We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn on the edge of Dartmoor”
Review of Bearslake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bearslake Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn on the edge of Dartmoor”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was among the best accomm and dining experiences on my trip this year. Lovely old Inn with lots of genuine character, beautiful little garden and plenty of parking.
The Hayloft room very comfortable indeed, with French doors offering a lovely view of the garden, little brook and across to the moor.
Drinks in the friendly bar and gorgeous dinner in the restaurant, extensive local menu. Breakfast was excellent with more than the usual choices.
My only disappointment? I wish I had planned a longer stay! I loved it and will definitely come again when next in the area.

Room Tip: Hayloft room was just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    39
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
37
125
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the room, the breakfast, the bar, the great dinner, the ambience, and in fact the whole thing. Highly recommended for good value and a good experience. It is well located for touring Dartmoor, walking, visiting other places of interest, and it is easy to find.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room, and did not see any of the others but I bet they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom44UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betley
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had the most delightful three nights at this cosy welcoming charming pub with wonderful food, exceptional value for money can only imagine what it would be like on a snowy winters night cant wait to go back well worth a visit !!

Room Tip: we stayed in the hayloft lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at Bearslake to do some walking on the moor. The place is ideal for that since the moor is directly behind the inn.

The room we had was not elaborately furnished, but it was clean and very comfortable. A very pleasant place to be after a long tramp.

The inn has a fine dining room where the food served is of excellent quality and there is a good selection of beers and wine. The service here was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful throughout the inn.

A word of warning: The quality of the dining at Bearslake is a good reason to visit. However, on our second night we discovered that the dining room was not open to guests because the inn was running a wine tasting. We were asked to take dinner at 18.45 or wait until after 21.00. Moreover we were required to eat in the 'pub' area. Unlike the dining room, these areas were more spartan and there was limited service. It certainly took the edge off the meal., which is a pity. We did think we should have been warned of this restriction when we booked. If part of your visit is to enjoy good food in pleasant surroundings, check beforehand that the dining room will be open to guests during your stay. If it is not, I would advise you to think again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearslake, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, we are very glad that you enjoyed the majority of your visit and agree wholeheartedly that this is a great place to be based when exploring Dartmoor.

We are sorry that we failed to warn you about the Wine Tasting when you changed the dates for your stay; this was an oversight which we were happy to apologise for. We have since reviewed our process in an effort to avoid a similar mistake in the future.

Although not always necessary, we do recommend booking a table for dinner to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just stayed at Brearslake Inn Sourton in Devon. What a lovely place to stay ! The staff are very helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent good portions beautifully presented and plenty of choice real ale and real food. The room was clean and very comfortable with a beautiful view of the garden with a steam running through it and a beautiful view of the moors this made our stay very relaxing. The local walks with a viaduct just a ten minute walk away once again stunning views. I would recommend anyone in this area to pop in to this traditional Inn to get the real taste of Devon well done Bearslake look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed one night abd ate in restaurant. Quaint old village thatched Inn, Comfortble room (Cider Press) this an old building so dont expect everything to be level.

Nice bar as to the some real ales, and comforatable sitting area.

We ate in the restaurant menu had fine choices and the food was excellent..

The only criticism we have is when spending a night away we dont expect breakfast to end at 9am on a Saturday or 9.30am on a sunday and due to this fact will be put off staying again. A lie in on a day off would be nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slps27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inglaterra
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We came across this place some years ago, stopped for refreshments and ended up staying for 2 nights, it was wonderful. Conversation with the owners and locals an excellent laugh and exceptional company all at an affordable price.
We went back last week and oh dear. The room was cold, bedding damp, no heating on until after 8pm, basic larger £5.25 a pint, expensive meals both bar and restaurant and while nice they were nothing special to justify the price.
No proper soap, the sink and shower had pump type containers (try putting that on a flannel).
The Toby jugs above the bar had cobwebs going from one to another. The "new" bar was to high and overpowered the Snug bar by it's sheer size and bulk. There was not a local in sight and at the above prices I am not surprised. The bar was closed at 10.40 and in darkness.
Then there's the little wooden plaques set around the room, all asking the client to do something to help reduce their (The Bearslake's) carbon footprint. I am sure they were meant to read "please help us to reduce our cost to aid our profits". we stayed in the same room as last time and found the fixtures and fitting to be of a good standard but a bit tired around the edges. Irrespective of the title the Bearslake gives it's self be it restaurant/hotel it is no more than a Pub/Inn with accommodation and food and at £95 per night for a double room it again was not good value this late in the season. We toured Devon and Cornwall for the week and never paid more than £70 a night anywhere else and they were all similar places, also we never were charged over £3.50 for a pint of the same larger and no where near the same prices for food.
The only "up" was two members of staff, in fact the only staff we saw, who were brilliant. The building and it's history are wonderful but everything else, we felt, was exploitation.
What a crying shame, we had such good memories of our last visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearslake, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit and in particular the allegation that your room was cold and bedding damp. This is most surprising. Had you told us of your concern we would have sorted things out immediately.

We pride ourselves on cooking from fresh using local ingredients and with starters from £5.75 and mains from £8.50 on the bar menu and £12 on the restaurant menu would not have thought of ourselves as being expensive. Our portions are not normally on the small side and are usually considered to be good value for money.

With the help and advice of the local authorities we are trying to do our bit to promote green tourism, many of our customers are happy to support us by switching off lights when not in the room, the notice is intended as a gentle reminder. Over recent months we have made a significant investment in low energy LED lighting through the main building and endeavour to reduce packaging waste by the use of pump action soaps and shampoo. We still have much to do but remain committed to supporting good environmental stewardship.

Since April of this year the price of a pint of Carlsberg has been £3.50 and a pint of real ale from £3.30.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
8.2 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
11.4 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
10.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
9.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
411 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearslake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearslake Inn

Property: Bearslake Inn
Address: Lake, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bearslake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bearslake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearslake Hotel Okehampton
Bearslake Inn Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing