We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 2 night stay”

Meadowlea Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meadowlea Guest House
Ranked #3 of 24 Okehampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great 2 night stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

A handy location to explore Devon & Cornwall, this B & B has everything you need - a clean, comfortable bed and room, good en-suite facilities, a quality breakfast with fresh fruit and lots of choices in cereals etc. Efficiently run, it does feel a little less intimate than a B & B, but I suppose hence the classification of guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
23
21
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Really comfortable hotel with warm welcome and a terrific breakfast. We were able to use the fridge and microwave which was a huge bonus to us , as was the wifi. The room was spacious with a huge shower room, and the beds very comfortable with nice quality bedding. Excellent value for money would highly recommend

Room Tip: Twin with en-suite is lovely room at the front with bay window and large shower room (no bath)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteforest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

From the moment the door was answered we felt very welcome and relaxed. Mark chatted with us and even offered us refreshing drinks after our long bike ride. Our tandem was locked in an enclosed safe space and after we had checked out lesley and mark let us leave it there and our panniers in the lounge to keep dry out of the rain while we nipped to a local museum. The breakfast was generous with quality ingredients- thick bacon after fresh fruit salad. Our room was large and very tastefully decorated. We would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottecantab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here on a long trip back from Cornwall. Very nice B&B with clean rooms, welcoming staff, huge comfy bed and a good choice of biscuits in the room. Breakfast choice was very good and excellent cooked breakfast (would of been perfect with black pudding :) ). Very short walk to town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend for an overnight stop in the middle of our Devon Coast to Coast cycle ride. (our start was in Ilfracombe at The Olive Branch - also very good).
We were warmly welcomed and offered cycle storage at the back of the house albeit not under cover - I think all the covered storage was in use by a team of Land's End to John O'Groats riders. The twin room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable, the bathroom was good but the shower cubicle was small making it a little difficult to wash muddy legs.
I was very pleased and surprised to be offered a warming and drying facility for our cycling kit which made all the difference.
Breakfast was excellent and could not be faulted.

Location is good, right on the cycle route 27 which we were following, and close to The Granite Way.

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jonph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed one night on way to self catering holiday. Well positioned just outside town centre, close to Granite Way cycle path.
Very clean, decent size family room, good shower, excellent breakfast and friendly hosts. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornInThe60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

good welcome was had by us.Rooms very clean and comfy, had to move rooms the following day but had a bigger room ah ah. Breaky was excellent all you'd get form all inclusive, soory to leave but all good things come to an end but will return without a doubt thanks for looking after us both ( only 1min30 seconds from town)

Room Tip: no tip needed all rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okehampton
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
177 reviews
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#10 of 24 in Okehampton
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Okeside Cottage B&B
Okeside Cottage B&B
#12 of 24 in Okehampton
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlea Guest House

Property: Meadowlea Guest House
Address: 65 Station Road | Okehampton, Dartmoor National Park, Okehampton EX20 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Okehampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Okehampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadowlea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Meadowlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlea Guest House Okehampton, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing