We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Devon”
Review of Coombe Trenchard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coombe Trenchard
Ranked #8 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Weekend in Devon”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just came back from a weekend in Devon. Coombe Trenchard is a beautiful house with amazing grounds and an even better countryside backdrop. It's pretty well situated, about 40 minutes drive from Dartmoor, though a car is definitely needed to get there and to fully explore the local area. The room we stayed in especially was one of the best I've stayed in, I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombeTrenchard, Owner at Coombe Trenchard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. You are right, having a car is a definite advantage when touring the beautiful country side around West Devon. Being in close proximity to Dartmoor (in fact we are only 10 mins away), the coast (35 mins) and a selection of historic towns, means that there is always plenty to see and do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Escapism! Wonderfully relaxing, very comfortable and such a beautiful house with lovely grounds, views over the countryside. Very peaceful, no noise - just what was needed. Good breakfast with friendly owners who helped with information about the nearby places to visit. Very enjoyable

Room Tip: We had the Shapland & Petter room with adjoining bathroom - wonderful and spacious. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombeTrenchard, Owner at Coombe Trenchard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. So pleased you found your stay so relaxing, and your room comfortable. We do find that one the most frequent comments we get from guests is regarding how quiet the location is, and how well they slept at Coombe Trenchard.
We will keep you up to date through our newsletter on all that is going on here, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We live locally and had promised ourselves a visit to the Sculpture exhibition and then lunch at Lewtrenchard Manor. Given the weather since the opening, and the fact I work on Fridays we were running out of time, but then, oh joy, the sun shone today, we booked for lunch and off we went. I was expecting to be more interested in the house & garden than the sculpture, but it was brilliant. It was so well planned and thought out, and the sculpture was so cleverly sited. It was lovely to see the umbrellas out on the terrace and people thronging to sit in the sun, and enjoy the glorious gardens. The owners were charming and informative and we thoroughly enjoyed the hour we spent. The route was set out so you saw all the sculpture and the garden without repetition. I even liked some of the sculpture, although most of it was in the wildly expensive league. However, it did show how well modern sculpture could sit in an Arts & Crafts garden. Many congratulations to the owners for their marvellous restoration of this lovely place & better luck with the weather for future ventures.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombeTrenchard, Owner at Coombe Trenchard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of the house & gardens. We had excellent feedback from our first Garden Sculpture exhibition, and we will be repeating it again for 2013.
The restoration of the gardens is a real passion for Philip and myself, and one that we are wholeheartedly enjoying, it is so nice to hear that it is enjoyed by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Coombe Trenchard again soon.
Best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Beautiful house, friendly & welcoming atmosphere. Great service and attention to detail, just the peaceful & beautiful break we were needing before our first child is born!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombeTrenchard, Owner at Coombe Trenchard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope all went well with the new baby, we look forward to welcoming all 3 of you sometime soon.
Best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have stayed at Coombe Trenchard 3 or 4 times now and it is an absolute gem. You couldn't wish for a warmer welcome than the one you will receive from Sarah. She made us feel completely at ease and totally relaxed. The furnishings and facilities in the self catering accommodtion are second to none, its spacious too and the gardens are amazing - we really did not want to leave. Please also try and go to their Plant Festival, its a great day out with high quality exhibitors and the best festival food ever from the Food Groove !

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, go and see for yourself !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol5061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoombeTrenchard, Owner at Coombe Trenchard, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for you lovely review, it was a pleasure having you both to stay. I am so glad you were able to spend time in the gardens, and that you enjoyed meeting the animals.
Best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed in the East Wing of this beautiful Arts and Crafts house during May and June 2011. The accommodation is very comfortable and stylish with lots of personal touches and attention to detail. Owners Sarah and Philip were very welcoming and were always happy to talk about the renovation of the house and gardens. The property is set in the beautiful countryside of West Devon and really is a hidden gem. There are lots of good walks in the area and Dartmoor is on the doorstep, but just strolling around the grounds of Coombe Trenchard is a joy. The small collection of sheep, goats, donkeys, free ranging peacocks, guinea fowl and chickens was another attraction and always amused us.
We would thoroughly recommend Coombe Trenchard for a relaxing holiday in this very special part of Devon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I'm glad to see that Coombe Trenchard is on TripAdvisor now as, my boyfriend, my parents and I spent a thoroughly relaxing five days there, in the East Wing, over Easter 2011. We were received with a very warm welcome by Sarah, the house owner. She made everything really clear for us and was very approachable throughout our stay, advising us about local places of interest and places to dine out when we asked.

The accommodation was immaculately clean and had lots of lovely personal touches.

Whether you have a previous interest in the Arts and Crafts movement or not, you can't help being interested in the history of the house. We were free to walk around the gardens which are being slowly and carefully renovated to their former glory. We were totally charmed by the house and there were plenty of books on Arts and Crafts to keep us busy on the one rainy day we had.

We stayed in the Shapland & Petter and the Tower Room which were both warm and cosy as well as spacious and nicely furnished, with access to a brand new shower room and study. The Kitchen is really lovely too; we were happy to stay in on three nights as it was really good to socialise in in the evenings.

There is lots going on in the area so I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Coombe Trenchard to anyone looking for a more active holiday or just a relaxing break.

Room Tip: All three rooms available are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
387 reviews
4.0 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
510 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lobhill Farmhouse
Lobhill Farmhouse
#1 of 2 in Lewdown
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lee Byre
Lee Byre
#1 of 2 in Coryton
74 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Trenchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Trenchard

Property: Coombe Trenchard
Address: Coombe Trenchard Coombe Trenchard Lewtrenchard | Lewdown, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coombe Trenchard 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within over 100 acres of parkland, pasture and woodland, Coombe Trenchard offers the perfect location for a tranquil holiday. We offer country house bed and breakfast with the option of light supper.Enjoy a delicious breakfast on the South facing terrace in summer and cream tea and crumpets in front of a log fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Coombe Trenchard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Trenchard Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing