We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome for cider cyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Widefield Farm
Ranked #8 of 23 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Tenby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome for cider cyclists”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Two mature couples cycling sustrans route 27 coast to coast across Devon found the tranquill surroundings even more peacefull by the warm welcome from the hosts Danielle and Chris.
One of the best breakfasts for a long time and the quality of the accomadation shone everywhere, including the cycle store.We would definately reccomend this B & B to everyone, especially cyclists.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hawes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What a delightful place to spend some quality thinking time away from it all. The hosts Danielle and Chris are welcoming but not intrusive and gave us some very useful information about the local area. The bedroom was lovely - very spacious with an extremely comfortable bed and amp,e wardrobe and cupboard space. The dining room/ lounge with its wood running stove was really cosy and a great place to sit after a day out.

The setting is superb with garden areas but also the chickens (no rooster!) provided a nice distraction.

I would heartily recommend this incredibly reasonably priced bed and breakfast. I certainly intend making a return visit as it is ideally located for the moors.

Room Tip: Very small place so no problem at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Excellent hosts Danielle & Chris made our 2 night stay a break to remember. The accommodation had been renovated beautifully, with every attention to detail. Our room was extremely large & comfortable, exceptional bathroom with larger than average shower, fluffy white towels & bathrobes provided too. Breakfast included fresh eggs from the owners chickens, & other locally sourced foods, all cooked individually to order. We were introduced to the familys' other animals, a horse, a miniature pony & some new born orphaned lambs, which I had the pleasure of holding one of. Danielle gave us useful information about places to visit, & also where to eat. Great place for couples or all the family. There is also a self catering holiday cottage on the site, which looks fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a lovely B&B this is, the best one I have stayed in so far. Great location in lovely countryside with views of Dartmoor and near Okehampton. Chris and Danielle are very friendly hosts and Danielle cooked a great breakfast and gave good advice on places to visit. Good variety of breakfast food to choose from, simply let them know from a list what you would like to have the evening before. Fresh eggs, bacon, sausage, porridge, cereals, baked beans, tomatoes, mushrooms, fresh milk, granary bread toast or white toast or brown toast and lots of home jams to choose from. I stayed in the Haverleigh double bedroom with lovely comfortable king size bed, large room, separate en-suite bathroom with power shower, lovely fluffy towels and Body Shop lemon shower gel, banana shampoo and conditioner and hand wash. Also provided dressing gown. TV with digital channels. Well heated despite the cold weather. They have some lovely hens, a horse and miniature pony, an old white cat which Danielle carried in to the breakfast room for me to meet as he stays in most of the time. Loved waking the two dogs Honey and Willow for a run in the field, Honey the youngest who is Willow's puppy loved playing with her ball. Lovely cosy breakfast room with chairs and wood burner. Would definitely come and stay here again, not surprised they have such great reviews.

Room Tip: Peaceful and quiet as in the countryside, lovely king sized bed with views of the front garden. Dan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Little Widefield Farm and were delighted by the warmth of the welcome, helpfulness and the top-notch quality of the accommodation. The breakfast was fantastic and it was so cosy by the fire in the evening. It was just for an overnight stay en-route to Cornwall, but we will be back here again t stay for longer. Thanks so much Danielle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen10553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

King size bed, crisp white linen, fresh, clean and utterly relaxing. Lovely en-suite with Body Shop goodies and fluffy dressing gowns. Drinking a glass of wine by the wood burner in a cosy little lounge/diner, lit by candles and listening to very chilled music made for a really boutique B&B experience. Thank you Danielle and Chris!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipSherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We went here for our mini-moon after our wedding and wished we had booked more nights. Chris and Danielle were so welcoming and accommodating. The breakfast they provided was delicious and the grounds were very picturesque with views of rolling fields and their 2 beautiful horses and pony. Little Widefield was a great base for exploring Dartmoor National Park and the very cute town of Okehampton. Hope to make it back again someday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allynsocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Okehampton hotels
6.3 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 23 in Okehampton
43 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bearslake Inn
Bearslake Inn
#2 of 23 in Okehampton
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Betty Cottles Inn
Betty Cottles Inn
#1 of 1 in Graddon Cross
105 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairway Lodge
Fairway Lodge
#7 of 23 in Okehampton
60 reviews
2.7 mi away
YHA Okehampton
YHA Okehampton
#6 of 8 in Okehampton
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Widefield Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Widefield Farm

Property: Little Widefield Farm
Address: Little Widefield Northlew Road, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Widefield Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Little Widefield Farm Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing