes more apparent when you put anything on the bedside cabinets as things slide to one side. This room was very large with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and small windows with a view onto the front of the building.

The bathroom is equally spacious with a bath and shower to choose from. Again like the main room, everything was clean, tidy and spotless. There isn’t a great deal else around the Bearslake Inn, but once there, you really don’t need much else. Out in the back of the inn there is an enormous beer garden that I would imagine is very popular in the summertime. There are many tables to sit at and there’s even a small stream running through the garden that you can sit by.

Whilst we were there we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a nice bottle of wine with a vegetarian starter and main course. Whilst the food was very good, one thing I would say is that they do give you a little too much. With a starter of soup, we were unable to finish the main course. The service however was good and friendly and the surroundings very pleasant.

Breakfast is also eaten in the main restaurant and this consisted of cereals and the full English breakfast. Again, nothing to complain about here.

Overall I thought this was an excellent place to stay, it was clean and comfortable, had real ales in the bar and a restaurant serving good food. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed here with friends for one night and were really impressed with our rooms (Hayloft and Cider Press). They were very spacious and clean. The breakfast was good with a wide choice and served by a friendly waitress.

It is a beautiful thatched cottage with a lovely garden and stream and is situated on a main road with easy access to Dartmoor National Park.

Unfortunately, it did not have a friendly or relaxed atmosphere. There seemed to be a lot of signage generally telling you all the things you are not allowed to do. I got the impression the owners were very precious about their property.

We were greeted by an aggressive and bolshy gardener who claimed to be ‘in charge.’ And wasted no time in telling us one or two things we weren’t allowed to do.

I would also say that the menu in the restaurant for evening meals was limited and overpriced. I would recommend driving a few miles down the road to the Fox and Hounds for traditionally home cooked good food.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
8.2 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
257 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
4.7 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
396 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearslake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearslake Inn

Address: Lake, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range: $155 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bearslake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bearslake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearslake Hotel Okehampton
Bearslake Inn Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing