We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local bike trail”
Review of The Granite Way

The Granite Way
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Okehampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Local bike trail”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Use this before, still a good way to avoid the traffic by bike. The views from the way are still breath taking particularly over the viducts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grandsire8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    59
    7
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good cycling with the children”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The granite way offers good cycling with the children. The climb out of Okehampton to the start is hardgoing for young ones but they enjoyed the viaducts, the feeling of being out near the moors and finding newts in the old ponds

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I spent the day cycling from Okehampton train station to Lydford. The weather was great, the track was nearly always flat and there seemed to be very little rubbish around. The only down side is that they haven't joined two parts of it up meaning you need to take a diversion on a busy main road for around 1/2 a mile. Apart from the diversion I cannot fault the track especially as I understand they are working on joining the two sections together. Be aware of thieves at the Okehampton station end. Don't leave your bike rack on the car etc.. - Signs around the car park remind you of this.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisTempleMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for cycling, not quite as good for walking”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Personally I am a big fan of walking the old railway tracks in UK. This one however left me with only a 'good enough' rating for a walk. I walked from Okehampton station. The concerns were :

1. It was mostly Tarmac - hard under foot for 10+ miles. Great for cycling.

2. Very close to a30 for too much time. You suddenly notice how loud it is. After viaduct - much better and more in the country.

3. Okehampton station was oddly laid out - we parked as recommended on the youth hostel side - to find the gate back closed. That said it's free and lots if parking and toilets/cafe/info.

We still enjoyed it. Great views of castle and lovely views after Sourton.

Would be easy going for families walking and cycling - especially with young children or pushchairs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thestoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Well Presented Cycle Track as Far as it Goes”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Starting at Okehampton my wife and I set out for Lydford using the Granite Way. The cycle path is easy to use until you get to the Lake Viaduct where if you continue only goes to a picnic site whereas the suggested route takes you through country lanes to Bridestow a pretty Devon village, however, the climb out of the village to rejoin the cycle path was demanding (only three gears). There was a distinct lack of refreshment stops apart from pubs. A most enjoyable ride with dramatic views of Dartmoor.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Granite Way also viewed

Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park
Lydford, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Granite Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing