We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay on coast to coast cycle ride”

Meadowlea Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowlea Guest House
Ranked #3 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“overnight stay on coast to coast cycle ride”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed here on sat 6 th april on way to plymouth on coast to coast cycle ride ,the b and b is in a good position just a short walk to pubs and resturants etc ,the rooms were clean with all you would like, tea making etc the breakfast was great well cooked and plenty to eat ,we picked this property as we required cycle secure lock up whic is ideal and you r right on route for the next day start,plus the owners were good nothing to much trouble for them to help etc,a great place to stay and cycle friendly would use again

Room Tip: rooms all good no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
23
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife, myself and other family members stayed overnight whilst attending a wedding on April 5th. We found the owners very friendly, professional and accommodating - especially as were not coming back into the property until just after 1 in the morning.
The ensuite rooms of each family member were well decorated, comfortable and very clean and tidy. We all slept well. The breakfast was help-yourself-to-starters and the 'Full English' was tasty, well cooked and plentiful.
We rated this guest house as excellent value for money and a place we would certainly recommend. Station Road was quiet and we parked easily just outside the Meadowlea.
Just up the road is a golf course and in the other direction a lovely woodland area called Simmons Park.
Okehampton has a wonderful old market town feel to it and the Meadowlea is convenient for Exeter and a good stop-over point for onward journeys into Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A handy location to explore Devon & Cornwall, this B & B has everything you need - a clean, comfortable bed and room, good en-suite facilities, a quality breakfast with fresh fruit and lots of choices in cereals etc. Efficiently run, it does feel a little less intimate than a B & B, but I suppose hence the classification of guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Really comfortable hotel with warm welcome and a terrific breakfast. We were able to use the fridge and microwave which was a huge bonus to us , as was the wifi. The room was spacious with a huge shower room, and the beds very comfortable with nice quality bedding. Excellent value for money would highly recommend

Room Tip: Twin with en-suite is lovely room at the front with bay window and large shower room (no bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteforest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

From the moment the door was answered we felt very welcome and relaxed. Mark chatted with us and even offered us refreshing drinks after our long bike ride. Our tandem was locked in an enclosed safe space and after we had checked out lesley and mark let us leave it there and our panniers in the lounge to keep dry out of the rain while we nipped to a local museum. The breakfast was generous with quality ingredients- thick bacon after fresh fruit salad. Our room was large and very tastefully decorated. We would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottecantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here on a long trip back from Cornwall. Very nice B&B with clean rooms, welcoming staff, huge comfy bed and a good choice of biscuits in the room. Breakfast choice was very good and excellent cooked breakfast (would of been perfect with black pudding :) ). Very short walk to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for an overnight stop in the middle of our Devon Coast to Coast cycle ride. (our start was in Ilfracombe at The Olive Branch - also very good).
We were warmly welcomed and offered cycle storage at the back of the house albeit not under cover - I think all the covered storage was in use by a team of Land's End to John O'Groats riders. The twin room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was good but the shower cubicle was small making it a little difficult to wash muddy legs.
I was very pleased and surprised to be offered a warming and drying facility for our cycling kit which made all the difference.
Breakfast was excellent and could not be faulted.

Location is good, right on the cycle route 27 which we were following, and close to The Granite Way.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
178 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 24 in Okehampton
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okeside Cottage B&B
Okeside Cottage B&B
#12 of 24 in Okehampton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlea Guest House

Property: Meadowlea Guest House
Address: 65 Station Road | Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadowlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlea Guest House Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing