We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Bearslake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bearslake Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I Stayed in 'the stable' room 01/03/14, with our two dogs. Room was huge, spotlessly clean with everything you could ask for. What a setting for a stay on Dartmoor - easy to find on a (not to busy) moorland main road, friendly welcome, nothing seemed to much trouble, and there is immediate access to the moor and fantastic walks and cycle routes. After a perfect Walk up 'the granite way' including a walk over the viaduct, our dogs were exhausted - so were we but a couple of leather chairs and a glass or three was perfect before dinner. The quality of the food is worth a visit all on its own - god menu of local produce, along with the specials gives a wide selection. We both has steak (perfectly cooked) and I heard other guests raving about both the venison and lamb dishes. Perfect nights sleep before tackling the breakfast - again plenty of choice and perfectly cooked. No guilt here as you have the best of both worlds - eat and drink what you like and walk it all off over the moors. Will definitely be booking again, probably two night stay next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 219 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Brilliant sunday lunch and excellent value. Very good sorroundings. One of the best places I have been to.The food was very tasty and plenty to eat. More vegeatarian options would have been good. The sorrondings are lovely and very close to a cycle path. It was well worth travelling 10 miles.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulmatecornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just spent a wonderful night at this first class country Inn! We stayed in The Saddle room and what a beautiful suite it is! Everything in the room was immaculate. We had a few drinks at the bar served by the lovely Jess! Then into the restaurant for dinner. I had crab to start followed by rack of lamb and my girlfriend had scallops followed by Salmon. All delicious, perfectly cooked and served with a smile! Off to bed, and what a lovely, comfortable bed it was! After a good nights sleep we tucked into a superb full English breakfast before checking out. All for £210 (£50 of which was booze!) Faultless! Don't hesitate, just go, its a wonderful establishment and a credit to the owners and staff. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed in the Saddle room in September 2013.

This is a charming building, with excellent friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, and top rate food. I couldn't fault anything about our stay.

The helpful staff (and owners) made our stay easy and relaxing even before we got there, we changed our booking at the last minute and this was accommodated without fuss. We were made welcome as soon as we got there. The room was beautiful, clean, comfortable and a real pleasure to be in. The bathroom was large and spotless.

We had our dog with us, and so ate in the bar most evenings, but the food was brilliant. We treated ourselves to steak on the last night and I can totally recommend it.

The setting is great, with Dartmoor right on the door step, and Tavistock a short drive away.

Many thanks for making our stay so pleasant, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the saddle room. This is a large room, with separate bathroom. The area has a sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thew0rldandbey0nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bearslake Inn has beautiful grounds, an excellent restaurant, comfortable rooms and great character and charm. It is located on the northern edge of Dartmoor National Park within easy access of the north Cornwall coast, Exeter and the park itself.
Rooms are comfortable and spotless. The staff is friendly and accomodating. With its thatched roof and warren of public rooms, it is definitely a one-of-a-kind place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed with friends for one night. We had the Saddle Room while they had the Longhouse. From the start the staff were very welcoming. We were offered fresh milk in a flask for our room which was a lovely touch. There were lots of teas, coffees and chocolates and the shampoos, bodywash etc were lovely and plentiful.

The rooms were beautiful. Very clean and pretty with fanastic views. There are some low beams and you have to be careful and you do end up walking slightly stooped which may be an issue for long stays!

All four of us were in agreement about the restaurant. The evening meal was lovely and each of us could have chosen more than one thing easily and we will probably have a trip back. Breakfast was also lovely, the cooked breakfast was lovely and clean and they can't do enough for you.

Would highly recommend for couples and groups. Great starting point for exploring the countryside.

Room Tip: We really loved the Saddle Room suite which we had for just the two of us but you could very easily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobro3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything about our brief stay here was wonderful.

Bearslake is located in beautiful countryside. Just looking around is good for the soul. The room was spacious, clean, warm and cozy. The food was good - really good - and without exception the staff were all attentive, friendly and helpful.

Would I stay there again? Yep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
5.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
300 reviews
10.3 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
8.2 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
16.7 mi away
The Rock Inn
The Rock Inn
#1 of 2 in Haytor Vale
362 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Anchor Inn
The Anchor Inn
#1 of 6 in Ivybridge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearslake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearslake Inn

Address: Lake, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range: $169 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bearslake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bearslake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearslake Hotel Okehampton
Bearslake Inn Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing