We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Bearslake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bearslake Inn
Ranked #2 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Bearslake Inn was a great place to stay. There were four of us staying over the Easter period and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The property is charming and quaint, with low beams and uneven surfaces and this adds to its beautiful charm. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and well furnished. We ate at the pub for dinner throughout our entire stay and were certainly not disappointed - it was really excellent. Breakfasts were also very good and they really do look after you. The snug bar is a really comfortable place to relax after a day's walking and the staff make you feel really welcome and look after you. Do try to make sure you do some of the area's great walks. In addition, nearby Lydford Gorge is truly magical - not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MD_London_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    39
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
35
123
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate a brithday and can only offer prasie to the staff, the location, the rooms and the food. I would 100% recommend staying and eating here, you can't go wrong, excellent array of spirits and ales at the bar. The warm sunny weather made this beautiful place even more inviting, however we have also visited during a colder month and it was gorgeous with the open fires and cosey atmosphere.

The rooms really were lovely and spacious and the staff happliy organised champagne and flowers to be in the room for my mother in law for her birthday. The breakfast was fantastic with excelent choice and flexibility. We had breakfast lunch and evening meals and were extremely impressed with the quality and freshness of all of them, we certianly did not go hungry!

We took our 2 little dogs who were welcomed and they have a couple of rooms that they allow dogs to stay in which open onto the garden, we found this very handy.

I would highly recommend a visit, we shall definately be going back.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely, if you go onto the website you can view them, however the website, in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton, devon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My wife and I took my daughter and her partner out for lunch to celebrate the 14th anniversary of my fathers passing. Lovely and warm in the small room. Unfortunately the food was not very hot, as it took three trips to bring it from the kitchen which was a fair way away. The portions were quite small, considering the price for the Sunday Roast was £9.95.I had checked it out on Tripadvisor, so we made the trip of over 30 miles, to be disappointed unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearslake, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am very sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your meal; I only wish that you had said something at the time and had given us the opportunity to put things right which we would have gladly done.
We will look very closely at what we do to reduce the risk of this problem occurring again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed here with friends for one night and we loved it. Excellent bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a Sunday night so it was a bit quiet, but we had an enjoyable meal and a very good evening. Nice gardens. Ample parking. Right on the Granite Trail so you can walk from the door. I can imagine that it may get busy in the summer. The bar area is not very large but there are rooms off.
Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: The Hayloft is delightful. Very spacious with seating area and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatwards Heath
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Bearslake Inn in January- despite awful weather! Friendly people, good food, and a lovely cosy room to come back to after long walks onto Dartmoor straight from the Inn. And it was so nice to come into the bar on a freezing snowy day to warm ourselves beside a log burner and have hot soup for lunch. We didn't want to leave! (Breakfast and dinner were also excellent). Thank you to all there who made us feel so welcome. We are looking forward to our next visit- hopefully with the whole family next time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We visited the Bearslake Inn over Christmas to meet our family for lunch; on their recommendation. It feels like you're in the middle of Dartmoor yet it's just minutes from the A30. We had our meal in the 'snug' where there was an open fire. It was very cosy and warm. The staff were very friendly and attentive despite it being quite busy. It was a Sunday so we all had roasts, but they had lighter snacks on the menu too. Don't expect two meals for a fiver but it wasn't badly priced considering all their meat is locally sourced. The ales were local too and were going down well according to my husband!
We'll definitely be back - well worth a visit!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We only stopped for lunch, on our way back from Cornwall to Bath, based on reviews on Trip Advisor.
On a positive note, the staff were very friendly, sadly there are many negatives.
Primarily the area we had our lunch in was extremely cold even though a fire was burning. I did check and found all the radiators in the immediate area were stone cold.
The food left a deal to be desired except for a small portion, elderly father, of ham egg and chips, but then you cannot really go wrong there.
I had roast pork, no crackling to be seen, potatoes ok but the vegetables were not very good at all, I still cannot decide what the overcooked sprouts tasted of. The gravy, although tasty, was glutinous to say the least suggesting it had been sat protecting the meat for some time.
My wife had poached salmon. This was accompanied by a dry salad (?) and the aforementioned vegetables but the new potatoes were fine. No sauce of any description.
In simple terms a poor experience for a not, innexpensive meal.

Room Tip: Just sit by the fire and just have a drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobago_Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearslake, Owner at Bearslake Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for your positive comments about our friendly staff.

I am very sorry to hear that you found the room to be cold, it is always difficult to achieve a temperature to everyone's liking but based on your comments we will aim for warmer in future.

I am also very dissappointed that you were unhappy with your meal. The quality of our food and customer satisfaction are very important to us, had you drawn your concerns to our attention at the time we would have gladly put things right there and then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
8.2 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
179 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
10.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
9.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearslake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearslake Inn

Property: Bearslake Inn
Address: Lake, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bearslake Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bearslake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearslake Hotel Okehampton
Bearslake Inn Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing